We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hometown”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had some family come up and stay recently and the extra stayed here. The rooms were clean and lovely and it was nicely done inside. We all met up for an evening meal in the restaurant and we were so impressed with the food and service. We will be planning more family meets here for sure. Handy and wonderful, how lucky are we to find it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Diane M
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel on many more occasions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    562
    393
    175
    95
See reviews for
246
971
51
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Reviews give you a good idea what to expect.we had a great weekend from start to finish.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was above expectations and the hot tub a real bonus. We had bad weather but it didn't stop us having a good time.A real bargain break

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie_topiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Julie_topiary
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. had booked a double room but were upgraded to a junior suite - a nice touch.This also gave us a reserved parking space which made life easier as very limited parking which is charged as £5 per day if not in a suite. Suite had view over bay which was great. Very clean & has the bath facing the window with sea view'
Large lounge area facing the sea.
Staff were helpful & happy to help.
Recommend booking a bed & breakfast package for best value as felt that breakfast was quite expensive if paid on its own. All breakfast was served for you - no buffet which we've would have expected.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear teamajs
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our breakfast is served all the way through so the guest can relax and take their time – a long leisurely breakfast helps your break go that little bit smoother. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel was great,rooms were very good,staff were friendly and helpful,food was great and value for money excellent,couldn't really ask for more.I was a little bit surprised by the hotels rating on here, perhaps standards drop when it is busy,we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the bay would obviously be a bonus,we had a "partial" sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJD745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear GJD745
Thank you for your review. We have been under new management since October, so it has been a time for the hotel staff to undergo rigorous retraining and regrouping, with leadership from the front, so we are pleased that this is coming to fruition and hope that it continues through the summer months and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Returning to the Oban Bay after 2 years proved to be a very surprising and pleasant experience. The position will always be great but like the weather the staff can make or break the holiday. Under a new manager the staff, some new and others we recognised, appeared to be focused and driven to offer great & efficient service and also enjoyed doing it. The restaurant both for breakfast and dinner offered greatly improved quality of food within the taster menu which was included in our DB & B package, with value difficult to beat.
As well as all the restaurant staff a special thank you to Andrew on Reception and Alice the new Yorkshire lass in the spa for making our break special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryP34BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear GaryP34BG
Thank you for your review. The team and thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay, and Andrew and Alice are both delighted to have made such a positive impression. We hope to see you the next time you visit our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The restaurant staff were so pleasant and efficient; the quality of food was a surprise given that it was an inexpensive 2 day break; the hotel is well situated with lovely views and there are lots of sitting areas to relax in. We love Crerar's Golf View hotel and were pleased to find another of their hotels offering the same good standard.

Room Tip: The supplement for a sea view is hefty at £25 but those at the rear look quite unappealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstinjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Kerstinjohn1
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The sea view rooms do boast a full sea view, but for those not fortunate to have booked one in advance, the standard doubles are to a good standard, and the view from our sun lounge and Atlantic Bar are equally as stunning, and we find that a lot of guests do congregate here during the late afternoon and early evening in order to watch the ships roll in and the sun set over the bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Friendly welcome and comfortable corner room in this dog friendly hotel well situated for walks and access to the town. Had a hearty dinner in the Restaurant on the first night and were very impressed with the efficient and most cheerful service providing well cooked meals every breakfast. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear CaptSteveB
Thank you for your review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us the next time you are visiting Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,404 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing