We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
CoB
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I found this hotel very welcoming with a very quick ckeck-in.my room was very suitable of a one night stay, it was very clean,however the bathroom was very cold. The only drawback was the meal timimgs,working on the night of my stay evening meal started to late, therefore I eat in town. Havivg to catch the first train in the morning (0811hrs) I had to miss breakfast as it starts too late. Note: If traveling by car - book your car parking space with the hotel before hand as parking is very limited.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    556
    380
    170
    95
See reviews for
241
961
51
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here on the 10th and 11th Feb 2013 . Our room was perfectly nice and although it was at the back of the hotel we had a partial sea view through , admittedly , a fairly small window . The quality of food and service at both breakfast and dinner was excellent - as was the service from all the staff we dealt with . The sea-facing conservatory is outstanding , especially when candle-lit at night , as is the open fire in the lounge beside reception . Although we were here through a Groupon deal we would definitely consider a return - preferably in a front room next time . Next time I will definitely challenge sous chef Andy and patter merchant John to a game of pool !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night break at Oban Bay Hotel and Spa . Dissapointed from the onset to be allocated room number 133 . This is not the room you want to be in or room 131 . Given it was on the 1st floor , we thought we would be lucky and have a good view as the booking site said , best room allocated . The room was very stuffy, we opened the window , but the noise from the kitchen fan and food smells were overpowering . I would not like to stay in this room in the height of summer. We heard the bang bang from the corridor fire doors the whole time we were there, not quite the peaceful stay we had , last visit . The door closers need to be adjusted or replaced . I thought I would have some treatments but looking at the spa price list it was far to expensive . So we go to the bar I ask if they sell a nice german wine or a sweet white wine , yes we do , as I am a little fussy . I will have a small glass please , can you pour me a little to try ??????. No sorry we only sell wine by the bottle , so that was that . No massage , no drink, next place the hot tub . I was in it last stay it was good fun . I open the door and have a look then I see the colour of the loungers you use before or after the hot tub , or shower, these were disgusting I wouldnt even stand on them let alone lie . on them . They are badly in need of recovering or replaced . So I changed my mind, I did not use the hot tub either . Last night the main course for our stay on set menu was whole trout or lamb or pasta with a blue cheese sauce . I do not eat any of these items , the head waiter to be fair asked me if I liked chicken, ??? he did want me to eat something . The chicken he brought me was lovely , food is excellent at this hotel . Service is also excellent ,just be vary of room 131 and 133 . Would I go back to this hotel , yes , it would depend on room allocation .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 131 and 133 and rooms without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieryan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Nice location, however bed was brick hard and room tiny. Also the shower was very small and not very powerful. Had dinner on the first night which was not very good, food hot held and dessert was horrible. There is much better restaurants in the centre which are cheap and cheerful. The hot tub was the only main attraction, and was fun sitting out in the rain.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammmmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Just back from 2 day break at hotel and not disappointed. Hotel is categorised as 3 star which I think is fair however the staff at reception and in the restaurant are of a higher rating. The restaurant is run efficiently and with good humour from the staff. The reception staff were able to sort out my mistake regarding the booking with diplomacy and efficiency. Not always the case with other hotels.

With full views of the harbour from the lounge area which added to the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. I would definately recommend a break of a few days.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scotslady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

nice hotel and lovely staff, very friendly and helpfull. we stayed in the lismore suite which was a good room apart from the very draughty windows and when we were there the weather was very wet and wild. but apart from that it was a good stay and we did enjoy it. the meals were good to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Oban bay where the staff are very helpful and friendly. We asked for a sea facing room and did get it which was a lovely view.Hotel is in a great location - 5 to 10 min walk along the sea to the town centre. Room is of decent standard for a 3* hotel with nice touches ie DVD player, good shower gel products etc, however room was very cold with draughty windows.
We were on a Easybreaks DBB deal and the table d'ote menu was very good. While the sauna/ steam room are small but good, the changing facilities are poor, however a must is the outside hot tub! - fab

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing