We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with stunning views. Best Food in Oban.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    317
    175
    74
    34
See reviews for
124
486
45
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Back again, you know you are paying for the view but we went for a suite this time and you were treated extremely well! Private parking space, fruit, binoculars! It was a treat and once again we enjoyed it, you don't go three times to the same hotel if you don't! Staff friendly and it was a treat.

Room Tip: Must have room with a view over the bay. The suite was really nice, great space and what a way to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielF696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in oban , part of breaking our tour of the Highlands and chose to stay in a much cheaper place (which was fine) bur decided to trest ourselves to a slightly better dining experience by booking at The Queens. Well, what a surprise! From the moment we arrived (in nothing better than clean walking gear) we were treated like old friends , and royal ones at that. Staff from reception to everyone who had a role in the dining room were a delight. But the food. ... wow.....without being obsessive we like to treat ourselves to the occasional fine dining experience and without meaning to we stumbled upon one of our finest ...at a price which could have been another £100 and we might not have quibbled. Scallops and beef cooked to perfection and with such flair .... and the most gorgeous little cheese plate. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaCasement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were blessed with beautiful weather when we stayed here which made the holiday even more memorable! My elderly father and son both loved the hotel with all our age groups catered for. We booked half board but preferred eating in the bar than the restaurant as my 17 year old son preferred bigger portions, the food was fantastic! Breakfast was also generous and fresh. The staff were attentive and friendly and added a personal touch. Beautiful venue the rooms were clean and adequate and if back in Oban we would choose this hotel again

Room Tip: I had a room with a view to the front. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerpuff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I along with lifelong friends/couple arranged a weekend trip to Oban, early September.
We travelled to Oban by train and the hotel was within walking distance so obviously the ladies hired a taxi.
The welcoming staff are very friendly courteous and helpful. The hotel has an annex to the rear and this is where we stayed. The room is tastefully and freshly decorated, the bathrooms are very clean. We had a room with lovely views across the bay.
The stay was very relaxing and whenever we wanted service, the hotel staff were excellent.
We opted to eat elsewhere at night.
The breakfast is buffet style and plentiful. There is an extensive choice of cereals, fruit, juices, toast, tea/coffee, hot food and jams etc. There is no urgency or rushing around, the staff are obviously well experienced in catering.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowGuitarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Last night we had a great meal in the dining room of the restaurant looking out over the harbour.
The food was wonderful; unusual but delicious flavours. Very creative cuisine from a top chef. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My main gripe is the cost of the accommodation. I struggled to find other better hotels which had rooms available so reluctantly paid £140 for a double room for one night. Room was ok but no minibar , no safe and there is virtually no soundproofing so everything can be heard. I have stayed in 5 star hotels in Glasgow for a lot less than I paid here. Reception was disorganised and staff a bit diffident. Cannot recommend unless in an emergency. It is also a good 10 minute walk from the centre. Disappointed, Feel ripped-off,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowPopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. The team and I are very disappointed by your comments. Our prices are benchmarked constantly against other properties within the town of Oban and we frequently undercut local 3 star properties. Prices in the beautiful town of Oban are higher than you may have expected, as we are not blessed with year round business, like big accessible cities. In high season the prices may seem to you to be high, but we feel remain good value for a 4 star property in a stunning location in this town. Oban is not a large place - it takes about 15 minutes to cover one end of the town centre to the other. We are blessed with a beautiful quiet seafront location still only 5 minutes from the shops of the town centre. The hospitality team here normally pride themselves on offering warm and helpful service, we will be reminding them to keep up high standards, despite being extremely busy as we approach the end of our summer season. We apologise for not meeting your expectations. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,674 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
778 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing