We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cumbrians on Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cumbrians on Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great hotel with friendly staff in every department. When was the last time you found that the lady cleaning the room, ran to obtain a bath mat. She ran to the next floor and back. We heard her footsteps. It was typical of the great service provided. Enjoy Gary's Food, a great experience and delight. Just beware the hot water is very very hot, but there is no shortage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNHD863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you for a stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    317
    175
    74
    34
See reviews for
124
486
45
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night at the Queens Hotel having been in Oban for a friends wedding the previous 3 nights.

Since it was out last night without friends we decided to spend a night at the hotel. We booked the Queen Mary Suite which was excellent, beautiful views of the bay and a super king size bed. The lounge part of the suite was nicely furnished, our only complaint would be the mini bar wasnt stocked, but only a minor point.

We ate out so cannot comment on dinner or bar meals.

Breakfast however was a disappointment. Sadly the waiting staff made the hotel look more like Faulty Towers, than the Queens Hotel. We were shown a seat and offered toast, which arrived at the end of our breakfast. We werent informed about the menu you could order from, which was a shame because the cooked breakfast buffet was beyond disappointing. Such a shame because the reception and bar staff were so friendly and welcoming!

The hotel is lovely, but have breakfast in one of the nice cafes 5 minutes along the road. We paid £170 for one night, would recommend it if it was cheaper. Over priced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nealcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
I can only apologise that you never received you toast until the end of your breakfast. We cannot understand, however, that you did not rate our lovely Scottish Hot and Cold Buffet breakfast. We offer a wide variety of hot and cold beautiful locally sourced quality items. We are sorry that this did not meet your expectations. Menus are also on all of the tables offering items such a kippers etc.
Your comment comparing the hotel to Fawlty Towers is totally unfounded and might I point out that no other guests had issue with breakfast on the morning concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel. All members of staff were friendly and courteous, and the service was excellent without being intrusive. The food throughout our stay was excellent, and if you enjoy fine dining this is the place for you. But you can also have Bar meals, which are of a high standard.
The rooms are not huge but perfectly adequate, and the entire hotel is immaculately clean.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service at the Queens.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I have just had the most amazing food experience courtesy of Gary Goldie, talented young chef and his team in the restaurant. Absolutely do not miss the opportunity to dine here.....if you love and appreciate good local produce you will love it. Absolutely 10 out of 10 can't wait to go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

The restaurant has a six course set menu prepared by Scottish Chef of the Year 2011 Gary Goldie and is receiving an incredible amount of praise for the quality and standard for the dishes he prepares.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff. A previous reviewer had cited lack of car parking so we arrived before the 15.00 check-in time and grabbed a spot in the small car park. Restaurant menu was a bit too "foodie" for us, so we ate in the bar. the meal was very good indeed and the bar staff excellent. The buffet brekky was ok, but I would have liked to have seen more choice. Overall we were impressed and we'd defo stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

Many thanks for your nice comments about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was brilliant. The best service, the best rooms, the best staff & the best food. Well worth having a stay here & beautiful rooms, beautiful views & close to everything. Parking at the hotel was easy. We particularly enjoyed the extensive menu for dinner & breakfast was the full Scottish breakfast. It appears to have had a refurbishment & this made the rooms feel like new.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
Thank you for you lovely comments about your stay here at the Queens. I will pass on your kind words to all the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

One night in Oban! The hotel is nicely located with a great sea view. An overall pleasant stay but the management should consider to renovate the bedrooms and reception area. Friendly staff and good breakfast!

Room Tip: request a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and can assure that we have an ongoing refurbishment programme.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen’s in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing