We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location with added facility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location with added facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The Oban bay is ideally situated for outdoorsy stuff local scenery can be exceptional and access to the islands nearby is a boon. Has fallen down on occasions I have visited by the stand-offishness of the staff they haven't been as attentive as I would expect. This apart it is usually a pleasant stay with the bonus of the spa facility.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Scottish_Walker
Thank you for your review. We have recently invested a lot of time in re-training of the staff, and the stand – offishness of the staff is now a thing of the past as you will have seen from the many complimentary reviews about our team here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    549
    362
    163
    89
See reviews for
237
935
51
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had lunch here last Sunday whilst soaking up the view and the weather from the conservatory. Lunch was a toasted panini which was delicious and came served with a dressed salad and lots of potato wedges (which was a pleasant surprise!). Both plates were served on attractive wooden servers which I liked the touch of and both were hot and very tasty!
I'm getting married at this hotel in 3 weeks time so I'm hoping for such great quality of food and service on the day as up until now the attentiveness of the staff has been great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ObanMorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear ObanMorf
Thank you so much for your review – having just hosted your wedding, we hope that you enjoyed it as much as we did, and look forward to seeing you again after your honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Went here for a short break 26 - 28/2/14 having got a voucher for Christmas. The staff were all very friendly, the breakfast was good (we never ate dinner in the hotel so couldn't coment on that but have to assume it would be as good as the breakfast), the room was clean and warm (quite a few stairs to get to it so if you have mobility problems you should let the hotel know when booking), remember to book a parking space prior to arriving if required as parking is at a premium here. We took our dog to the hotel with us and she was also made very welcome (probably more so than us :-) ). We would use this hotel again if we are back in Oban.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Iain F F
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you both (and the dog!) back again the next time you visit our part of the world again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed a Fri & Sat night after buying a break on easy breaks website (£79 per person). Our room was to the side of the hotel (so no sea view). The room was average for this type of hotel & was adequate but nothing special (shower only no bath). When we arrived at 2pm the room was not ready & the lounge area was full of people waiting on their room keys (check in was 3pm) and was a little late. I found it strange that no one could get their keys (there must have been some rooms ready) but this encouraged everyone to buy a drink or coffee from the bar while waiting!!!! Our price involved the 6 course taster menu for both nights and the food was good and well presented. The service could have been better as we had our first few courses in very rapid succession & then waited a while for the next few courses. Breakfast is not buffet style & on our first morning it had good service. The second morning we were seated and waited 20mins before someone even asked if we wanted tea or coffee never mind the rest of our order. We didn't try the sauna/ spa area as without a swimming pool it didn't interest us. The hot tub situated behind the outdoor seating area,looked like a barrel and was very small. As the weather was wet & windy we didn't try this. Overall it was a good stay and I would return if I good a good deal but wouldn't pay the advertised room prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evybiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear evybiscuit
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were kept waiting for your room, however on the weekend you were visiting us we were exceptionally busy and had almost a full departure. Check out is 11am or prior, and check in is ordinarily from 3pm, and where possible, we will try and get guests into their rooms should they arrive early, however it simply was not possible on this particular occasion for an early check in, and we did have a lot of guests waiting, however we always offer to store luggage, and guests do tend to take the opportunity to wander into Oban itself. Of course the bar is there should you wish to partake also. It is also difficult, if some rooms are ready, then some guests would wonder why their rooms weren’t, and we try to focus on the cleanliness of the rooms, rather than hurrying the housekeepers to complete the task at hand. When we are as busy as we are, we do advise guests of the busiest times for breakfast, particularly as some of our guests may need to catch ferries, and there is a display in reception for this, so guests can choose when they wish to go for breakfast, and at busy times, we do advise on this display that there will be a wait, so I am sorry if this was not clear to you. Overall, you seemed to enjoy your stay, so we will be delighted to see you again the next time you visit our corner of Scotland... hopefully the weather will improve for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Short break In between Christmas & New Year , just for a few days.Had not been to the hotel or Oban before.I was pleasantly surprised with the town , a great selection of shops, bars and restaurants open just after Christmas and just before new year.The holel was very good and although the rooms were in need of an update, we had no complaints.The food at all time was excellent, the hotel staff were very attentive and happy. The spa, although small served its purpose and was vey enjoyable.We had a room over looking Oban Bay, the views were great even though the weather was awful .We will be going back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The views from the sea facing rooms are great but a little bit more expensive, worth it in my opinio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Alan M
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Overall the hotel was a pleasant stay, the staff were friendly, the food was fantastic and the rooms were basic but clean (not very sound proof though).
I feel I should mention some of the things we did find slightly inconvenient. We have an 18 month old and whilst the hotel did provide a travel cot, that was about it as far as catering for children was concerned. There were no baby change facilities and so we were offered the floor of a meeting room (not very comfortable). They have no children's menu and didn't offer to provide an alternative so we ended up having to try and pick a meal from the a la carte menu (not easy for a toddlers tastes).
Other observations were that there didn't appear to be much access for disabled (lots of stairs and no disabled toilet). Guests have to walk on wet flooring to get to their rooms whilst trying to dodge people coming out of the hot tub. Speaking of hot tub I could see the poor people sat in it from the car park (very luxurious). You can't pay by card for food at the bar, your redirected to the main reception.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughmc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Hughmc7
Thank you for your review. We take on board your comments regarding the baby change however we normally provide the meeting room or an empty bedroom for this purpose, and on this occasion we provided the meeting room, and when one of your party went to put the child on the floor, we did advise to use the table as it would be more comfortable for both you and the baby, and it could be easily cleaned if necessary, however this was turned down. We do not have a children’s menu, but always invite children to eat smaller portions from the adult menu. If this is not possible, then we are open to requests which the Chef can cater for. The hotel is not suitable for guests with wheelchairs, and we are very open and honest about this when guests are booking. Our hot tub overlooks the car park and road, this is true, but when in the hot tub, the views across the Sound of Kerrera are so breathtaking that we would hope that this is what our guests concentrate on. It is a great talking point for the hotel, so we are sorry you felt this way. We have also only currently got one card machine in the hotel, but we are looking into getting a mobile one for the bar to prevent guests having to move between the bar and reception to pay for their meals/drinks. We do hope that you will visit us again when next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
260 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We visit Oban quite regularly and this is the second time we have stayed at the Oban Bay. We chose it as we were travelling with family and the Oban Bay is a bit nicer than the other hotels around and the public areas are nice to meet in. Parking was available and we always got parked and although it was Valentines Weekend and the hotel was full.

Check in was quick and the guy who checked us in chatted away and was welcoming.

The room - smaller than the room we had the last time. It was nicely decorated but the bathroom was old and could have done with a revamp but it was very clean. There was no TV remote and the window was quite draughty.

Breakfast - it was busy but the food came really quickly. We had a full breakfast and salmon/scrambled eggs. The staff were really pleasant and efficient. I do think that they should be extending their breakfast times as I did miss it on the Saturday as did half of our party!

The public areas of the hotel are the biggest draw. They have a nice conservatory and lounge at the front of the hotel. Its comfortable to relax in either during the day or evening and the bar is open late. The view over Oban Bay is lovely. We also left an elderly aunt in the conservatory area whilst we went out for a few hours. The staff were very attentive to her and made the time to chat with her which she really appreciated.

We didn't us the spa facilities but we did see many people use them. Its about 5 minutes walk to the North Pier of Oban and 10 minutes to the South Pier/Railway Station/Calmac Ferries.

Only issue: I like to have a relaxing weekend when I'm away which includes sleeping until at least 9.30 but the hotel was noisy. Housekeeping were hoovering at 9am on a Sunday morning which woke me (again), the fire door almost outside our door kept BANGING closed as people were going through it and this also woke me EVERY TIME. The doors/walls are very thin and I could hear conversations/the housekeeper knocking doors and shouting "housekeeping"........

Last issue: As we were packing to leave, my husband went down to the car with the first set of bags. Whilst he was away someone knocked the door/opened it at the same time. I was in the bathroom (with the door closed thankfully) and they left. It was obviously a member of staff but it is only manners to knock/announce yourself/wait for a reply before walking in!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear GlasgowSiobhan
We are so pleased that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us. There were a couple of issues you raised, and from these we have implemented new procedures, so the next time you come, you will see changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing