We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I found the Oban Bay Hotel to be very nice and welcoming. The room was small, but nicely appointed and looked out to the bay. Breakfast was very tasty, and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart_dmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    549
    362
    163
    89
See reviews for
237
935
51
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Very unhappy with the mouldy bathroom and the dust heavy soft furnishings. We will not be going back there. It was a disappointing end to what had been a lovely holiday. Be warned that you will be charged if you want to park in the hotel's own car-park and there is no convenient alternatives close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

great food , great location, lovely hotel, basis bedroom small but clean and well furnished. shower cubicle a bit on the small side. bed in the room we had needs replaced as very uncomfortable. overall very good value for the money we paid and 10 out of 10 to the chef.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future.

Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Once again my husband and I have returned to this hotel to relax and again we are more than delighted to be here. We are in the Lismore Suite, which is a large room, with a comfortable couch and armchair and large four poster bed. The views from the window over the bay are beautiful. The bathroom is beatifully done out with a deep roll top bath with amazing views over Oban Bay, Kerrara and Mull. It was such a pleasure to soak in this tub and watch the view. Again the staff are the most helpful, friendly and professional staff I have ever come across and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is great and the views as always stunning. As I have said in my previous reviews it is like a home from home. Keep up the good work guys. I can't wait to start planning my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Perfect Hotel to stay and recharge your batteries. Hotel lovely with stunning views. Room very clean and comfy. Restaurant lovely and food great. For anyone concerned about booking a special offer, don't be, it was perfect. Looking forward to visiting again and staying longer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colonsay186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my husband and loved it! Staff were so kind and the cedar wood hot tub is a MUST so don't forget your swimming gear. Both the breakfasts and evening meals were very good and nothing was toomuch trouble for the staff.Comfortable bed and our room looked out over the bay as the ferries travelled to and fro. Unbelievable value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kes12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & made good use of the facilities we have here at Oban bay; . I do hope that you will visit us again soon Kind regards... Darrell Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

this was our second time here and both times everything was excellent ,rooms were very good clean and comfy ,staff were first class helpfull and friendly ,on both occasions our welcome at reception was very friendly,dinner was excellent both in quality of food and the service from waiting staff . After a great nights sleep we went to breakfast this was very good and the best breakfast i have had in a hotel for a while,would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting oban

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robmac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to the team, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards
Darrell Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing