We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel average location.”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here for business in early February and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and quiet could have been the time of year. The room I stayed in was recently renovated with contempory fittings. Could perhaps have used another light fitting to make it brighter, good all the same. The location is silightly out of town but a shirt walk gets you to the main centre. Overall quite a good place to stay. the room information could have done with an update as it was still advertising Christmas!

Room Tip: Tricky one this! I stayed in the newer section with good heating, the room was a little tricky to fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

Booked hotel using discount voucher with meal, breakfast and bottle of wine. No parking at hotel however free parking just outside. Room was fine although overlooking bins which was rectified by shutting the curtains and getting out into the fresh air in Oban. Sampled the steam room and hot tub which was great considering the hotel was busy we got it to ourselves. Sauna was out of order which was disappointing and I had asked when we checked in at 2.30pm whether steam/sauna/hot tub were all okay to use and had been told yes. Went for a fantastic dinner and the wine was lovely. Staff were pleasant and approachable. Considering our stay was on a discount voucher we were very pleased with everything at the hotel. Only gripe was that we were charged an additional £14 for staying on a Saturday which we were not aware of beforehand.

Room Tip: If you are going with a discount voucher don't expect a sea view room - phone beforehand and boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shebanjoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the staff, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We arrived to little greeting from the hotel receptionist and an awful smell of sewage. This was not explained. We later found out it was something to do with the hot tub.we wereshown to our very basic room with twin beds pushed together to make a double and an unflushable poo in the toilet and no bath. Regardless of the few customers we still got a room overlooking the bin. Why we stayed at this point i'm not sure. Off we went out for lunch at a local pub only remarkable by the bout of food poisoning that started at ten that night(cant blame the hotel for that). Food at dinner was a let down after reviews, a bit like a school dinner. Service throughout was poor not from bad attitude but lack of training. The duty manager was nowhere to be seen with a skeleton staff struggling to cope with few customers. The spa was pleasant but not up to the standard of
somewhere like the haven in balloch. The night porter was exceptionally helpful during my bout of food poisoning. We didnt have breakfast in the morning and they did not ask bout our stay or wish us a good trip home. Scottish hospitality industry at its worst.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lottiejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Booked hotel using discount voucher with meal, breakfast and bottle of wine included in price. On arrival we were made very welcome and given very helpful information relating to dining, parking and facilities available. On entering our room there was an distinct odour which was very unpleasant. On contacting reception we were immediately offered alternative rooms with no fuss and lots of apologies. After this everything went well and I would happily stay here again and would recommend to anyone. Meals were excellent and sitting in the lounge enjoying the view was a delight.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeehDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at New year , i got to say it was our best ever , so thank you for making it . I will certainly pass on your great comments on,Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We booked an executive room with parking included and were disappointed with room there was a hole in the wallpaper in the ceiling and cobwebs on ceiling and dust on tops of the curtains. On our second day bin in toilet was not emptied, toilet not very clean, coffee and biscuits not replenished and advised reception of this and was told it would be sorted but it wasn't we were in room 7. We had visited one of the other hotels in the chain and thought it would be similar but it was not, on the plus side the staff were pleasant and professional and the food was good, The weekend was a gift to us for our 30th wedding anniversary but was very disappointing

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Hotel doesn't give a good impression with sign outside which is dated and missing many letters....a taste of what was to come...
The first time we tried to check in, the business booking had been made under the company name but was not spotted and we were offered rooms at the set price a little too quickly...perhaps the receptionist should have listened to us tell her the company the booking was made with then we would have had no problems...we went away for business, then came back after the company had checked it out and were assud it had been booked....only to have to wait at reception for at least 15minutes, having rung the bell numerous times in order to get somebody's attention....
The bar man eventually turned up and checked us in with more ease than the receptionist earlier on....
We came across this particularly moody bar man later when trying to order and pay for drinks at the bar- not a friendly or helpful experience to say the least...this really makes or breaks a stay in the hotel. There were frequently other customers waiting at the bar whilst another customer was trying to locate the bar man. He did not look happy when he did eventually come to the bar or apologise even for not being attentive as he should have been!
Standard of the room- good
Be aware - THERE IS NO LIFT...you could have a room on the second floor and there are lots of steps if you have luggage!!
VERY limited parking also. I parked in the disabled space as it was the only one left at the front of the hotel whilst unloading luggage and asked if there was parking elsewhere... I was rudely asked if I was disabled and when I explained why I had "temporarily parked there the bar man, come receptionist sneered and made a face, and I was instructed to park behind the hotel. A smile would have been nice.

Some modernising of the decor has been done, to good effect, but some attention to small details need competed I'd say.

I was impressed with the standard of service at breakfast, even with only one waiter, this one was definitely ouch more competent and was more in the way of proper service, which the hotel should be proud of, compared to the previous evening.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fraz161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My boyfriend and I were given a groupon voucher for this hotel and booked our two nights for January. The hotel itself is lovely, our room was a good size, with a huge bed and the shower etc was good. We took full advantage of the spa facilities - the hot tub is fantastic (even in Janurary!) as are the sauna and steam room. It is a great asset to the hotel. We ate dinner at the hotel both nights as part of our deal, the food was very nice and the service very quick. Breakfast was also good, no complaints at all! All the staff were very friendly and easy to talk to, also very helpful. Overall a great hotel and we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C92_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,505 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing