We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable ,very clean ,lovely views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable ,very clean ,lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at The Queens Hotel on our recent tour of Scotland , upon arrival we were a little confused why we had to pay before we were given a room which is a little unusual .

However the room was spotless and very comfortable , the staff were friendly and helpful , this hotel is not in its first flush of youth and parts lack a little character but we would stay there again .

It's a short walk into the town centre maybe 10 minutes along the sea front , which on a summers evening was very pleasant .

Overall a nice experience .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    311
    173
    74
    34
See reviews for
121
475
44
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland was a great disappointment to us. Given the pictures on the booking site, it looked like we were booking into a top class modern hotel. Boy, were we wrong on that! Its an old hotel trying to look new and while the lounge and dining room might be 4 star, the upstairs/bedroom area is no more that 3 stars at best. All meals were excellent and respectfully served. The bedroom, and ours had a sea view, was old in feel and appearance and very average. There is no lift which means older people have to lift their cases up to and down from the bedroom. We were delayed by 45 minutes beyond the stated check-in time which did not go down well after a long drive. IWhen I booked this hotel, I had planned it to be the highlight of our 6 day Scottish stay, it wasn't. In fact it was the worst hotel experience we had in Scotland. We would not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Location is on the waterfront. The rooms we were in were in an attached building which was a short walk from the main building and up a rickety elevator. The rooms were basic but clean. Overall a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I contacted the hotel to ask for some details as my wife is disabled. The receptionist was very helpful and went away to check the details. The room was spacious and whilst tired looking was ideal for us. During our stay all of the staff were very friendly and helpful their care and cheerfulness really enhanced the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights,but dissappointed with the hotel,we were given a room at the back of the hotel which was basically a block of rooms only good thing was we had a view of Oban Bay,on the first night we ate in the hotel,the menu was not very exciting not much variety although what we had was good enough but not much of it.The breakfast in the morning had plenty of choice,pity it wasn't 'hot' on both mornings it was only warm.The rooms were clean and comfortable but in need of updating

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friday55scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

If I had to choose one word to sum up the queens it would be 'mediocre'.

I got a good nights sleep and the room was clean an functional but certainly not four star. No ironing board, no safe, no biscuits and the decor was a bit tired.

The scran was much better. Id say the menu was a bit limited with only 4 main courses to choose from. However I had fish and chips ftpm the bar menu which was truly excellent. Breakfast was also pretty decent.

I was staying at the hotel with work so didn't pick up the bill. Nevertheless, I thought £140 was a bit steep for a single room dinner and breakfast.

The decor in the public areas is a bit naff and its a shame best western have turned this beautiful Victorian building with its stunning views over oban bay into a hotel which feels like it could be anywhere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here and was charged £80 b&b and although more expensive than other hotels in Oban, I decided to stay here as it was a higher star grade and had free wifi throughout, which I would use for work stuff. I arrived at the hotel around 745pm after a 385 mile drive and couldn't get a space at the hotel to park my car and struggle to get a space on the road. I then found it surprising that they asked me to pay for my room at check in, where normally you pay on departure and I couldn't get my receipt for this payment until I left in the morning. I was told my room was room 7 and how disappointed was I. The room was tiny (cupboard) with a single bed stuck at against the walls without a headboard and it had a very small TV on the wall. To make things worse, I couldn't pick up their wifi in my room, although the hotel claim it is available throughout the hotel. If I walked further along the corridor from my room, the wifi could then be picked up but, again lost when I returned to my room. To be fair, the bar meal and breakfast food was good, although limited choice on the bar meal menu and I can't comment on the other bedrooms, as I never saw them. The hotel reception area, front of hotel, bar etc was very nice, I just feel that for £80, bedroom 7 was a joke and would only be worth £45 max. Even at checkout this morning, I wasn't asked how my stay was etc, or I would of mentioned how unhappy I was. I would stay somewhere else on my next visit to Oban as I wouldn't want the chance of a room like this again for the money that was being charged.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 7!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank garysgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing