We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Best Western and definitely not 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband booked a trip up to Oban for a treat for me as I was desperate to see some of the Scottish Islands. He booked this Hotel as it looked really lovely. He had an option to request early check in and late check out so went for that option. On arrival our room was not ready even though we arrived well after the early check in time. We didn't have to wait too long but not a good first impression. We asked for an early breakfast as our boat trip was leaving at 07.45. We were told that was ok but would not have any hot food. Not really good enough for a 4 star hotel. Room was ok, sea view comparable to a premier Inn, pretty much the norm.
Following morning went for breakfast with around 8 other early starters to be given a very poor choice of food. Hot toast and cereals/fruit. Shockingly bad. After our return from our day out we asked what time the late checkout would be. We had a very curt answer from one of the management saying late check out was not available as they were far too busy and needed us out as soon as possible. Not good enough.
So....... This morning after another poor breakfast, (food not being replaced by earlier diners eg fresh fruit and yogurt) enough choice but not freshly cooked, and having to ask for milk for coffee and butter for the toast we decided to speak to the manager. He was not available. Spoke to the receptionist who tried to defend the hotel as much as he could but said he would pass this onto the manager. I was very polite, I don't like to cause a scene.
Went to check out....... This is the part that was an absolute disgrace, the Manager had already taken the money from our credit card £280 (we'd left details of card at reception for any extra's we may have wanted) without asking if that was the card we wished to pay on and without us being present to chip and pin or sign for. Is that even legal? He was obviously worried we wouldn't pay the full amount!,, His attitude was appalling. He asked what I was complaining about and as I started to explain the phone rang, he answered the phone rather than listen to my explanation. How rude. No wonder the hotel fails in this and other reviews with a manager with such an arrogant manner.
I told him that as the hotel encourages you to write reviews on Trip advisor I would be doing that! So here it is. All I would have liked was a sincere apology, I didn't ask for money off or make any demands, I was simply and politely pointing out a few things that could be improved and that should be there for £140 a night.
I would not recommend this hotel but maybe with new management it will improve!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HarrietVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Reasonably good hotel. Clean and comfortable. Nice bar and restaurant. Breakfast was good. Very limited parking is first come, first served. Good view from some rooms. Lots of steps to negotiate for most rooms. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel has a good position, is clean and has comfortable beds. The staff need to work on their customer service to make it easier for customers to deal with the rabbit warren of corridors and a myriad of doors to lug cases through.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank 167kristak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on 4th june, and i must say it is lovely, we took our dog and i was given a lo floor room so we could take the dog out of the fire exit for a 'wee' if needed. they said we could take any food we ate into the lounge if we didnt want to leave our dog in the room, which i though was nice (especially as our old dog gets frightened ) ,there are some nice touches to add to an enjoyable stay and one of them is the spa bath with mood lighting , the beds are also very comfy and we had a view from the back of the building of the sea with caeldonian ferry passing every half an hour. The location is beautiful but as everyone keeps saying the parking can be a problem, however if you dont get parked in the car park, there are plenty of spaces on the promenade etc and its no hassle. The staff here are very friendly and the hotel is a good one i would def stay here again. The price could be lower though as booking .com offered a price £30 lower on the day and i thought it was only worth about £100 per night at the most, i think £155 with the dog was too steep.This hotel is very dog friendly and there are not many of these to be had.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front are sea view but no doubt will cost more..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyboopaloo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for a few nights and while we enjoyed our time at the hotel, there were a few drawbacks. We were lucky to have one of the last remaining parking spaces, but we knew ahead of time that it would be limited. The parking on the street across from the hotel was already quite full. We left our car during our entire stay and just walked about town. The ferry terminal was at the other end of the esplanade, perhaps a 15 minute walk, but it was enjoyable to stroll along the waterfront, even with a little rain.

Check-in was efficient and the male receptionist was quite pleasant and helpful. The foyer is very small, somewhat unappealing, and gets a little crowded when standing at the office with various pieces of luggage around. From the foyer, you go through another dooway which can either lead to the bar area or a sitting area w/ several couches and chairs (including a few by the front windows, offering a beautiful bay view).

To get to the rooms, you need to go through another closed door, which can be difficult if you are trying to maneuver luggage at the same time. I'm sure if there had been a staff member around, they would have assisted. There are no elevators for the front, older, bay-view part of the building, but the newer annex in the back does have them. If you are in the front section, it is difficult to haul suitcases up the stairs, but again, I'm sure we could have had staff assistance.

Our room had a gorgeous bay view and we could watch the ferries come and go. It was almost as if we could touch them, they seemed so close! The clean room had a desk, armoire, two nightstands, and a king bed. There were also two overstuffed leather chairs in front of the bay window, so it was enjoyable to sit and enjoy the sea views. Due to all the furniture and bed size, the room was quite cramped. In fact, it took us a while to even figure out where to put our two suitcases. It was a little worrisome at night that we would run into a piece of furniture on our way to the bathroom. The bathroom was very narrow and the shower unit was in the bathtub. With no safety mat in the tub, and the sides being very high, we felt a little unsteady every time we had to step into the tub/shower unit. The sink was a small, older model and there wasn't any room to put our toiletries above it, but you could set them on the small area in front of the adjoining bathroom window.

The dining/breakfast area is off the main floor sitting area. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but did have the breakfast buffet each day. The food options were plentiful, tasted fine, and the staff quite attentive. We ordered drinks from the bar each evening and carried them into the sitting room and enjoyed sitting around in the comfy furniture, discussing our day and future plans.

We liked the staff at this hotel, and the location was perfect---not right in the busiest/noisiest part of the town, but definitely close enough to walk to shops, restaurants, and the ferry. We would probably stay here again, but next time would ask for a larger room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen’s in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

By far the worst hotel i've ever been at. The courtains are so thin that is impossible to sleep with so much brightness. In case you have other rooms above, just forget...every step they take, is like an earthquake in your room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms with nice appointments. Made reservation through phone,same day and was ready within hours, desk staff helped to find parking which was a bit crowded at our late arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Queens.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen’s in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £65 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing