We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel which is a short distance from centre of town. It is situated on the esplanade and if the weather is favourable will have lovely views. It is typical 3* but the staff were very efficient and friendly. Only ate breakfast with everything served quickly to your table. The food was excellent. Main areas were nice although could have been slightly warmer. Bedroom was small, and bathroom a bit basic. Kept clean enough. Would use again if in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank puffingirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,849 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Arrived for checking in after 3 pm as advised. Had to wade through a wedding party to get to the reception desk. The walk to our bedroom was like going through a maze of corridors and stairs and that was just to get to the lift - it was just awful. The staff were very friendly, the food was lovely - the room was okay, albeit a bit uncomfortable to watch TV or read. This maybe wouldn't have been an issue if you are not disabled or have poor health but I had hoped the hotel would have catered for all.

Room Tip: Book a parking space otherwise you may have to travel quite a distance to get parked. The Scottish Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Amanda S
Thank you for your review. Due to building constraints, we are very open and honest regarding where our rooms are, and how far they are from reception, when guests advise us that they may have mobility problems. Unfortunately I can find no mention of this on your booking, so obviously we could not advise you in advance. We do offer assistance, however we do not presume. We are sorry that you did not have the experience you wished for, however the more knowledge we have prior to your arrival, then the more we can do everything we can to help and assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a lovely weekend at the Oban bay hotel. All the staff were very friendly, the food was amazing and the location was excellent. I booked this break with a living social deal so had a nice surprise when it turned into such a good weekend away. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drummerlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear drummerlouise
Thank you for your review. It is always wonderful to hear that we have exceeded expectations, and we genuinely look forward to doing so the next time you come to our little corner of the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My sister and I have just returned home from a fabulous weekend stay at the Oban Bay Hotel. We were so impressed with how professional the staff were, yet at the same time so friendly. I'm referring to the ladies at reception, Alistair, who I think was the manager,and the staff in the dining room. Our first experience of the hotel was warm, and comfortable, and peaceful because as soon as we arrived, we got a drink at the bar and went to sit in this little area that was like a conservatory. There was already a couple of people sitting there reading books and newspapers, enjoying the warmth of the sun. We just sat mesmerized with the view of the bay. It was lovely. Then we went to our room with a little trepidation, because we had our dog with us, and in the past, had been given not such nice rooms at other hotels, so we did not know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised! The hotel has a very small parking lot, but we had no problem as there was plenty of free parking on the street outside the hotel. Once we parked the car, we did not have to move it again until we were leaving as the the town centre is a very short walk from the hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again! Ally

Room Tip: If you want a nice view you have to make that request. We didn't because we knew we would seldo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerLongmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear GerLongmore
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear such positive comments, as, as a team, we work extremely hard to ensure all our guests have the same experience you have had. We do have a very small car park, and so we are pleased that you managed to find the free on street parking which is very close to the hotel (less than a minute’s walk). We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My Mum and I had a lovely two night stay at the Oban bay Hotel. Although not smack bang in the centre of town it's nice to have the walk back and forth along the sea front. The food at the hotel is lovely, nice breakfast which is non-buffet so that bit nicer having the sit down service. We had dinner in the lounge one of the nights and it was very tasty. The conservatory like area at the front of the hotel is a nice spot for relaxing and sitting enjoying the views with a bottle of vino (as we did). Rooms were adequate and kept clean. The outdoor hot tub was a nice experience, sauna was also good, steam room could be better. Overall staff service could be better. On checking in the older of the two ladies was lovely and attentive however the younger girl acted like she couldn't be bothered at all. Good service was received by the bit with the red hair at the bar and also a tall guy who seemed like the bar/restaurant manager who took time to say hello to everyone. I would recommend this hotel to others we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear kerryyoung1
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you both enjoyed your stay. We have looked into the issues you raised and re-trained members of the team to ensure this does not happen again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

just back from lovely relaxing break at this hotel. great food...service...clean....comfortable...peaceful hotel. enjoyed the wee spa, though would be better with a swimming pool. fabulous views across the bay, sun was shinning too. Oban is wonderful place to visit and for holiday, boat trips to Isle of Mull, would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Jackie P
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your break, and we look forward to seeing you again in Oban soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Oban Bay hotel is a warm, cosy and welcoming place. Eight of us went for a weekend and had a lovely time. The rooms are adequate and comfortable with the usual complimentary tea and coffee tray. Our view was not so good, on to the rear of the hotel, but we just shut the curtains and didnt look. The hotel conservatory has views across Oban bay which are stunning, nice to sit in the evening with a drink and watch the changing colours. Thw hotel has a spa but the prices are a bit steep so no one in our party ventured in. Food was lovely and as part of our package we had a six course tasting menu, which was just as filling as the a la carte menu. Breakfast was superb, with a variety of choices from continental breakfast to full Scottish. The one thing that let this hotel down was the restricted parking at the hotel. We were advised by the receptionist that we had to book this a month in advance.........not good. The receptionist I have to say was not very welcoming and rhymed off the does and don'ts as if we were naughty school children. We had to park our car in the nearby church car park which is about 150metres from the hotel not ideal if you disabled. There is no lift that we could see so wheel chair bound guests would have great difficulty. That said our stay was pleasent and we would probably go back if we were in the area and they had another deal on.

Room Tip: perhaps a room at the front of the hotel would have more pleasing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaydivpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear v4law
Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct that a lot of our rooms have no view, so we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the sun lounge and the spectacular panoramic views across the Sound of Kerrera. Parking is an issue in all the hotels in Oban, so we are sorry that it had been fully booked when you arrive, however we do try and advertise as widely as possible that the parking does need pre-booking. There is free on-street car parking just 100 yards away from the hotel though, and we do try and advise people of this when we are fully booked. We can only apologise for the receptionist you encountered. We have re-trained the staff at reception so this will no longer be an issue. With regards to the lift, there is a lift in the new building to the back of the hotel, however due to building constraints, we are limited to what we can offer guests in wheelchairs, and we always make this abundantly clear when we are asked about our disabled facilities. We hope that you do come back, and that you enjoy your stay even more than this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,098 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £36 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oban Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing