We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Oban is a firm favourite with my family and when we go to stay there the Queen's Hotel is our first choice. It's located right on the sea front, a five minute stroll away from the center of town. Oban is one of those towns where even that short distance means it is very quiet at night. The staff are friendly and competent and will be able to give tips on things to do in the local area.
If I have any criticism it would be that parking is very limited, however since there is free parking just across the road that is not much of a hardship. Unfortunately this is not a wheelchair-friendly hotel, as the lift is on the second floor and since it is an old building the hallways are quite narrow.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are welcoming, the rates are reasonable, the views are stunning, and the restaurant... the restaurant is phenomenal. I've written a separate review for it, but I would stay at this hotel just for the food even if the rest of it wasn't so nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. It is always very motivating to read positive comments regarding the hotel and we would like to thank you for these. The staff here are all passionate about our local area and we are pleased that they could pass on their favourite things to do to yourselves. Word of mouth is always the best recommendation! Unfortunately, as you point out, the hotel is not wheelchair friendly due to the age of the hotel and there is limited on site parking. Parking on the Esplanade is free and unrestricted and there are public car parks approximately 400 yards away that offer free parking overnight. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our 1AA rosette Glen Campa Restaurant and thank you for the review on Trip Advisor for the restaurant. Thank you once again for your comments on Trip Advisor and please do not hesitate to contact us if you are visiting Oban in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    317
    175
    74
    34
See reviews for
124
486
45
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Manager was very helpful . Staff is very friendly. Great locationon the sea front .Rooms are great with heated towel rail and Jacuzzi- good for the Scottish mist and cooler temps in september.
Best surprise was the food - french chef beautiful presentation and delicious- a real treat after several days of very bland Scottish restaurant food
Will stay there on our next trip

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnugent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor and for your wonderful comments. The Glen Campa Restaurant has recently achieved 1AA rosette in culinary excellence and we are very proud of both our French Head Chef and his team. We are pleased to read your comments about the rest of the hotel too and are pleased that you made use of the spa bath facilities in your bathroom. Its certainly is a treat on the cooler evenings. We hope you had a safe journey home to Canada and if you are ever on the west coast of Scotland please do not hesitate to contact us for accommodation. Thank you once again for your positive comments on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Having booked our rooms AND a disabled parking space, we were rather taken aback upon booking in to be told that there were 14 steps up to the lift and then found our rooms to be as far from Reception and the front door as it was possible to be! I wouldn't have thought it would have taken a lot of thought to realise that perhaps this wasn't the most convenient of locations for us! We have also had warmer welcomes to a hotel. We felt we were rather an inconvenience to the young receptionist, although having said that other reception staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was an 'interesting' experience - why can hotels never get breakfast right? Our first and third breakfasts were fine, as they were cooked to order by the kitchen. However, on our second morning - because there were enough residents to warrant a buffet style hot breakfast - it was made completely inedible because of stone cold plates. Why is there no plate warmer?! The food itself was good quality and tasty, but by the time we got back to our table was stone cold!

I had a double room, which was clearly a twin room with two single beds pushed together, which meant I had a double electric socket in the middle of my headboard - I would be interest to know what 'health & safety' would make of that?!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FenDiva68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for leaving a review of our property on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies that your stay at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel did not exceed your expectations. We do try to inform all guests when booking that there are 14 stairs before you can access any of the bedroom, please accept our apologies that this had not been made clear to you. Unfortunately the Standard rooms which benefit from sea views do require more of a walk, however we could have moved you into a closer room had you advised us at the time. The rooms that are in the main Victorian building are Superior Sea View rooms and although are closer to reception and the front door they are up a second staircase. Please also accept our apologies in regard to breakfast on your second morning. As we don’t have a plate warmer we try to ensure only a few plates are brought out of the hot plate at a time. This is an issue that we are currently looking in to. Should you wish to stay with us again please call the hotel directly and we will endeavour to find a suitable solution. Thank you for bring these points to our attention and your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Had a lovely break of three nights at the Queen Hotel in Oban and it was fantastic, good accomodation, for the solo traveller. Lovely meals, friendly staff and a good base from which to explore the highlands and islands.

Room Tip: Parking is better through the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor and for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel a good base point for exploring the local area and that the staff and food were well received after a long day exploring. Should you want to explore the beautiful Highlands and Western Isles further please do not hesitate to contact us in regards to your accommodation. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff, good food, great views. We had eaten here on a previous visit three years ago and been very pleased. That is why we chose the hotel for this stay. We should have booked for more nights!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are excellent, overlooking Oban Harbour and Kerrera
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for leaving such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that a meal here 3 years ago encouraged you to book and stay with ourselves and that we didn’t disappoint! Thank you once again for your comments on Trip Advisor and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here 25th August 2012. At £140 a night we expected that every aspect of the hotel would be great. The room was OK - clean and adequate for our needs, and the jaccuzi bath was a welcome feature. There was nothing to rave about when describing the room - it was an average hotel room at a higher than average price. The walls were thin which means the TV in the next door room was audible through the wall.
Breakfast was poor. Buffet style. The hot food was most unappealing and appeared to have been to be sitting there for some time. Bacon and sausages were undercooked and un-appetising looking. We ordered poached eggs which eventually arrived alone and on cold plates and we had to used the thin, cold toast which had been deposited on our table when we sat down.
Perhaps this is why they ask for payment on arrival rather than on departure - had this been the case we may have reduced the fee accordingley.

Room Tip: Not worth the price paid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank North_Starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. We regularly check our prices against other hotels in the area and price ourselves accordingly. Please accept our apologies that the breakfast did not reach your expectations. Your comments have been passed on to the chefs and also the restaurant team and efforts have been made to ensure that food is regularly topped up and that fresh toast is provided with poached eggs. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spa bath feature in the bathroom of your room. Having a relaxing spa bath is a lovely treat after a long day of exploring our beautiful surroundings. Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Everything spotless, staff friendly. Excellent location with nice view. breakfast very good. Interested in you and happy to help. good bed and nice bathroom. Reasonable value in high season and had all facilities that I expected or required.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. It is great to read comments such as yours that appreciate the high standards that we uphold. The staff we have are hard working but can always make time to talk to guests and assist where possible. We are glad that you felt that this was the case on your visit. We price ourselves competitively within the Oban market and feel that the price for our rooms is reasonable considering the benefits that come with staying in a 4 star fully serviced hotel. Thank you once again for your comments on Trip Advisor and please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish to rebook in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing