We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, friendly service”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The staff were very friendly, service was fast at breakfast time. The room was clean and not overpriced. We stayed on the night of a severe storm were parts of the roof blew off, I was out having a cigarette and the GM was talking away to me and having a good laugh. I would go back it is a good place to stay if you are going out in Oban for the night, just remember to book your parking prior to your visit during busy periods as parking is limited.

Thank Jwa1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I will pass your kind comments on to the Oban Bay Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here ten years ago on our honeymoon but sadly since then the hotel has deteriorated dramatically . When booking the hotel we mentioned it was our anniversary but all we were giving was a dump of a room. The room was situated at the back of the hotel looking on to the kitchen area. The large extractors from the kitchen pointed directly in to our room blasting the smell of cooking through our windows. The room was really warm but we couldn't open the windows for the smell. We complained at reception and after a bit humming and hawing we were moved to another room. At first glance we thought the room was much better but then found that the toilet didn't flush and through the night the plumbing made some loud droning noises keeping us up. the bar area is nice with great sitting areas so you can admire the beautiful views. The staff were helpfull and good at there jobs but seemed rushed and overworked. The breakfast was edible just. For dinner we didn't eat in the hotel so couldn't comment but people we spoke to in the hotel said It was good. We ate at a little restaurant in town called cuan mor which was excellent with great food and a great atmosphere about it. Oban is a lovely place and we will be visiting again but sadly will not be staying at the oban bay hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for takiing the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am so sorry you were disappointed with your bedroom but if you should decide to visit Oban in the future, please allow me the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel by giving me a call when I will do my utmost to ensure you are allocated one of our superior rooms at a very preferential rate.

I thank you for your feed back.


Regards

SH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was the first time we had stayed in Oban. We chose the hotel for its parking and proximity to the ferry for Coll. We had a room on the 3rd floor looking across the Bay. It was clean and comfortable so no complaints there. We had a dinner BBD package and the dinner was not bad at all for a set menu. Staff were friendly and helpful and the receptionist had a good sense of humour. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charaxes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I will pass your kind comments on to the Oban Bay Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Regards


SH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect in my opinion as it is within walking distance to Oban town centre, but with free parking nearby and great views.

The hotel is showing its age, but we didn't let this detract from our break in Oban. The hotel is the perfect base for visiting Oban and the surrounding stunning landscape. The room that we had was small, but clean and had a partial sea view.

We had breakfast in the hotel and it was OK, nothing special. There were no buffet style breakfast options, but it was edible. We didn't have lunch or dinner in the hotel as there are so many nice cafes and restaurants in Oban to pick from.

We did use the spa facilities and the hot tub once (even though it was raining and cold), which was quite good.

For the price that we paid for a 2 night weekend break, the hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shannon1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I have considered your comments on breakfast service and also conveyed your decor statements to head office Both issues will be addressed in the near future.

Regards


SH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a room on the first floor, there is a fire exit on the corridor that leads to a lovely paved dog walk (you will need a torch at night). The hotel staff were very friendly and our dogs were allowed in the bar. Food was excellent and the room had plenty of space for my wife and myself with our two Labradors. The views from this hotel are exceptional, we will be back.

Room Tip: Doggy travelers, first floor is a must, you need to wedge the fire door open with a towel for your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I will pass on your kind comments to the Oban Bay Team and look forward to welcoming you and your dogs in the future.

Regards


SH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in a junior suite at this hotel on 5th July at a B&B rate of £185.00 per night.

On arrival we found that another guest had parked partly across the valet parking bay which would have been the only space available to park to unload our luggage so we were faced with little alternative than to park in front of the valet parking and adjacent bay. Access to the hotel with luggage was difficult as there are several deck steps to climb followed by two doors within several feet of each other. Our check in was not the most welcoming and we were told that access to our room was through a door, up a flight of stairs and through two fire doors. There was no lift available and no offer of assistance.

The room was quite acceptable generally but one window had its edges bunged up with tissue paper as it didn't close properly and was a bit of a mess. The blind in the bathroom was very dusty and can't have been cleaned for a while. The bed was comfortable and the view from the front window over the bay was very good.

The access routes and stairways looked "unloved" and in need of a good amount of capital investment. The breakfast room was in a similar state, two of the chairs around our table were past their best, one had holes in the top corners with foam peaking through and a large unsightly food stain on the back and the other had badly scratched arms.

The breakfast was served to the table and was of a reasonable standard but the service was disorganised and unfocused and needed some direction from someone!

On returning to our room after breakfast, the cleaner had wedged all the fire doors open on our floor with dirty towels. Other than breaching safety requirements this looked very unprofessional and is a classic example of a lack of attention to detail and care by the local management.

This was the second hotel we had stayed in within this chain in two nights and both in my opinion suffer from the same lack of focus on behalf of the supervisory waiting staff and attention to detail.

I think this will be the last time we stay at a hotel within this small chain.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views out to the front of the hotel, it will provide fantastic views down the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QualitySeekers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I have addressed the comments you stated on service and housekeeping standards and can assure there are now measures in place to ensure such incidents are not repeated.

I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Regards


SH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 day break with friends at this hotel. We had a lovely time and were so glad we chose this hotel. It overlooks the sea and the views from their conservatory are spectacular. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. Compliments go the chefs as the food was really delicious - great quality food and well presented. The small spa and hot tub contributed to a great relaxing break. Will book this hotel again and really recommend it. Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I will pass your kind comments on to the Oban BAy Team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards


SH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,505 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing