We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at the Queens hotel for two night in May. The room was clean but small. Breakfast was adequate. The parking is very limited and we had to park a good distance from the hotel in the rain. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    317
    175
    74
    34
See reviews for
124
486
45
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights (21 & 22nd June) at the Queens Hotel in Oban and was very disappointed. On first night we arrived back at the hotel at 23.10 to have a nightcap before going to bed and was told that they don't have a resident's licence so we had to retire without our nightcap. On the second night we went back earlier owing to the rain and ordered brandy and ice. The barman then put lemonade in one and when he was told we hadn't asked for lemonade the barman shrugged and told us that they had no more brandy. Another couple could only get a bottle of lager as they had none on tap and that was the last of the bottles. At 10.45 when we asked for another drink the barman said that he had already told us that the bar was closing - what an attitude!!! We have stayed at better 3 star hotels. Also the pressure of water in shower was pitiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junetorrance77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

visited oban for two days, 21st /22nd june. Stayed at the best western the queens hotel. A truly wonderful hotel experience. the room [no 36 ] was clean, spacious, it was a double, and was everything i expected. the staff were curtious and well trained . I would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilocremitrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Queens Hotel in June 2013 while touring the Highlands. The rooms were clean, our sea view was exceptional and the breakfast buffet was OK. Carrying our luggage up/down the stairs was our major complaint. The morning of check out my husband missed the last step while navigating a large suitcase and fell. He was not injured, but a scary experience none the less. The hotel seemed to be under staffed as well. The bartender was making drinks, taking food orders, running food from the kitchen and cleaning tables. The computer provided for guests was not operational for 2 days even after multiple notifications.
Another party traveling with us requested a wake up call for 3 days and never got a single call.
Just an OK experience..not sure I would book again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sgigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

If you are an American who expects things to be just like America when you travel abroad...leave that notion at home or you will be constantly unhappy. I preface my remarks about Queens Hotel with that disclaimer because folks in Scotland see things a bit diffrently than Americans do. You will find that if you are expecting a "lift" or elevator, you will not find it until you climb a rather long flight of stairs. If you have physical empairments or a ton of luggage, this may not work out for you. You will find that most hotels, especially in Oban, are in quite old buildings with their own unique limitations to overcome. That being said, you will also find that the service is top flight, the rooms are clean and comfortable and have all the things you will expect in a hotel. We were fortunate and were given a wonderful room with a magnificent view of Oban Bay. It's particularly thrilling when you see the ferry that runs between Oban and the Isle of Mull swing right at your hotel and the seawall across the street from it on its way back to port. Full breakfasts, included in the price of your room if you choose, are amazing. They have a little of everything. If you like to walk, it is only about a 10 or 15 minute walk into town and if not, there is a bus and plenty of taxis. This was a quite satisfactory place to hang your hat for a while.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sejcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were only here for a night as we were catching a ferry to the Outer Hebrides the following afternoon, but we were very impressed by the young jolly fellow at the reception desk and how welcoming and helpful he was to us both. The dining experience was a bit strange as it was quite formal and maybe trying to be too upmarket in style when the place really needed a more country style and relaxed dining experience to go with the location. Otherwise a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

An excellent hotel in a great location. All the staff were friendly and efficient. The food is excellent in both restaurant and grill bar. The entire hotel had an excellent standard of upkeep. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing