We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip to Oban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Road trip to Oban”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to oban as part of a road trip. We stayed 3 nights at the queens hotel in oban. Our room 44 had a great panoramic sea view and a spa bath. The room was spotlessly clean and a decent size. King size bed lovely and comfy. The weather was a bit on the wet and windy side so we decided to eat in the hotel every night after our day trips out. The bar grill menu has a good enough selection for everyone with daily specials and catch of the day all at reasonable prices. We did not dine in the restaurant as it was not to our taste but judging by the residents smiling faces I can assume it is top notch. The breakfasts are great with plenty of choice. All staffed to high degree of professionalism mixed with warmth and friendliness.Craig in the bar stood out as very good at his job. My wife and I highly recommend queens hotel Oban and can't wait to return

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lee19675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

We are glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at the queens and I will gladly pass on your kind comments about the food and service to the hotel team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    330
    185
    76
    34
See reviews for
128
507
49
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

She says:- the hotel is nice enough, booked through late rooms and a reasonable rate for B&B. Enormous bed and clean and tidy bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Toiletries provided and tea and coffee, hairdryer and little telly. Room 23 has a bit of a sea view but mostly of the back of the hotel really. The star here is the AMAZING Restaurant. Apparently been open for a week or so but the cheff Gary Goldie presented us with each of our dishes in turn and told us about where the ingredients were sourced or indeed foraged by himself. Despite the menu not looking that enticing it tasted fabulous. And had extra dishes from the five course menu detailed. I really can't recommend this place enough and am a little sad that we were the only diners tonight! This place deserves to be packed!
He says:- menu looked unappetising, flowers, mushrooms and other associated foraged food, but the food was amazing. You have to try it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service at the Queens. Gary Goldie’s food is exceptional and I will pass your kind comments on to him and the rest of the hotel staff.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A nice hotel on the sea front just 10 minutes walk to the shops & restaurants. All staff extremely helpful & friendly. Hotel is immaculate & well presented. Our sea view room was lovely & the jacuzzi bath a treat!

Only slight disappointment was our room struggled to access the free wifi but great connection in other parts of the hotel.

Would happily return.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room with amazing views whilst lying in bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksa192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Queens. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your Jacuzzi bath. The views are amazing and you never get tired of them.

Hopefully you will return soon for another break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Small rooms with very little drawer or shelf space. A bit pricey for what was on offer. Very little choice on the dinner menu.
Plusses, spotlessly clean, staff very friendly room although small was well kitted out, very clean with a very well stocked en suite. In conclusion if the menu could be better presented with more choices and more drawer and shelf space in room it would be rated much higher. Food was excellent, breakfast really very good and staff were exceptional.

Room Tip: Go for sea view with spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
I am sorry to read that you felt the rooms were small with very little drawer space.

The restaurant has a five course set menu prepared by Scottish Chef of the Year 2011 Gary Goldie and is receiving an incredible amount of praise for the quality and standard for the dishes he prepares.

The Queens Bar and Grill has also an excellent menu with seven starters, seven main courses and the specials board which usually has about five extra dishes on it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We visited this hotel in Feb 14 as a couple on a weekend break.
The rooms were newly decorated, fresh, well equipped, comfortable and warm with all mod cons.
The staff were attentive, friendly and extremely helpful.
The breakfast was plentiful, fresh and local produce. there was exception choice and the staff strived to meet your every needs.
We ate in the restaurant with again all local produce tasty, first class eating. One of the best meals we have had in along time.
This hotel is situated on the sea front within minutes walk to Corran Halls and shopping. Easy access to all amenities.
Would highly recommend a visit and we will definitely stay again.
Many thanks to all the wonderful staff for a warm welcome and looking after us so well.
Susanne and Frankie

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

Many thanks for your nice comments about the hotel, food and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel we chose because it is a Best Western, and a familiar name to us in Canada.
It was very clean and enjoyable, the view was beautiful and it captured the culture that we were looking for. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trukkersdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

Many thanks for your nice comments about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were 5 adults and 2 children, all family, who stayed at this convenient, comfortable and cost-effective hotel in lovely Oban. Rooms were more than adequate and spotless. Breakfast was really good with personal attention as to how one likes their eggs cooked! The staff were very friendly and couldn't help us enough to make our stay pleasurable. More than that, one of the children got sick, messing up the room somewhat, the staff could not have been better in their assistance, reassurance and understanding of the situation. Thank you staff of "The Queens" for a very friendly and caring experience at your hotel.

Brendan from Ireland.

Room Tip: Front of house has the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

Many thanks for your kind comments. I will pass on your thanks to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,727 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
48 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Property: Best Western The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing