We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame on management”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
scotland
1 review
“shame on management”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

i have just returned from a family reunion at the regent hotel oban. the staff were very helpful by changing our room to one with walk in shower. the food was ok but not all the items printed on party night menu were available. entertainment was average but not suitable for a christmas party night. entertainer was only booked till 10.30pm ?but when requested he played on for another hour and half for us. the oxford hotels brochure printed the party on the 8th dec was on till 1am with nibbles /munchies at 12 midnight never to happen. more than half the party crowd had left by 10pm to find entertainment elsewhere what a shame, a poor effort by regent hotel management and oxford hotels group by ruining a party night for so many people shame on you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jock1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor .
I was glad to read our team were able to change your room on your arrival ,Unfortunately due to the secretive nature of trip advisor, I cant access your booking without a name .however I believe that your booking was not a party night booking such as the one you refer to in the oxford brochure, The party nights are priced for dinner and entertainment only with “munchies at midnight “and are not part of a residential package .I would like to apologise if this is not the case but as mentioned before it is near impossible to locate your booking without a name or ref number .
I would also like to apologise if this was not conveyed to you at the time of booking or at the hotel .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    324
    237
    147
    127
See reviews for
112
518
55
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break in Oban and we stayed at the Regent Hotel. our room was situated in the red sandstone building adjacent to the "Art deco" part of the hotel overlooking the alleyway between buildings, I had requested a sea view on booking but was told on arrival that there were none available. This did not prove to matter as the windows were filthy and the daught emmanating from the said windows forced us to close the curtains from the moment we arrived till we left. This wing of the hotel is very old and the rooms have very high ceilings. The small electric convector on the wall tried to warm the room, and failed. The bathrooms only form of heating was an electric towel rail, result was an ice box. This caused condensation on the frosted glass which resulted in mould in the grooves. Paintwork was cracked and flaking and whole hotel was in need of a major overhall. The cold was not restricted to our bedroom. The corridors had storage heaters, although they were never on during our stay. We overhead other guests saying that you would need to wrap up th eat in the restaurant. They were right. On arriving for breakfast, we were greeted by a wonderful panoramic view over the bay. The food and service were fine, but once again the place was cold. The secondary glazing had been removed, and the steel framed single glazed windows sucked any heat out of the room. In the evening, we went to the bar for some cocktails from the avertised list. Barman did not know how to make these and we were advised to wait 10 mins. until someone arrived who did ( I don't think so) Also whilst waiting at the bar, the said barman was asked to do something by another member of staff, the reference to the son of God was uncalled for and could upset someone of a more Christian persuasion. There is a plaque in the reception proclaiming that this hotel takes part in the investors in people scheme. Obviously this member of staff is still to complete his training.
The whole hotel is in need of an upgrade, and looks old and tired. I could not recommend this hotel in its present state and would not return, which is a pity as it has an enviable position and the art deco theme could be a good selling point if it was of a better standard. This is part of the Oxford hotels group. I hope this is not their usual standard as it does not reflect well on them and would make me think twice about using other hotels in the chain.

Room Tip: I did not see the bedrooms in the newer part of the hotel, but avoid the older wing if you must stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor .
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel , we have discussed the issues you raised and acted on them ,which includes changes to our housekeeping practises and have fully re trained our staff in the standards of conduct and use of language , all our bartenders are now proficient in making our advertised drinks .
We do have a stock of additional heaters for guests to use during the extreme cold weather periods that we face in Oban and Scotland , I apologise if our team never informed you of this option .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

If you are looking for 5* luxury accomadation this hotel is not for you, but if you want friendly atmosfere, good food and a true scottish feel then this is the place. Oban is a wonderful place to be at any time of the year and the staff at this hotel go out of thier way to make your stay just a bit special. although the hotel is in need of a redo, the rooms are clean and comfortably warm with lovely new carpets and spectacular veiws from the front, food was fab and value for money was not in question. A big thanks to David Sam & Irene who are just the best along with all the other staff at this hotel, looking forward to coming back already. xxx Graham

Room Tip: Get in early to get a seaview just stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor.
Your comments on the fab food and clean and comfortable warm rooms are always nice to hear , I however always enjoy reading and passing on stunning reviews on our hard working team for this we are all very grateful.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid november. Building is old and could do with a refurb but was still a nice place to stay. The lift was a bit temperamental but I found if you keep your finger on your floor number it will move. We were allocated a double room at the back of the old part of the hotel. Not much in the way of a view as it looked out onto the alleyway and street.
However, the room was clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits. As it was a mid week booking I asked if we could be moved to the front which overlooks the sea and harbour. The hotel staff were more than happy to do this and, although no double was available at the front, they asked if we would like a twin room instead which we accepted. The view from a front facing room is spectacular and was well worth the move.
The food at both dinner and breakfast could not be faulted and was served to our table by very well mannered and courteous staff. There is a great choice of menu at dinner and a wide and varied selection on offer at breakfast.
Oban is a very good place to visit sith plenty to see and do.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting a short break or a holiday.
I would return to Oban again and would definately stay at the Regent again.

Room Tip: Get a front room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review on our Hotel .Its nice to see you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments show that all our staff across different departments helped to create a enjoyable break , from the clean room to the politely served meals to our front of house team dealing with your request as best they could . I will as always pass your comments on to our team..
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Enjoyed a great 3 day DBB deal with 6 free drinks vouchers each on 3 the 3 days with Easybreaks. Room clean and tidy and food delicious. Staff very efficient. Only downfall we could not get tv to work because of loss of signal.

Room Tip: Front room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your break at the Regent and found your room clean and the food delicious . I will as always pass on your positive comments on our team members .I’m genuinely sorry we could not rectify the issues with your tv during your stay. We hope to see you back in Oban at the Regent Hotel in the near future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Regent Hotel with my husband.It was very reasonably priced at £53 for the both of us and included our breakfast. I was happy with the room itself as it was clean. However the bathroom had some mould and mould on the curtains. Although it was a 2 star, i don't believe there should be mould. If this was sorted,it would be great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your honest comments on trip advisor , I m sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hotel due to issues in your bathroom .We have now changed our housekeeping policies to focus more on the type of issues you encountered. I’m glad you found the price reasonable and the bedroom clean .
We hope to see you back at the Regent in the future to try to improve on your last visit .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed here for one night on 9th Nov 2012.Awakened at about 6.30 by the fire alarms going off.Had to stand outside in the cold and rain.The Fire Brigade checked the system and immeriately said they knew what the problem was they then went back and sat in the fire engine while we stood outside in the cold and rain.A second fire engine arrived and they went into the Hotel a short time later the alarms were turned off and we were allowed back to our rooms.Later when I asked if it was a faulty sensor that had triggered the alarm everyone I asked said they did not know as they had arrived later for work.
Our room was clean but small at the back of the hotel.The bathroom was disgusting with mould,flaking paint and the surface of the bath was flaking off.I had asked for a sea view when I booked but was put at the back of the Hotel.I say Hotel but we have stayed in a lot better B & Bs
My advice DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel or B & B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor , I m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Regent and that the bathroom was not acceptable ,however I was glad to read you found the room clean.
With regards to your early wake up call ,It is the hotels main priority to ensure the safety of all our guests and as horrible an experience standing in the rain at 6:30 in the morning must have been , this is the necessary action we would always take when the fire alarm shows a fire in the building ,not only is this a hotel policy it is also enforced by Strathclyde fire brigade . I actively encourage our team not to discuss the cause of a false alarm for two reasons , we do not want to seem to be pointing fingers at individuals as to the cause, also details of false alarms can only serve to dilute the sense of required urgency that a fire alarm aims to create.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing