We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Largs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Very pleasant professional staff. Very clean well kept hotel. We only had breakfast which had a good choice and was plentiful ---if only it had been hotter. We reported this as we left and we were they would look into it.Toast was not toasty! Never the less we would return.

Room Tip: Front rooms obviously overlooking THE view but pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meglargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. Feedback such as yours is very motivating for the entire team and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies that breakfast was not as hot as you would have liked, and also that your toast wasn’t toasty enough for you. During the cleaning of the brass buffet counter, the temperature dial at the rear of the unit had been knocked which unfortunately led to the food not being as warm as some guests would like. When cleaning the unit now, extra care is given around the temperature dial to avoid similar problems. Please do not hesitate to ask for your toast to be browner should you stay again in the future. Thank you once again for your kind review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    317
    175
    74
    34
See reviews for
124
486
45
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
885 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here just the one night with our dog. It was a quick walk along the seafront to the main town to eat in the evening. The views when we opened our curtains the next morning were amazing, blue sky and a calm sea stretched in front of us! We crossed the road onto the beach so the dog could have a swim before we returned to the hotel for an excellent breakfast. The staff were excellent, very friendly and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review on Trip Advisor. There is nothing better than to wake up and enjoy such a beautiful view across the Oban bay and we are pleased that the sun was shining on your visit to enable you to enjoy it even more. We hope that your dog enjoyed the swim! Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, they have been passed on to the team as very positive feedback for them. Should you be visiting Oban again please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked this for a romantic break for me and my husband, Staff were very friendly and always on hand to help. We had a room on the back but 4th floor, excellant sea views, Rooms was small but very large comfortable bed and quiet. Bathroom small but clean and suited our needs.

Within walking distance of town, Breakfast great and had the bar meal of nachos in evening great, drinks great value as well.

We would def visit this again

Room Tip: car parking small so come early if by car but can walk from train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you could enjoy your romantic break away with your husband from one of our standard bedrooms that benefit from excellent sea views. As I’m sure you understand during peak season we are very busy and car parking spaces are limited, however should the car park be full, spaces are often available on the Esplanade free of charge and our reception team are willing to help guide guests to the closest available parking. Your comments regarding the meals you enjoyed at the hotel have been passed onto the chefs and receiving comments like these is very motivational. We are pleased to read that you will definitely visit again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here between the 19th and 22nd July.
The room was clean but small, breakfast was really nice and its only a 8 minute walk to the centre of Oban. The bar area is small and only open at certain times. Car park is very small so try and get there early to get a space. All the staff give exceptional service and are very pleasant. EE-USK is a great restaurant 10 minute walk from the hotel and Coasters is a really nice bar on the way.
The hotel has the feel of a top class B+B rather than a big chain hotel, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not next door to the lift as you can here it we were in room 45 and that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that your enjoyed your break in Oban. Cleanliness and the exceptional service of our staff are aspects that we pride ourselves on and your lovely comments have been passed onto the team. BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel is privately owned and run so we are pleased that you did not feel like you stayed in a large chain hotel. The hotel has achieved 4 star status with both The AA and Visit Scotland, and we aspire to provide individual service to every guest that stays. Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

First of all we are US citizens who like to vacation in UK, Scotland sometimes. My wife is a Dual citizen. She was born and raised in the UK in near Essex.. She has a Lloyds of London savings and checking account.. She specifically asked if she could use her UK checking account to pay for the hotel..over the phone in Jan of 2012 they said no problem. So there we were in Oban in Early July of 2012 and were told they did not take checks.. We asked to see a manager and were yelled at screamed and basically told they my wive was a lieing.. NEVER do they allow checks. I was about to leave for another hotel but my wife liked the view and asked if there was a Lloyds bank in Oban so off we went to get the cash to pay these horrible people.... We paid in full.. They offered NO apology NOTHING.. Had the GALL to ask if we wanted to reserve for dinner.. Thats a laugh.. We made a point of not spending one more dime in that place.. Also the condition of the room was poor.. They had NOT properly serviced it before we arrived hardly any TP.. Then my wife got a spinter in the room.. no sewing kit in the room.. NO sewing kit or needles at the desk... I asked if they had a first aide kit.. they did a metal diaper pin was used by me to extract the splinter. Avoid this place like the plague...

Room Tip: Stay in the Hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts on Trip Advisor. All customer feedback is taken extremely seriously. However, it is clear that there was a serious miscommunication during your booking telephone call. During your check-in we kept attempting to explain that the hotel does not accept cheque payments upon arrival, and in fact has not done so for some years now. We did apologise profusely to you at the time and were willing to release you from the contractual obligation to pay for your accommodation, whether you stayed or not. We were quiet and professional at all times during what was admittedly an unpleasant experience for you and my staff. Once again we are sorry about the miscommunication. As you know you were dealing with the manager druing your check-in, hence it was not possible to produce another one. At no point did we accuse you of lying or indeed insinuate this. We had hoped that we could turn around an unpleasant arrival into an enjoyable stay (as we said to you at the time) obviously we did not succeed. Consequently please accept our apologies for the miscommunication. Thank you again for placing a review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were very disappointed in this property and expected much better for the ratings it has, its price and the fact that it is a Best Western property. The cost for the room should have been half the cost they charged. The bed was uncomfortable and the appointments meager and the breakfast was barely passable. Anything we did required a 4 GBP cab ride each way. Although the staff was helpful they could not make up for the poor room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. It is always extremely disappointing to realise that it has not been possible to meet a guests expectations and we apologise accordingly. Nonetheless, we are a four star rated property and we are constantly checking and upgrading the rooms and services provided. We also benchmark our property prices on a daily basis against other local full service hotels- none of which are four star. We strive to offer good value and our prices are predominantly lower than our nearest competitor. The hotel prides itself on offering an excellent breakfast hence we are shocked by your comments. Thank you for complimenting our lovely friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hated this hotel, the first thing that hit me was the smell of dampness. The rooms were very basic, tbh the premier inns rooms standards are better. We had to wait for a table to become free before we could have breakfast. The weather was gorgeous and we sat out the front only to be told by staff we couldn't sit out with a drink after 10pm.The only plus point I can say is the food was good. I would reccomend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
The team and I were most disappointed to read your review of our property on Trip Advisor. All rooms are checked on a daily basis and we must apologise if there was a damp smell in your room. Had you brought this to our attention at the time we could have moved you to another room. We feel that as a four star property our rooms are of a higher standard than most and regret that the rooms were not to your taste. With regard to drinking outside after 10pm we are powerless to change the law in Scotland. Indeed we must ensure that guests comply with such regulations or we would lose our licquor licence. We were all delighted to read that you enjoyed our lovely food. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing