We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 4 January 2011

this was our second time here and both times everything was excellent ,rooms were very good clean and comfy ,staff were first class helpfull and friendly ,on both occasions our welcome at reception was very friendly,dinner was excellent both in quality of food and the service from waiting staff . After a great nights sleep we went to breakfast this was very good and the best breakfast i have had in a hotel for a while,would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting oban

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,480 - 1,486 of 1,849 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

Very good staff , restaurant very clean , we noticed one girl polishing all the cutlery , food excellent for the price , nothing too much trouble , lovely sea view room ( you will need to book a sea view ) . The large conservatory looks directly out over Oban Bay , watch the "cal-macs" come and go and the sun go down to leave the lights of Oban reflecting in the water . There was some very minor niggles , limited parking for example but just take a look at the view and then the bill and you will forget the niggles . This was our second winter short break (3 nights) and we are booking again .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mongooseloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future.

Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We picked this hotel because Crerar Hotels sent us a leaflet with some amazing special offers, so we landed up paying a pittance for our stay here (dinner, bed and breakfast - even wine included). Because we had paid so little, things would have to have been pretty bad to justify any criticisms at all. However, apart from a not very effective shower, I would happily have paid full price for our trip. The room was spacious and well furnished. Our meals both nights were delicious and the service was great. The staff even managed to stay smiling when serving a particularly whingy guest. All this and sunshine too. We almost didn't make the trip because snow had caused trains between Edinburgh and Glasgow to be cancelled and we only just made the Oban train at Glasgow with minutes to spare after catching a bus. No snow in Oban, though - just sunshine. We had a great trip and would recommend the Oban Bay Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2010

Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future.

Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I ordered a standard single room.
Changed to another hotel cause the room was barely big enough for the bed. I was still was charged for the whole stay. Got no replies when sending emails to them.
Not happy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David123456190502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies

Kind regards

Darrell Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We had a nice enough stay at this hotel. Siobhan made my stay with two excellent spa treatments. Didn't expect the room to be so small and placed at the back of hotel. Shower difficult to use and taps a bit weird. Stayed 4 nights got my biscuits only once. Beds not the best and pillows soft. Food very nice but repetative so lost a bit of interest in eating. Breakfast decent service very pleasant and prompt. Front desk not the worst just a bit lethargic. Would go back if a front room suite secured. Would not recommend this hotel as I think you could have varied experiences, hairdryer could not reach for me to dry my hair and having long hair didn't have the strength to hold the switch down indefinately. Considered washing down stairs in the spa. Anyway lovelly location. Did mention an upgrade but was told not available at the time

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies but i will pass on your great comments to siobhan about the spa

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

a pretty tired hotel made worse but a very small over priced room with an old and lumpy bed. i felt i was a hotel visitor 20 years ago. an ok breakfast was the only positive thing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies

Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Due to family circumstances had to stay unexpectedly in Oban! On the first occasion the Scottish labour party conference was on and most hotels were fully booked. We were given a lovely room at the front of the hotel.
We had to return two days later with two dogs and had a down stairs room at the back of the hotel which allowed easy access for the two dogs! I agree that the back rooms are small and lacking views but on a windy and wet November day they were sheltered and cosy.
Due to a fire in another hotel the staff managed a late in the day crisis very well!
During this difficult time all the staff were very helpful!
The best facial I have had and loved the included back massage!
The lounge was excellent! Lovely to just sit and look at the view! A bit slow on taking food and drinks orders but I don't think they expected to be so busy!
Yes I will stay again but will book a front room!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzyhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & made good use of the facilities we have here at Oban bay; . I do hope that you will visit us again soon

Kind regards...

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £36 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oban Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing