We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant christmas break”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
falkirk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“brilliant christmas break”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Management team very friendly & helpful to everyone, special mention to the dining room staff particularly Sarah who provided a bit of "banter" with us. Our room was spacious & cosy & was serviced every day (I didnt expect xmas day!). Great treat every day was the delicious afternoon tea & the xmas night buffet was spectacular!! All in all great value for money - the management are to be commended on such a well run hotel with amazing staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear HelenaFalkirk

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed everything so much, especially the Christmas Night Buffet. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    556
    380
    170
    94
See reviews for
241
960
51
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our 2nd time of staying over Christmas, didn't think this time could be better than the first, but it was. The food was exceptionally good, even had eggs benedict on the breakfast menu, my favourite. Afternoon tea with sandwiches and cakes supplied each day which was not expected. Management and support staff very pleasant and friendly even arranged for santa to call on Christmas day for the one and only child staying, which made everyone's day. Husband and wife management team went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good and enjoyable time.
Only down point I have is that the hotel lounges and bedrooms are looking a little tired but hopefully the managers plans will rectify this. Overall we had an excellent time and would recommend this break to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InaFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear InaFarrell

Thank you for your review. We are genuinely delighted you chose to celebrate the festive season here with us once again. We certainly hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Spent the weekend in Oban with our Scuba club and luckily the Tourist information office fixed us up at the Oban Bay Hotel. With eight rooms booked, some of us with dogs, a few late changes and a cancellation, nothing phased Beverley on reception before or during our visit, nothing was too much trouble. Great food and we were in one if the rooms 'reserved for dog owners' which was spotless and well equipped. Amazing value -We WILL be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palavius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Palavius
Thank you for such a kind review. We are delighted that your party all enjoyed themselves, and we hope that you come back to Oban again soon (although perhaps in warmer weather....we are all still a little shell shocked that you were braving the cold, cold waters around and about! brrrrrrrrrrrr!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just spent 3 nights there and really enjoyed it ,food excellent ,staff very help full ,and the manager helps out all round and is seen doing it , this makes the place run well ,and we would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear ian g
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Chosen at random and at short notice this four night Christmas deal was well worth the 4 hour drive. If I wanted, I could nit-pick small details about the hotel (lights a bit dim in the bedrooms, paintwork in need of a lick), but as I understand that the new managers have a schedule of works in hand I wont. The beds are comfortable and the overall picture is of a clean, comfortable and well run hotel, with a chef or chefs they might well need to keep captive. Due to bad weather being forecast we arrived early, before our room was available. Reception staff were quite happy for us to dump our cases and get comfortable in one of the lounges. Our evening started later with mulled wine and people generally getting comfortable in each others company, helped along by the manger & manageress discretely moving conversations along. The first night's food was excellent, cooked and presented to a standard far higher than expected. And so it continued, from that first meal to the final forkful of the final breakfast the food was first class and every meal was a pleasure. I could not fault the restaurant staff who were always efficient, cheerful and helpful, nor the long suffering management who just quietly coped as, throughout the break, so many people (ourselves included) happily changed their preselected times and seating arrangements in order to spend meal times with new friends. The lounges, where afternoon tea and after dinner tea & coffee was served, are relaxing and comfortable. The interior lounge, with its fire at one end and sufficient heating to keep out the winter chill at the other, was an area conducive to relaxed chit chat among the guests. The sun lounge provided views of such beauty that it was hardly necessary to do any more with one's day than just watch as the bay changed in character from calm to stormy and back again and the local ferry service tracking back and forth. The sun lounge was also the place where evening entertainment was provided, but those who enjoyed their own company were free to do so without being pressured into "joining-in". My husband and I did not make use of the spa facilities though we spoke to others who did and who had thoroughly enjoyed the experience. All in all we left after our four days feeling well and truly spoiled. Good food, good company, and even a visit by Santa and his helpful fox dishing out gifts and good cheer to all.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath and parking must be booked in advance. For some there are long corridors t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Sheila S
We are absolutely delighted that your first foray away from home at such a special time of year was a success. The entire team works very hard to ensure that each and every guest has their needs dealt with and they leave feeling refreshed. We hope that while this may have been your first trip out at Christmas, that it won’t be your last, and perhaps we shall see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Ive just spent a 2 night short stay at the Oban Bay Hotel with my wife and feel the need to thank the staff for their exquisite attentiveness shown to me and others.

In particular thanks to Beverley who was a great help pre my arrival in sorting out several details
including meal times, I had left it late to book but Beverley moved mountains and accommodated our every request, generally speaking hotel food is just that, hotel food, NOT HERE the food
at the Oban Bay is of very high quality, from the breakfast which included toast, fruit juice, cereal,
full cooked breakfast and coffee enough for any hungry man and I do like my food. We had the
option to go for the a la carte menu but with the table d'hôte menu as good as this there is no need


The evening meals were simply superb, everything I ordered arrived within a few minutes and tasted superb, my wife's thoughts were "This is of the highest quality" I genuinely can't rate this high enough, great food served by very polite, professional and courteous staff who cannot do enough for you, if you are undecided in where to stay, MAKE YOUR DAY and stay at the Oban Bay you will love it as I did. I gathered the opinions of six other guests about the food quality and they all agreed the standard was excellent, if that doesn't tell you what you need to know nothing will.

On our four visits to the restaurant we waited a maximum 2 minutes to be seated and shown to
our table by a staff member at which time they took the order when we were ready and delivered
quality food presented to the highest caliber by the hotel chefs who deserve credit.

I turned up at the sauna for an early morning sauna and steam room session at 6.30am I wasn't aware it didn't open till about 8am - no problem said one of the staff I will fire it up for you now for you to enjoy, within ten minutes the steam room was ready for use which I thoroughly enjoyed
and was impressed by his can help attitude, he could have easily said sorry come back at 8am
he was busy going about his chores but made my day with his positive approach.

I've stayed in many hotels over many years but this one would be voted number one for food as
it is that good, I don't know if this is the standard throughout the hotel chain or its particular to the
Oban Bay but its a standard others should aim for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Stephen D
Thank you for your review, we do work very hard to ensure that every guest feels special, and leaves feeling refreshed, so we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oban again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic 4 day Christmas break at the Oban Bay Hotel. We have stayed in many hotels of varying standards in many countries, rarely have we had such fantastic customer care. Under the inspired leadership of manager Alistar Bowland nothing is too much trouble. Everything if focussed towards customers enjoying there stay. We certainly did.

(A note about the manager Alistar Bowland. The mans committment to his customers is incredible. One moment he is welcoming guests behind the reception then he will pop up taking your order or bringing your meal to your table in the restaurant. He could collect your empty glass from your table in the lounge or top up the complimentary tea, coffee and sweet goodies that follow each meal. Unfortunately he was nowhere to be seen when Santa arrived although Santas voice seemed remarkably like his. He is a manager who truly leads by example)

The quality, choice and presentation of the food was a real pleasant surprise. Chefs Andrew, Seven and the team did a magnificent job. Eating their food is well worth a visit on its own. Every meal was a delight (and plenty of it) the Christmas Buffet in particular was superbly presented. Their culinary skills would put many a higher standard hotel to shame.

The hotel also went out of its way to enhance the festive spirit with a plentyful supply of Christmas Crackers,well dressed christmas trees, entertainment and a present for each and every guest personally delivered by Santa.

Despite the appauling weather outside the atmosphere within the hotel was always warm and cosy.

In fairness some areas of the hotel look a little tired and could do with some modernisaton but all in all we would return without hessitation the warm welcome and attention to detail by the hardworking team make the 12 hour drive we had to get there well worth it. See you next year.

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view and parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrafundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear barrafundle
Thank you for your kind comments. Alastair and the team are delighted to have made such an impression, and we agree, it was very sad that poor Alastair had to “nip to the shops” just at the same time as our guest of honour appeared. He seems to miss him every year. Perhaps next year you can ensure Alastair meets him?! We look forward to welcoming you back, but book soon! (By the way, we will be hoping to get the photos on facebook in the next couple of weeks!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing