We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Flintshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We travelled from Wales on saturday and had booked into the hotel for 2 nights. Unfortunately we didn't arrive til late. our room was vey small, unclean, overlooked the bins and was unacceptable -room133. We were offered another on the 3rd floor which was larger but dirtier, so we declined! The evening meal included in the £100 per night was very poor and wouldn't have satisfied a sparrow so we were forced to order from the a la carte at a very high price - not worth the money. Breakfast was very poor and needless to say we left quickly after one night. Would we stay again definately no. On the plus side the staff were pleasant. If you do decide to go make sure you book a car parking space or you have to drive to a public car park down the road.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, Since your comments we have changed the menus in the restaurant however if the food was not to your liking please accept my sincere apologies

Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    557
    382
    170
    94
See reviews for
241
963
51
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We booked a 2 night midweek brake with Easy-brakes. We found this hotel to be excellent value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent and the facilities were good for this size of hotel. The food was good and what you would expect for an inclusive deal. The only thing was we took our dog (which was made most welcome) and we would have liked a bigger room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for your fantastic review, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments to our team of Chefs & waiting staff who will be pleased. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future.
Kind regards
Darrell williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

My husband and I have been going to Oban for more years than we care to remember and we would not stay anywhere other than this hotel. The staff are excellent, professional and friendly, they always remember us and our name and it makes us feel as if we are coming back to visit friends, it is like a home from home. The views from the sun lounge are spectacular and we have spent many a happy afternoon and evening just watching the everchaing views in the relaxing and friendly atmosphere. They staff are really attentive and when they go out of their way when they know I have a food allergy to let me know what is suitable for me on the menu and it is no bother to change a sauce etc. The food is lovely. Oban is a great place to holiday and there is plenty to do. My husband and I have spent many happy years going to this hotel and hope to spend many more going there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you did decide to visit us at Oban bay and spa & that we exceeded your expectations, Thank you also for your positive feedback about the restaurant and chef, The staff will be delighted. Thanks again & I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

stayed for 3 nights, views are fantastic, just a short flat walk to shops, pubs, restaurants etc. did not have a sea view but plenty of room to sit in lounge and watch the boats go by and admire the scenery, never had evening meal but breakfast was fine, we took the car on the ferry to mull, ferryport 2 mins. from hotel, great day out, if we go back would use hotel again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you so much for your great review, All of the staff will be delighted with your very positive comments as indeed am I. It is good to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us & I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards

Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntisland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Firstly i have to say that the room i had in this hotel was clean and warm and the meal i enjoyed in the evening (scallops - try them) was absolutely excellent.A couple of things spoiled my trip though - i was allocated a room righ tnext to where renovations are taking place.These started up before 8am in the morning and made it impossible to sleep - i had been looking forward to a lie in as i had several meetings coming up in the town.It would have been handy to know that this work was ongoing when i booked but it wasn't mentioned at all even at check-in.That same morning at 9.20am someone chapped on my door and walked in as i was in a state of undress - i assume it was housekeeping staff but surely they check who has vacated their rooms before they clean them?Not very proffesional at all.

As i say the food was fantastic and the bar staff friendly and attentive.Just a shame other things spoiled my stay.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Sorry about the work , they should have not been on your floor at that time Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future.
Kind regards

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I stay in the Oban Bay every 2 weeks and i cannot fault the place, the views/rooms/facilities//food/staff are all fantastic. This is my fourth year on the trot staying here and i wouldnt stay anywhere else in Oban whilst i'm up there. Before i stayed with the Oban Bay i tried numerous hotels within Oban and none of them even came close. Superb place to stay for either business or pleasure, i have stayed for a weekend many a time for pleasure and its been great. For people on business its the perfect place to unwind and relax either in the sauna/outdoor hot-tub or even with a glass of wine watching the world go by with the fantastic views it has to offer. Gary Martin

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Thank you for your very positive review, Its great to hear this was your 4th visit!, Your comments about the food at the hotel are most welcome & I will certainly pass them onto the Chef who will be delighted, I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumbarton
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Had a great stay here in oban spa hotel room was clean food great most of the staff were extremely helpful, until one night i had difficulty sleeping so didnt want to wake my family to make a cuppa so went downstairs and asked night porter man if it would be possible to get a hot drink and had money their to pay i explained im not a great sleeper
but was told no that is not the policy of the hotel. the dining room could be warmer apart from that i would recommend this hotel and definently go back again soon the decor is outstanding just had carpets all re-fitted you really feel relaxed and the views are stunning from sun lounge to sit in. had a go in the hot tub steam room this was great !!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete your very positive review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & made good use of the facilities we have here at Oban bay; I take your comments on board about the night porter. I do hope that you will visit us again soon

Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing