We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short break stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great short break stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just returned from our third visit to the Oban Bay Hotel :
If you are looking for great short break , would recommend this excellent hotel,
Great food, helpful & pleasant staff, the view from the lounge overlooking Oban is spectacular !
All at reasonable prices. We will certainly return !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    549
    362
    163
    90
See reviews for
237
935
51
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

love these crerar hotels , staff are really friendly and helpful . We had an overnight stay on way to mull . Like all crerar hotels food was excellent , taster menus were good , never ate so much in one go . will be back sometime .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for the third time at the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa for two nights on the 26th and 27th of May 2014. We booked the deal through "easy-breaks.com" on a dinner,bed and breakfast basis. This website is wholly owned by the Crerar Hotels group of companies to which the Oban Bay belongs. The first thing you notice when you arrive at reception is the friendly and quietly efficient service you get from the staff on duty....this is the way all hotels should be.
Now the hotel has a 3 star rating but the truth is it is way better than that. We stayed in a twin bed room on the ground floor...clean,tidy everything you expect when you turn the key and enter.
The sun lounge at the front of the hotel has a breathtaking view of the bay and harbour with the outer island ferries coming and going all day. The hotel itself is only a ten minute walk from the town centre....even for "seniors" like ourselves.
Dinner in the restaurant features a 6 course tasting menu and there is only two words to describe it....."simply superb"!!!!!......at breakfast also there is a huge choice and food is cooked to order.....no buffet madness here!!......again....just amazing.
The waiting staff under the control of restuarant manager Daniel are well trained and exude confidence in their tasks during each service. The hotel was full on both nights of our stay with tour groups from both Germany and Austria staying.....and at around 140 covers each evening for dinner the kitchen and the waiting staff excelled.
Now....you will read on this site a few jaundiced reviews of this hotel....like "tired"....needs updating.....don't we all !!!!!!!!!!......but the truth is this is a gem of a hotel that offers service with a capital "S" and represents huge value for money.
Alistair and Muriel Watson.....Kilmarnock,East Ayrshire.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

It has a good location right on the front overlooking the water. Hence perhaps it has a very restrictive parking area for which you pay an additional extra charge for. The staff were all superb, which is the one major saving grace for this otherwise expensive tired old hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MKerrowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Fairlie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have just returned from a two night weekend break with a party of 34 Rotarians and our wives.
An excellent weekend despite the weather.
The hotel although a three service is exceptionally good and tremendous value for money. Well situated overlooking the bay towards the island of Kerrera.
An excellent served breakfast and a five course dinner with good choice of menu. Service was first class and the waiting staff were both extremely friendly and obliging.
Front facing rooms, although a little more expensive are spacious and offer some lovely views.
One tip would be to prebook you car parking space as spaces are limited.
Will certainly return as soon as I can.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karylaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

got a great deal at this hotel through classic Britain 2 nites bed/breakfast and evening meal and had a third night free hotel was very nice but could do with a bit of updating but no complaints the staff were very nice and friendly and could not do enough the food was excellent in the evening and the breakfast set us up for the day would go back again as oban is a lovely town just wish we had better weather but that's Scotland for you

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a sea view room brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daventry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A recent visit to this hotel, out of season, did not inspire us. The first appearance was not very good entrance was poor and name plates broken. Reception a little off-putting and room offered very small, dark , poor outlook to rear of kitchen, unclean (bedcover stained() Upgrade room, at a cost, better although in roof with no lift it had a seaview through a small window. Food was reasonable being a taster menu with small portions, although for our relaxing holiday the running about of the restaurant staff was frustrating. We also had some concern about the pricing and this should be watched when booking any offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing