We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$163
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$186
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$180
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$272
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
295
378
213
84
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
378
213
84
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathsea viewbuffet stylesea frontbar menulovely hotelparking is limitedhotel barmain buildingsingle roomcar parktown centrefirst floorhotel is situatedkippersstreet parkingnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for two nights on the May Day Bank Holiday weekend. Facing a 330 mile drive to the hotel and an evening arrival we phoned in advance and asked if the Reception staff would be kind enough to reserve us a parking place in the small hotel car park - no such luck - first come first served apparently - no exceptions! As predicted when we arrived at 8pm in the rain the hotel car park was full and as we pulled up at the reception entrance in the car park merely to unload our cases and save ourselves a 400 metre trek with all our belongings, the hotel duty receptionist rushed out to tell us in no uncertain manner that we couldn't park there. Great welcome - thank you so much - hotel management please note staff training issue in "first impressions count" and how to welcome your guests. Eventually the receptionist found us a place to park near the hotel on the main road but only after we argued the point. As to the hotel, the allocated room was pleasant, with modern amenities, large bed, double glazing, flat screen tv and a good sea view. The breakfast was an adequate hot buffet but had a very limited alternative healthy fruit option and no yoghurt available. The bar food in the evening was decent and prices reasonable. Overall the dining room and bar staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel has been recently renovated and has a good location on the seafront overlooking Oban Bay. For what we paid at £130 per night B and B it is definitely overpriced for what it offers. Absolutely average at best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsearcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We advise all guests that the car park is very limited and is on a first come first served basis. The receptionist actually came out to assist in finding a parking place and I am sorry that you feel he was unwelcoming.
I am also sorry to read that you did not rate our lovely Scottish Hot and Cold Buffet breakfast. We offer a wide variety of hot and cold beautiful locally sourced quality items. We are sorry that this did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I didn't stay in the hotel but I ate two nights running in their fine dining restaurant. It was indeed fine dining, like no other I have ever experienced. Over the two evenings I ate all sorts of herbs, leaves and flowers combined with various local produce including crab,langoustines ,lamb,guinea fowl and so much more. Gary Goldie produced an amazing mouth watering menu. It was indeed an artist at work. The flavours were just awesome. I was completely blown away by the whole experience. Borsi the waitress was just delightful as were all the other staff. To have this quality of food at these prices is just amazing. I will be back often.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service at the Queens. Gary Goldie’s food is exceptional and I will pass your kind comments on to him and the rest of the hotel staff.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Enjoyed an overnight stay while touring with friends. On arrival, we received a warm welcome & were directed to our rooms which were located in a second, more modern, building to the rear of the original (Victorian?) hotel; they are linked by an enclosed corridor up a short staircase from the lounge area.
This building contains the 'standard' rooms and while the upper floors are served by a lift, they would be unsuitable for any wheelchair users.
The rooms are of a good size and the bathroom seemed very recently modernised with all new fittings, with a shower over the whirlpool bath. My room was spotless, as were the public areas in general. Floorboards seemed a bit creaky. Although I was on the second floor, there was only a limited view of the sea-front and indeed, the majority of rooms have a view only of the rear of the main hotel and its service/delivery area.
We decided to "dine in" at their Glen Campa restaurant, with its a la carte menu (although there is a bar menu available, as well.) However, during our stay, they were offering a 'fine dining' option of three or six courses, of locally-sourced and -scavenged (sorry, -foraged) ingredients, for a keenly-priced £30 & £35, respectively. (The three-course option enjoys larger portions.)
Notwithstanding the abbreviated descriptions on this ever-changing menu, we decided it was worth a punt, and were not disappointed! Starting with a selection of tempting hors d'oeuvres served in the lounge, we were then shown into the main restaurant with a good view out towards Kerrera, across the Sound.
Then the first of the six courses started to arrive, served by attentive and knowledgeable staff - plus our Head Chef for two courses - and the different ingredients, tastes, flavours and overall presentation were quite exceptional! I may have lost count, but I think an additional course was dropped in somewhere along the line. Stand-out courses for me included local crab, and lamb.
Admittedly, this sort of meal may not suit everyone's taste - I confess to being more of a 'meat & two veg' man myself but, having eaten at Andrew Fairlie's, the Glen Campa pretty much achieved similar culinary standards to my mind. For that "special" occasion, this currently represents exceptional value.
Given the size of the hotel (c.40+ rooms), I was surprised at the surprisingly small on-site parking for perhaps 10 vehicles. There is parking on the promenade but this is shared with numerous other neighbouring hotels/B&Bs, so something to consider at peak times.

Room Tip: Main building enjoys panoramic sea views towards Kerrera & Mull, but requires room upgrade away from standard rooms in secondary building.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
Thank you for you lovely comments about your dining experience here at the Queen’s.
The restaurant has a six course set menu prepared by Scottish Chef of the Year 2011 Gary Goldie and is receiving an incredible amount of praise for the quality and standard for the dishes he prepares.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room was quite small, with no view, and the breakfast was far away from the standards we have found in other places in the Highlands. Parking area is also very narrow. bar is also very small. Personell is however kind and warm. wi-fi connection does not work in the room. A PC is available for common use, but the screen is broken, and the upadated version of the programs is about 10 years old (the PC did not recogniesed PDF formats!) In other words, the whole service is below acceptable standards in relation to the price paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paolopaolo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
I am sorry that the hotel and facilities did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just had a great weekend stay at this hotel. Room was excellent, clean and tidy with blackout curtains and a great sea view. Only downside was noises from the room above us could be heard quite clearly and as I'm a light sleeper this woke me a few times. Breakfast was amazing, definitely first class. Would 100% stay here again though may request a different room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

I am sorry you disturbed by other guests during the night.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews