We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,008 results
Traveller rating
530
628
465
227
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
628
465
227
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub oban bay spa facilities crerar hotels steam room set menu easy breaks waiting staff dinner bed and breakfast stornoway black pudding dining room short break a bit tired sea view night break lounge area a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 2,008 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Peaceful location with beautiful from the lounge. Professional friendly staff, noticed very dog friendly too! Food was good quality and reasonably priced. The outdoor hot tub and steam room and sauna were an added bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucille b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

An all round lovely hotel in a lovely location, the food was fantastic in the attached restaurant and the breakfast was really good in a buffet style every morning as well, the staff were friendly and helpful and the bar area has an great little mezzanine level to sit and reflect with a whisky looking over the harbour, really enjoyed our weekend there

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank scottymcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Booked a short break here on a "Manager's Special" deal - two nights, full breakfast and dinner both nights.

On booking, I had requested a room near to the central areas because my wife has some mobility issues and can't manage stairs too well. The room allocated was along a narrow corridor with some three flights of mini-stairs [4/5 treads] before reaching the lift. I guess this was the nearest available room which met the request but the short stairs were still a little troublesome. Not a terribly big deal, but less than ideal. The hotel is an old building with a newer addition at the rear where most of the rooms are located and it's built on rising ground which explains the short flights of stairs. I guess that the staff did their best to accommodate my request.

The staff in the hotel [mostly Romanian] were all very pleasant and accommodating so no complaints on that front.

Drinks prices were a little steep, especially the £10 glass of wine that I had read about in other reviews so I avoided that. It seemed odd that a glass of wine should cost £10 when a whole bottle [roughly four such glasses] could be had in the restaurant for £20.

Dining in the hotel was good experience. Staying for two nights I imagined that the table d'hote menu might be the same for both nights but it was not and that was a pleasant surprise. The basic menu was more than adequate and you could substitute any items from the A la Carte menu by paying supplements. The quality of food was excellent and I would recommend it highly. Waiter-served breakfast was also very good.

A final drawback was with car parking. There are very few spaces available in the car park. I was lucky and got one at the entrance. It's easy to imagine that at busier times you would have to park some way off and walk back to the hotel.

Altogether, this was a very pleasant break in a pleasant place - warm, comfortable and with more positives than negatives.

Room Tip: If you're lucky, or request such, you may get a fine view of the bay withe ferries coming and going.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JackandIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

first time we have tried this hotel as visit oban often room was lovely and clean loved the sun room fantastic views across bay very relaxing Breakfast was fantastic on both mornings french toast was really lovely and the best of products for cooked breakfast would it five stars .Staff were lovely next time we come back will book for dinner as well

Room Tip: 255 was a nice room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank happy20142015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We took our friends to the oban bay for a Christmas lunch yesterday and the food was fantastic.
We had a beautiful table in the conservatory over looking the bay it was absolutely amazing.
Good good and service and extremely good value for money.
We stayed at the hotel during the summer on a spa package and it was wonderful.
When looking for somewhere special to take friends it had to be here.
Thank you to David who organised the table for me will definitely be back in the new year.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank theroadtoparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews