We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and memorable atmosphere, good food and friendly staff”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views and memorable atmosphere, good food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Searching for my film location I ended in Oban and was recommended Oban Bay Hotel and Spa by a friend. I didn’t expect such amazing hotel in Oban with loads to offer to its costumers and very friendly staff. Food was amazing with really taste of the local, organic food and well acclaimed sea food.
Rooms have been very clean and comfortable and I was lucky to have great weather, so view on the sea was memorable. I didn’t have time to try Hotel Spa but one of my colleagues did and it was so pleasant and relaxing.
I would highly recommend this hotel to others and I will come back to Oban Bay and Spa Hotel in the near future

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm_jls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your feedback. I will pass on your positive words to the team at the hotel.
We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful view at the hotel and we are delighted that are guests relax and enjoy the hotels environment both inside and out. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    563
    394
    175
    95
See reviews for
246
972
51
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I stayed here with my bf just year for a long weekend. The hotel is terrible for parking. You will be told there are no spaces and there will be 3 empty ones outside, we parked up and stayed and were not checked. There are a good few places to sit and chill out with drinks but it is really quiet, even for people who like chilling out.
Spa - hot tub is good, if you get the chance to get into it. Steam room is quite small, so is sauna. Massage room is good, book least a day in advance to ensure you get a slot.
Bar - Well its ok, not a great choice but will do for a quiet drink. Doesn't have much wine selection.
Breakfast - Cannot fault breakfast service, fast and you can order pretty much as much you want. Came out fresh and hot, nice jam, plenty toast and top ups. Did not have dinner in hotel but when we looked at the menu it did not have much choice.
Rooms - Well I guess this depends where you are allocated. We were in the new part of the hotel and although the room was lovely, view was terrible. Dont usually fuss about views but this just looked into a car park and the back of the restaurant. We spent most nights out tho so didnt bother us too much, if you want a good view, make sure you ask.
Location - Great location. Few mins walk into restaurants and pubs. We went to the Irish bar on the front and it was great. Pub busy but welcomed in and given table and great service - food great too. Went to the Indian Restaurant another night and cannot boast enough of the food, delicious. Location of hotel has great view when you are sitting at chairs inside. Also has a good patio area which would be nice in summer. Short drive to Fort William which has more shops. Go to local centre in Oban and you will find a Church shape building which is great to let you know of local tourist attractions.

Overall, good for a short stay, would not have liked to been there longer.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_88Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your feedback. If I could suggest that you pre book your car parking prior to your next visit you will be able to identify if you can use the hotel car park. Since your stay in Sep 08 we have extended the Whisky range in the bar and the our wine lists have been extended to include even more tasty options.
We very much appreciate the comments from our guests and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Staying on a leisure break, at check in advised the receptionist that we were celebrating our anniversary and were subsequently upgraded to a suite in the hotel.
We booked this venue because of the spa facilities and close proximity to Oban centre, however the outdoor hot tub was a welcome surprise!
Food, service and staff excellent - already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiexGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2009
Thank you so very much for your feedback, your comments have been well appreiciated and the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa were delighetd that you enjoyed your stay.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Helen Gallagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Our room was tiny and the bathroom was cramped and incredibly dated. It was not cleaned properly (splatters on the walls!) and just looked very shabby, with stained carpet etc. The bed was worn out, uncomfortable, and it was just utterly disappointing. The public areas were similarily worn out and grubby. I wanted to iron something and we found a blackened iron in the (battered) wardrobe with a sticker on it to say that the electrician who tested it in January said it had tested unsafe and unusable! The remote control did not have batteries in it either. We brought it to reception but we never saw it again.

On the first morning we made it to breakfast (which finishes at 10am) and it was truly inedible. The full Scottish looked and tasted like it was made the day before. I have never been presented with a precooked poached before. The sausages and other bits and pieces were very low quality and I couldn't eat them. The coffee was instant and gross! We didn't bother with food there subsequently.

On the first evening we went out to dinner and when we came back we found our bedroom door open! When we told reception she told us she had gone in because the room had been double booked and she had gone to check! We were pretty shocked she could manage to leave our door unlocked!

Only positive thing was the view, and even then it was marred by the hideous roof of the conservatory! I deeply regret not checking out on the first evening. We were in Oban for a wedding and discovered other guests at the wedding had also planned to stay there but had left early due to the state of the place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxfordone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. We were sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasurable. As a hotelier I very much like to thank the guests who stay at the Hotel and offer positive feedback for improvement and I will rely your comments to the team. Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
coatbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Booked for two nights from 22nd may for my partners birthday. Had a very relaxing stay and the staff were very helpfull. I loved the spa especially the hot tub. The car park was very small but we found a place to park just round the corner. The only downside was the weather on the Saturday it poured all day, but it didn't dampen our spirits.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coatbridgeblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you so much for rewirtting a review of the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa on trip advisor. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopfully your return visit the weather will be bright and sunny.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My friend & I stayed at this hotel for a 2 Night Spa Break and had a ball. We had Twin Room which was spotlessly clean with separate Bath & Walk In Shower. Included within our Break was Dinner B&B and 2 Spa Treatments each. Food was amazing and very well presented, felt as if we had put on a stone each, lol. Treatments were fantastic and if you wanted they had a Sauna & Steam Room and an outside Hot-tub looking out over the Water.
What can I say about the Staff, they were amazing and such a good laugh, had that good a time on the day we were due to leave we went for a walk into town (approx 10mins if that) then came back for lunch and ended up staying an extra night at a discounted price from management.
Overall I would def go back again and again as had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydiver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for rewritting such a great review of the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa on trip advisor.
I have passed your positive comments on to the team. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed all the facilities and the restaurant. We look forward to welcomeing you back to the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The Hotel is a good choice in Oban which seems to have a limited selection of good quality accomodation. Got a room in the extension which was fine - nicely decorated though no remote for the tele (reception said that people keep taking them and that there were none!). The hot tap was hanging off and constantly running, lights didn't work nor dod the extractor in the bathroom. Pointed this out to house keeping and they very efficiently rectified all points - new taps appeared the next day and all other points addressed - very impressed with this! Breakfast was good and the bar has great views over the bay - the hotel is far enough out of town to be away from the noise though within walking distance from the restaurants and shops etc. The only real comment would be that the Restaurant wasn't quite the 'fine dining' environment that we were expecting - the other Crerar hotels that we have been to have a nicer restaurant - also the bar menu failed to reflect the seafood available locally which was a shame out of normal dining hours. Over all I would reccommend a stay - there are plenty of local dining options to explore and the hotel does what it says on the tin - and there are some good offers available (the photocopied guest packs also need to be replaced - doesnt give a good first impression) - and my compliments to housekeeping!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMacleodHotelManager, Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you so much for your review of the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa. I have passed you compliments on to the hotel team and especially housekeeping.
We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I have informed the restaurant team of your positive feedback.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oban Bay Hotel and Spa and hope that you will enjoy our new lounge and restaurant menus which feature more local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,408 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing