We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,039)
Filter reviews
2,039 results
Traveller rating
535
636
472
232
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
636
472
232
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub oban bay spa facilities crerar hotels steam room set menu easy breaks waiting staff restaurant staff stornoway black pudding short break breakfast and dinner night break sea view bed and breakfast lovely view a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,630 - 1,635 of 2,039 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed at the hotel towards the end of last year which is the first time in a few years and have nothing but praise for Darrell, Margeret and all the staff at Oban Bay.

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we felt comfortable and right at home.

We didnt eat dinner in the hotel on our first night as we were out but the meal we got on our 2nd night was amazing and the chef cooked our steaks perfectly, the bar staff very friendly, Lucas was never put out whenever you wanted anything and done everything with a smile

Room was great considering we were only sleeping in it.

All in all fantastic hotel for a fantastic weekend away.

Darrell your staff are a credit to you and we're hoping when we are back in the next few months it's still the same staff and Noelle is still your superstar chef.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazylady_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to margaret in reception, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future

Kind regards

Darrell Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Really enjoyed our weekend in The Oban Bay, the staff were very welcoming and nothing to much trouble, the dining room staff served all meals very profesionally, houskeeping, spa and reception staff all friendly, The rooms were adequate and comfortable and the meals very good. Enjoyed the facilities, suana, steam room and hot tub and induldged in the worthwhile treatments by |Siobahn in the spa.
Only draw back is you have to pay for car parking.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footballer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed for the new year package the entertainment we recived for new year's eve was crap and the bedroom for a single person was small but the bathroom is very small but the shower is dreadfull it felt like you had to go and buy descaler and l had to screw the shower head back on and the water preasure is very poor and l felt like l couldn't wait to get home for a good scrub the showers in the travel lodge are a lot better and when you try to complain they didn't want to know and even the head office didn't want to know.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBrouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review, I am really disappointed that we did not meet your or indeed my expectations during your recent visit to Oban, please accept my sincere apologies Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Really enjoyed our two night stay here. The staff were very friendly. Stayed in the Lismore suite which was very spacious, the bed ensured a sound nights sleep.
Dinner and breakfast were delicious and we enjoyed the fellow guests company in the conservatory after dinner as we watched the ferrys in the bay.
Thanks to everyone for making our stay most enjoyable, see you all again

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norriebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

just returned from a 2 night break and would not normally post a review of hotel but feel the hotel truly deserve a 10 out of 10 in every aspect, from food and service to reception staff ( thanks Margaret ) for upgrading us to a suite. We will definately return in the near future.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applecandy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrellWilliams, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thank you for your fantastic review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on your great comments on to margaret in reception, Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Oban in the very near future. Kind regards Darrell Williams General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews