We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION , GREAT PRICE .”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION , GREAT PRICE .”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Our 4th year at Oban Bay . Great breakfast ; Juice , tea/coffee , toast , porridge with honey , grapefruit/prunes , yoghurt , choice of full scottish or smoked salmon/haddock poached egg , kippers and more !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongooseloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; . I do hope that you will visit us again soon Kind regards... Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    556
    380
    170
    95
See reviews for
241
961
51
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here on a good deal from groupon. My husband was skepical as we did not pay a lot. The hotel was nice. Helpful staff, although our room was quite a walk from reception and we had a young but heavy baby to carry. The water pressure in the shower was very poor, however room clean, no complaints. Dinner was included and was lovely athough they only had one highchair and the second night we had no highchair for the baby which was a bit of a pain, however we managed. The breakfast was also lovely. Generally a good hotel 3 * not fully child friendly. Spa was nice to. Just a shame about the weather we had but when you go at the start of January what else can you expect. Good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdonald140211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; I take your comments on board and will look into them. I do hope that you will visit us again soon Kind regards... Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed over New Year for 3 nights. 1st room we were put in was a bit small and I asked Margaret at reception if there were any others. With a friendly smile she offered me the key to another room which had just become vacant and it was slightly bigger and much better with a view over the Bay. The food was excellent and served piping hot with friendly staff. The only negative thing I would say is that the communal toilets are a bit sad looking and needs a lick of paint. Other than that I will definitely go back and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Room with a view over the Bay is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review,I take your comments on board about the communal toilets and will look into them. I do hope that you will visit us again soon Kind regards... Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The food was fantastic. The rooms clean. Helpful obliging fun staff.The New Year was the best ever. Great entertainment. Top time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleycharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at New year , i got to say it was our best ever , so thank you for making it . I will certainly pass on your great comments on,Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future Kind regards Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Aoth enjoyable Christmas break , our fifth, at the Oban Bay Hotel. Warm comfortable rooms and delicious meals. Many thanks to Darell Williams and his courteous /friendly team.We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Great views over Oban Bay - especially nice on a cold winter's day when you can sit inside at the fire and admire the scenery without venturing outside.

Public spaces are excellent, bedroom comfortable, warm and clean.

Food very good and staff were friendly.

No problem getting a parking space as hotel was fairly quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to margaret in reception, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed for two nights and wouldn't really want to stay again! Room was freezing, bath is Like a basin! Staff weren't very welcoming at reception or in restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadiesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies Kind regards Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing