We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranald Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$225
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
295
378
212
84
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
378
212
84
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathsea viewbuffet stylesea frontbar menulovely hotelparking is limitedhotel barmain buildingsingle roomcar parktown centrefirst floorhotel is situatedkippersstreet parkingnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Very pleasant professional staff. Very clean well kept hotel. We only had breakfast which had a good choice and was plentiful ---if only it had been hotter. We reported this as we left and we were they would look into it.Toast was not toasty! Never the less we would return.

Room Tip: Front rooms obviously overlooking THE view but pricier.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meglargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. Feedback such as yours is very motivating for the entire team and we are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies that breakfast was not as hot as you would have liked, and also that your toast wasn’t toasty enough for you. During the cleaning of the brass buffet counter, the temperature dial at the rear of the unit had been knocked which unfortunately led to the food not being as warm as some guests would like. When cleaning the unit now, extra care is given around the temperature dial to avoid similar problems. Please do not hesitate to ask for your toast to be browner should you stay again in the future. Thank you once again for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here just the one night with our dog. It was a quick walk along the seafront to the main town to eat in the evening. The views when we opened our curtains the next morning were amazing, blue sky and a calm sea stretched in front of us! We crossed the road onto the beach so the dog could have a swim before we returned to the hotel for an excellent breakfast. The staff were excellent, very friendly and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review on Trip Advisor. There is nothing better than to wake up and enjoy such a beautiful view across the Oban bay and we are pleased that the sun was shining on your visit to enable you to enjoy it even more. We hope that your dog enjoyed the swim! Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, they have been passed on to the team as very positive feedback for them. Should you be visiting Oban again please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for reviewing our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We booked this for a romantic break for me and my husband, Staff were very friendly and always on hand to help. We had a room on the back but 4th floor, excellant sea views, Rooms was small but very large comfortable bed and quiet. Bathroom small but clean and suited our needs.

Within walking distance of town, Breakfast great and had the bar meal of nachos in evening great, drinks great value as well.

We would def visit this again

Room Tip: car parking small so come early if by car but can walk from train station
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

We would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you could enjoy your romantic break away with your husband from one of our standard bedrooms that benefit from excellent sea views. As I’m sure you understand during peak season we are very busy and car parking spaces are limited, however should the car park be full, spaces are often available on the Esplanade free of charge and our reception team are willing to help guide guests to the closest available parking. Your comments regarding the meals you enjoyed at the hotel have been passed onto the chefs and receiving comments like these is very motivational. We are pleased to read that you will definitely visit again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here between the 19th and 22nd July.
The room was clean but small, breakfast was really nice and its only a 8 minute walk to the centre of Oban. The bar area is small and only open at certain times. Car park is very small so try and get there early to get a space. All the staff give exceptional service and are very pleasant. EE-USK is a great restaurant 10 minute walk from the hotel and Coasters is a really nice bar on the way.
The hotel has the feel of a top class B+B rather than a big chain hotel, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not next door to the lift as you can here it we were in room 45 and that was quite noisey when the lift was being used.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that your enjoyed your break in Oban. Cleanliness and the exceptional service of our staff are aspects that we pride ourselves on and your lovely comments have been passed onto the team. BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel is privately owned and run so we are pleased that you did not feel like you stayed in a large chain hotel. The hotel has achieved 4 star status with both The AA and Visit Scotland, and we aspire to provide individual service to every guest that stays. Thank you once again for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

First of all we are US citizens who like to vacation in UK, Scotland sometimes. My wife is a Dual citizen. She was born and raised in the UK in near Essex.. She has a Lloyds of London savings and checking account.. She specifically asked if she could use her UK checking account to pay for the hotel..over the phone in Jan of 2012 they said no problem. So there we were in Oban in Early July of 2012 and were told they did not take checks.. We asked to see a manager and were yelled at screamed and basically told they my wive was a lieing.. NEVER do they allow checks. I was about to leave for another hotel but my wife liked the view and asked if there was a Lloyds bank in Oban so off we went to get the cash to pay these horrible people.... We paid in full.. They offered NO apology NOTHING.. Had the GALL to ask if we wanted to reserve for dinner.. Thats a laugh.. We made a point of not spending one more dime in that place.. Also the condition of the room was poor.. They had NOT properly serviced it before we arrived hardly any TP.. Then my wife got a spinter in the room.. no sewing kit in the room.. NO sewing kit or needles at the desk... I asked if they had a first aide kit.. they did a metal diaper pin was used by me to extract the splinter. Avoid this place like the plague...

Room Tip: Stay in the Hotel next door
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to put your thoughts on Trip Advisor. All customer feedback is taken extremely seriously. However, it is clear that there was a serious miscommunication during your booking telephone call. During your check-in we kept attempting to explain that the hotel does not accept cheque payments upon arrival, and in fact has not done so for some years now. We did apologise profusely to you at the time and were willing to release you from the contractual obligation to pay for your accommodation, whether you stayed or not. We were quiet and professional at all times during what was admittedly an unpleasant experience for you and my staff. Once again we are sorry about the miscommunication. As you know you were dealing with the manager druing your check-in, hence it was not possible to produce another one. At no point did we accuse you of lying or indeed insinuate this. We had hoped that we could turn around an unpleasant arrival into an enjoyable stay (as we said to you at the time) obviously we did not succeed. Consequently please accept our apologies for the miscommunication. Thank you again for placing a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews