We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$180
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$273
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
295
378
213
84
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
378
213
84
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathsea viewbuffet stylesea frontbar menulovely hotelparking is limitedhotel barmain buildingsingle roomcar parktown centrefirst floorhotel is situatedkippersstreet parkingnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The room we had was on the small side, it had two Chesterfield armchairs which made the room even smaller. They were tres comfortable and we could watch the world of Oban pass by, eeven th "isle of Mull" ferry seemed so close you could touch it. Breakfast could set you up for the day! I can suggest the smoked haddock, with poached eggs and bacon, the sausages etc were also very good.Dinner in the bar means the local fish 7 chips. Batter is CRISP and the fish perfectly cooked,the chips at first look almost burnt,but they are not, they are crisp on the outside and soft and fluffy inside. The Restaurant menu I found dissapointing. There was a lamb dish or a smoked haddock rissotto and a vegetarian tarte tatin.There are wee bits in the room, such as the switches for the heated towel rail are located under the table at ground level.
Really, you are paying for the sea view, if that is what you want, fine, if it's not, probably there is better value to be had.

Room Tip: Premium room with a sea view if that is what you want, but you pay for it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

An average hotel with a good location. Having stayed at Best Western hotels previously, the price of a room in Oban for a tiny single room seemed to be a bit excessive perhaps it was my expectation that was off. Certainly did not have the facilities I would normally expect from a Best Western Hotel. Parking is limited to 7-8 cars. but that seems to be the norm in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights whilst on business. Odd hotel with a strange sense of what guest hospitality is. This hotel appears to have been refirbished recently but unfortunately in places it still reminds you of a home for senior citizens. A single room was booked, but even so the room was small. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room but these are beside your bed on a table too small for the ease of use them. The walls/ceilings seem to be thin because you heard every noise from neighboring rooms (i.e. light switches, coughs and other wind related bodily functions). It reminded me of camping in tents where noises travel easily. My room had a good size en suite with shower, but some collegues in other rooms were lucky enought to have powered bubble baths. Unfortunately, if you are in a room beneath one of these it sounds like very noisy roadworks until they switch it off. Also of note, I pulled out the folding suitcase stand and found it to be quite rusty in places. Not a good impression.
Breakfast is reasonably good and buffet style with hot and cold choices. However, both mornings I found crockery still dripping wet with bits of food on from the previous day. In fact, one morning I had to discard the top three bowls because of food debris and the fourth was clean but had water in it, so had to clean it with a serviette before using it.
Was only given one small tube of shower gel that was left in the shower and not replenished for the second day.
The hotel bar shuts at 10.30pm (yes - 10.30!!) whatever our American cousins must think I do not know, but even for a Brit, this is early and there is no night porter service either.
Other than the aforementioned, the hotel was very clean and staff pleasant.
Paid £75 per night (B&B) which is a bit steep for a single room, but hotels in Oban have a captive audience and most hotels in this town are not great. Would only stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After a trip that took us from Bothwell to Inverness, down Loch Ness to within about 4 miles of Oban, our destination, we were unable to get into Oban itself.

Sadly there had been a tragic road traffic collision where lives were lost, and our sympathy goes out to the families of those involved.

We eventually got through the now cleared road after ten o'clock, having chosen a restaurant nearby, where the staff were over stretched, partly due to employees from Oban being unable to get past the scene of the collision too.

We actually ended up at the Queens Hotel, not by our design, but by that of Sharon at the Oban Bay Hotel, where our original booking had been. There had been a plumbing fault that had water damaged our rooms there.

Our friends from Mississippi, together with us, were directed to the Queens, where we had been booked into the two suites at the top of the front of the hotel. These rooms were lovely, with views across Oban Bay in the sitting room, and a separate bedroom to the rear.

Sharon had told us that we could still take our meals at The Oban Bay Hotel, and remain at The Queens, which proved to be more convenient.

However, the suites were not available for our second night's stay, and we had to take another two rooms. Ours was room 35, which is in an annex at the rear of the hotel. Though a nice room in itself, we would definitely not take this room again, if offered the choice. I think that rooms 15, and 25 would be in the same category, as the lift shaft for the annex is effectively part of the corner of the room near the bed.

I have to admit that there wasn't a constant flow of users for the lift, but it was annoying when it was in use. In the morning too, as people were heading to breakfast.

Breakfast was very nice with cereal, and hot food in a buffet style, and the staff were very helpful, and sympathetic to our situation.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in Oban, with the proviso that these rooms mentioned above are given a wide berth.

Room Tip: If you can afford, and get one of the suites, Queen Mary or Queen Victoria at the top front of the hotel, (stairs only in this part of the hotel, no lift), they're great. Annex is fine except for that problem mentioned above.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews