We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Frontage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very pretty hotel at the front but my room was in the large purpose built block at the back. A rather ugly building accessed via stairs and a flyover passage before reaching the lift. The good news is that the hotel does have purpose built single rooms! A nice room with a relatively large shower room, all I required - clean and quiet.
On arrival the we had to pay one night in advance which was a little off putting - I can understand the reasoning but I prefer to be taken on trust! We did not eat in the hotel during the evening as there is so much choice in the town. Breakfast was more than adequate, exceptional bacon - the only down side - self service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This quiet Hotel is away from the noisy tourist area, yet within 10 Min. walk to the down town. Excellent service and accommodation. The restaurant was 5 star re food and service. Excellent Value. We would recommend this hotel highly. Even if you are not staying at this hotel I would recommend their restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank RetiredOrthopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The chef is everything that he is said to be-our evening meal was outstanding! Everything was superbly presented and well cooked in just the right proportions. The breakfast was also of high quality. Staff were pleasant and the hotel was impeccably clean throughout. Only issue was that despite saying in their information that food was available throughout the day infact it was not. The location of the hotel if you have a room with a sea view is breathtaking. We would without doubt return here

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank 178annie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

we booked this hotel after being let down by a guesthouse that just wasn't up to scratch but we were very pleased by the cleanliness and breakfasts staff were also very helpful especially the man on the front desk who was very helpful definately stay here again

Room Tip: rooms near the lift can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My trip plans changed so I found myself on a delayed ferry from Barra to Oban with nowhere to stay and booked the last single room at The Queens for that night - £80. I just made it by 11pm when their checking in closes.

Single room was on the smaller size but very big bathroom. Shower was great - really hot. Bed was comfy.

Access to rooms on second floor is by one set of stairs then 1 floor on the lift.

I would have liked slightly better tea, coffee and bathroom supplies for £80.

Morning receptionist was really nice and friendly.

Highlight was the breakfast - very good indeed cooked option, might want to offer a wee bit more in terms of continental choices.

Great location.

Pricier than I would normally pay and wasn't wooed but wasn't disappointed either - aside from the breakfast and the lady at reception - meh for me. Think it might suit couples more - not many younger folks staying there

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thank you Best Western Queen’s Hotel as you made our 30th anniversary celebration very memorable. Husband and I are Best Western members in the United States, and a 2 night stay at the Queen’s hotel in Oban was so memorable. We needed more time in Oban.

The rooms were spotless, amenities all intact. We did book early and do suggest the full breakfast option. Excellent! We also booked a room overlooking the Lorn and it really became a memorable stay. This is a wonderful town to explore. Do go up to the Dunnoille castle and explore the ruins. Oban has heart.

We don’t drink whiskey, but were curious so did order two samples of local whisky from the bar to take upstairs and sat in the wonderful chairs in the window. The sun does set at 11PM in the summer , so we did make use of the curtains . We did book the AM breakfast, and was not disappointed.

Big “Thank You” Mr. H. and the AM front office staff for their warm welcome and send off. If we could send other family members from ‘The States”, we would definitely recommend The Queen’s Hotel .

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room. You will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oceanview117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights- too many. It is in a nice location but that is all I can say to recommend it.The single room was smaller than the dorm room I had in university and with even less ambience. I think they converted some broom closets to be able to rent out more rooms.Hard to find room to open the suitcase, except on the bed.The bed was not comfortable, the shower was tiny but luckily so am I. The service ion the restaurant was extremely slow and poor. The food was good.
I would suggest you check out the hostel before booking a single room in this hotel.

Room Tip: DO not book a single room. Others I spoke too said the double rooms were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Donna165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £69 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing