We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My friend and I satayed 3 nights at the Oban Bay hotel at the end of February. We had a great break. The staff couldn't be more helpfulThey were always ready to help and made you feel as if you were old friends. The room had twin beds and we had a view of the bay it was great. The hotel was clean and well appointed. The hot tub was fun and you could see over the bay while relaxing in the tub. We had dinner included in our package and I can honestly say the food was wonderful. The only down point was parking but again as both my friend and I were disabled the staff found a solution. We also had spa treatments which were great. If in Oban again will book into this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Christine t
Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and while the building has limitations on what we can do for disabled guests, we will always endeavour to “find a way”, you simply have to let us know – as you did! Thank you. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Oban Bay the next time you are visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The Oban bay is ideally situated for outdoorsy stuff local scenery can be exceptional and access to the islands nearby is a boon. Has fallen down on occasions I have visited by the stand-offishness of the staff they haven't been as attentive as I would expect. This apart it is usually a pleasant stay with the bonus of the spa facility.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Scottish_Walker
Thank you for your review. We have recently invested a lot of time in re-training of the staff, and the stand – offishness of the staff is now a thing of the past as you will have seen from the many complimentary reviews about our team here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had lunch here last Sunday whilst soaking up the view and the weather from the conservatory. Lunch was a toasted panini which was delicious and came served with a dressed salad and lots of potato wedges (which was a pleasant surprise!). Both plates were served on attractive wooden servers which I liked the touch of and both were hot and very tasty!
I'm getting married at this hotel in 3 weeks time so I'm hoping for such great quality of food and service on the day as up until now the attentiveness of the staff has been great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear ObanMorf
Thank you so much for your review – having just hosted your wedding, we hope that you enjoyed it as much as we did, and look forward to seeing you again after your honeymoon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Went here for a short break 26 - 28/2/14 having got a voucher for Christmas. The staff were all very friendly, the breakfast was good (we never ate dinner in the hotel so couldn't coment on that but have to assume it would be as good as the breakfast), the room was clean and warm (quite a few stairs to get to it so if you have mobility problems you should let the hotel know when booking), remember to book a parking space prior to arriving if required as parking is at a premium here. We took our dog to the hotel with us and she was also made very welcome (probably more so than us :-) ). We would use this hotel again if we are back in Oban.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Iain F F
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you both (and the dog!) back again the next time you visit our part of the world again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed a Fri & Sat night after buying a break on easy breaks website (£79 per person). Our room was to the side of the hotel (so no sea view). The room was average for this type of hotel & was adequate but nothing special (shower only no bath). When we arrived at 2pm the room was not ready & the lounge area was full of people waiting on their room keys (check in was 3pm) and was a little late. I found it strange that no one could get their keys (there must have been some rooms ready) but this encouraged everyone to buy a drink or coffee from the bar while waiting!!!! Our price involved the 6 course taster menu for both nights and the food was good and well presented. The service could have been better as we had our first few courses in very rapid succession & then waited a while for the next few courses. Breakfast is not buffet style & on our first morning it had good service. The second morning we were seated and waited 20mins before someone even asked if we wanted tea or coffee never mind the rest of our order. We didn't try the sauna/ spa area as without a swimming pool it didn't interest us. The hot tub situated behind the outdoor seating area,looked like a barrel and was very small. As the weather was wet & windy we didn't try this. Overall it was a good stay and I would return if I good a good deal but wouldn't pay the advertised room prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evybiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear evybiscuit
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were kept waiting for your room, however on the weekend you were visiting us we were exceptionally busy and had almost a full departure. Check out is 11am or prior, and check in is ordinarily from 3pm, and where possible, we will try and get guests into their rooms should they arrive early, however it simply was not possible on this particular occasion for an early check in, and we did have a lot of guests waiting, however we always offer to store luggage, and guests do tend to take the opportunity to wander into Oban itself. Of course the bar is there should you wish to partake also. It is also difficult, if some rooms are ready, then some guests would wonder why their rooms weren’t, and we try to focus on the cleanliness of the rooms, rather than hurrying the housekeepers to complete the task at hand. When we are as busy as we are, we do advise guests of the busiest times for breakfast, particularly as some of our guests may need to catch ferries, and there is a display in reception for this, so guests can choose when they wish to go for breakfast, and at busy times, we do advise on this display that there will be a wait, so I am sorry if this was not clear to you. Overall, you seemed to enjoy your stay, so we will be delighted to see you again the next time you visit our corner of Scotland... hopefully the weather will improve for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Short break In between Christmas & New Year , just for a few days.Had not been to the hotel or Oban before.I was pleasantly surprised with the town , a great selection of shops, bars and restaurants open just after Christmas and just before new year.The holel was very good and although the rooms were in need of an update, we had no complaints.The food at all time was excellent, the hotel staff were very attentive and happy. The spa, although small served its purpose and was vey enjoyable.We had a room over looking Oban Bay, the views were great even though the weather was awful .We will be going back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The views from the sea facing rooms are great but a little bit more expensive, worth it in my opinio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Alan M
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Overall the hotel was a pleasant stay, the staff were friendly, the food was fantastic and the rooms were basic but clean (not very sound proof though).
I feel I should mention some of the things we did find slightly inconvenient. We have an 18 month old and whilst the hotel did provide a travel cot, that was about it as far as catering for children was concerned. There were no baby change facilities and so we were offered the floor of a meeting room (not very comfortable). They have no children's menu and didn't offer to provide an alternative so we ended up having to try and pick a meal from the a la carte menu (not easy for a toddlers tastes).
Other observations were that there didn't appear to be much access for disabled (lots of stairs and no disabled toilet). Guests have to walk on wet flooring to get to their rooms whilst trying to dodge people coming out of the hot tub. Speaking of hot tub I could see the poor people sat in it from the car park (very luxurious). You can't pay by card for food at the bar, your redirected to the main reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughmc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Hughmc7
Thank you for your review. We take on board your comments regarding the baby change however we normally provide the meeting room or an empty bedroom for this purpose, and on this occasion we provided the meeting room, and when one of your party went to put the child on the floor, we did advise to use the table as it would be more comfortable for both you and the baby, and it could be easily cleaned if necessary, however this was turned down. We do not have a children’s menu, but always invite children to eat smaller portions from the adult menu. If this is not possible, then we are open to requests which the Chef can cater for. The hotel is not suitable for guests with wheelchairs, and we are very open and honest about this when guests are booking. Our hot tub overlooks the car park and road, this is true, but when in the hot tub, the views across the Sound of Kerrera are so breathtaking that we would hope that this is what our guests concentrate on. It is a great talking point for the hotel, so we are sorry you felt this way. We have also only currently got one card machine in the hotel, but we are looking into getting a mobile one for the bar to prevent guests having to move between the bar and reception to pay for their meals/drinks. We do hope that you will visit us again when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range: £34 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oban Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing