We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oban Bay Hotel lovely weekend break”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oban Bay Hotel lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed at The Oban Bay with some friends from Friday 18th until Sunday 20th January. Booked a deal through Classic Britain at the outstanding rate of £34.80 per person DB&B. The table d'hote menu at the hotel was very good but we did opt for a selection from the a la carte menu on the 2nd night at a supplement. Excellent quality and plentiful. House wines come in at approx. £16 per bottle. The rooms are basic but clean and beds comfortable and plenty of hot water and towels. There are rooms at the front of the hotel which may incur a supplement but have lovely views over Oban Bay. That said there is a very relaxing conservatory/lounge where you can sit and watch the boats going up and down whilst enjoying a drink from the bar. The hotel does have spa facilities but we did not try these. This is my second visit to The Oban Bay and it will not be the last. I should also add that all the staff encountered on our visit could not have been more helpful and friendly. If there is any criticism it may be that certain areas will need a touch of paint soon to freshen them up. Definitely recommend a visit!

Room Tip: Majority of rooms are standard in large extension and some have side sea view. Rooms with a full v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    556
    380
    170
    93
See reviews for
241
959
51
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed for one saturday night on an online bed and breakfast tarif for £80 in late November 2012.. Good points:
Reception staff were friendly and helpful
Breakfast was freshly cooked and served promptly
Outstanding views across Oban Bay from the bar lounge/conservatory
Bad points:
Beware of additional car park charge of £5 per night for on site parking
The higher floor room we were allocated was in a time warp. Old fashioned door lock, and poor furnishings. The weather was cold and frosty and we awoke to heavy condensation on single glazed windows - very unhealthy. Left wall mounted electric heater on all night but barely adequate warmth in this room in cold weather.
Double bed was old, springs creaked and felt dated with old fashioned blankets
Sauna was broken and unavailable

Would we stay here again? Sorry but a definite "no" to that one

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsearcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My partner and I stayed for an overnight on Friday 18th January 2013. To be helpful for anyone thinking of booking I will address the slight concerns I had before the stay. 1. Dont bother paying £5 to park, there is tons of parking on street just a very short (30 second) walk away. 2. The hotel is a little shabby in parts, but only a little, and considering it's a 3 star hotel, and great value I cannot complain. 3. If you can get DB&B, go for it, the food was really excellent, and 3 courses included in the deal. 4. The spa is small, although is accurately described as a mini spa- just a sauna and steam room, and a bit grubby however the outdoor hot tub is lovely. 5. We stayed in the new part of the hotel, which after reading reviews I asked specifically for and I was happy with the room. There was not a sea view for the room, however it is clearly stated on the booking form that there was an upgrade payable for this so I had no issue there.
Some contstructive criticism for the hotel: we really enjoyed our meal in the restaurant, the food and service were excellent, however the ambiance could be improved. The lighting was bright (too bright for a dinner) and the music played was a bit outdated. Our shower in the room (260)was lousy (poor water pressure and bad shower head), but hard to know if this was an ongoing issue or had recently occured.
Overall we had a really enjoyable stay, and will definitely return if we come back to Oban.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here overnight, the hotel is a little dated and tired looking in most areas, but clean. The basic double room was comfortable, warm and quiet. We enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast and the staff were friendly, we paid £60 for our stay and it was decent value at that although the bar is expensive. Would we return? We would probably try others in the area to compare first!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigy_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

we stayed at the oban bay over hogmany and must say i was thouroughly impressed - the room was spotless on entry and as it was a triple i was concerned that it would be a bit small but i neednt have worried as the room was huge - big enough for 3 people comfortably - the food at the hotel was of a very high standard and the brunch on new years day was much appreciated as it was available until 1pm - the staff were always very friendly and helpful when required - it seemed that nothing was too much bother for them - overall our stay at the oban bay hotel was excellent and would struggle to find fault with this hotel or its staff - would definetly recommend this hotel to my friends and family

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batsonglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My partner and I along with another couple stayed here over Hogmanay, it was fantastic!

The rooms were spotless, warm and spacious enough! The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and toiletries the tea tray was also restocked during our 4 night break! The bed was huge a great selling point!

Check in was flawless, very quick and efficient! The staff are superb no question or task is a hasstle and they can't do enough for you!

The food was delicious, the breakfast was the best I have had and I have stayed at many hotels! Cereal and fruit juices along with a full cooked breakfast accompanied by reems of toast is more than enough to set you up for the day!

The spa facilities are amazing, sitting in the hot tub which is nice an hot when it's freezing outside with views across the water is a must! Steam room and sauna spotless along with the outdoor hot tub area!

We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the glass conservatory with a glass of wine enjoying the views over the water, we could have spent hours there!

As for the hotel location it is also perfect, everything is in walking distance but not right in the town which is great as it cuts down noise but everything remains accessible on foot!

We have booked again for an Easter break and I will be booking next new year when we are there!

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo88Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The hotel is a labyrinth of corridors to navigate, which I would say adds to the appeal. Car parking is available to book in advance, well worth doing so if you take your car.
Groupon deal as mentioned, which included B&B, evening meal for £59 for two people.
The treatments on offer are good, well worth a shot. Hot tub, unfortunately due to the weather was closed. (January 2012 Storms).
Rooms were large enough, practical, warm and comfortable to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing