We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had an amazing time, no complaints whatsoever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had an amazing time, no complaints whatsoever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

My friend & I stayed at this hotel for a 2 Night Spa Break and had a ball. We had Twin Room which was spotlessly clean with separate Bath & Walk In Shower. Included within our Break was Dinner B&B and 2 Spa Treatments each. Food was amazing and very well presented, felt as if we had put on a stone each, lol. Treatments were fantastic and if you wanted they had a Sauna & Steam Room and an outside Hot-tub looking out over the Water.
What can I say about the Staff, they were amazing and such a good laugh, had that good a time on the day we were due to leave we went for a walk into town (approx 10mins if that) then came back for lunch and ended up staying an extra night at a discounted price from management.
Overall I would def go back again and again as had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydiver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for rewritting such a great review of the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa on trip advisor.
I have passed your positive comments on to the team. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed all the facilities and the restaurant. We look forward to welcomeing you back to the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    549
    362
    163
    90
See reviews for
237
935
51
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

The Hotel is a good choice in Oban which seems to have a limited selection of good quality accomodation. Got a room in the extension which was fine - nicely decorated though no remote for the tele (reception said that people keep taking them and that there were none!). The hot tap was hanging off and constantly running, lights didn't work nor dod the extractor in the bathroom. Pointed this out to house keeping and they very efficiently rectified all points - new taps appeared the next day and all other points addressed - very impressed with this! Breakfast was good and the bar has great views over the bay - the hotel is far enough out of town to be away from the noise though within walking distance from the restaurants and shops etc. The only real comment would be that the Restaurant wasn't quite the 'fine dining' environment that we were expecting - the other Crerar hotels that we have been to have a nicer restaurant - also the bar menu failed to reflect the seafood available locally which was a shame out of normal dining hours. Over all I would reccommend a stay - there are plenty of local dining options to explore and the hotel does what it says on the tin - and there are some good offers available (the photocopied guest packs also need to be replaced - doesnt give a good first impression) - and my compliments to housekeeping!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you so much for your review of the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa. I have passed you compliments on to the hotel team and especially housekeeping.
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I have informed the restaurant team of your positive feedback.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa and hope that you will enjoy our new lounge and restaurant menus which feature more local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen001Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

This hotel does not do what it says on the tin. Although the rooms were clean and adequate, the service was very poor. At both dinner (boring and expensive) and breakfast (not bad), the service was nothing but disorganised although the staff are pleasant.

We were served by 3 or 4 different staff therefore ordering drinks and getting simple items such as toast was a chore. Can you believe that they did not have ketchup for 2 days running at breakfast, I felt like suggesting the local Scotmid might be an idea!

To call it a Spa hotel is a bit cheap. However the treatments were excellant by a lady from Mull but the spa facilities were spread accross a corridor and the some of the facilities just did not work.

To top it off, they have charged me an extra £230 two weeks after our stay which I think is a mix up from the charges to the other couple in our group. After the disorganised way that dinner and breakfast was run this doesn't supprise me at all.

Would I stay again..........no. If you are going to stay, make sure you book a car parking space!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa on trip advisor.
We very much appreciate our guest comments and learn from the experiences that they write. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Spa treatment and I have relayed your kind words to the therapist.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brian Hurwitz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

The location is the only good thing. An indifferent staff. A closet sized room. A restaurant with food that is one significant step beneath Burger King. If I had a choice between staying here again or camping, and I hate camping, I'd choose the tent. If you have another choice, I STRONGLY recommend you take it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa on trip advisor.
We very much appreciate our guest comments and learn from the experiences that they write. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful views and location.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

This hotel is a poorly spruced up seaside hotel and not worth the rates charged. Rooms are small and ours had no bath only a small shower (you have to specify if you want one of the few rooms with bath); surcharges on the fixed menu are ridiculous - if you go off the set £19 menu, it costs an additional £18 for a steak (this seems to be true of all Crerar hotels). There is very limited parking (about 6 cars) which you have to pre-book - but nobody tells you in advance. There are far better, cheaper hotels in the area which do not promise the earth and deliver so little.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Videoeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for your review of the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa on trip advisor.
Our customer comments are taken with great sincerity and allow us to improve as a Hotel.
As we do have limited car parking we advise all of guests to book prior to their stay.
We every much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Once again thank you for your valued comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renrewshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed for one night in one twin and one single. Single overlooked brick wall, no remote for TV, bedding poor quality. Twin room had a bit of a view of sea and sunset. Overpriced £190 for three (inc breakfast) for what we had. The rooms themselves were not up to standard, the coffee/tea tray being covered in dust and the kettle half full of stale water from previous guests. Reception service was unbelievably poor - no local knowledge regarding trains, boats, buses etc, nor maps - as was breakfast service (in fact, this was appallng). The front house of hotel looks very nice, with a very nice conservatory area and bar, but to get to lift you have to walk a long, long way, down a corridor, with a few stairs, then negotiate another few corridors after lift at other end! Not good when you have a bad back - heaving suitcases etc. Hotel location is very good indeed. The best part of the experience would have been the location and front of house area and the worst would have been breakfast and service in restaurant. We had to ask two or three times for another pot of tea, we waited 20 minutes to be served, and another 10 for "rubber" scrambled eggs. All in all, it was not a good experience. I was touring Scotland and proud to show off my country to two european friends, and they could not believe how bad things were in this hotel. It was embarrasing.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for your review of the Oban Bya Hotel & Spa on Trip advisor.
We very much appreciate our guest comments and learn from the experiences that they write. I am delighted that you enjoyed the veiws.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing