We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Visit”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights on a dbb + wine package which was great value. We were told that the hotel was being renovated a floor at a time, so the corridors were a bit run down and although we were on the 3rd floor, which was still to be renovated we found the room to be clean and very cosy, towels were changed both mornings and we had a great view of Oban bay.

The food was very good and service was also very quick, the only negative comment we would make was the £5 extra charge that we paid for a gammon steak. The bar prices were also very reasonable for a hotel.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and worked extremely hard.

If staying here you should visit the tiny bar which is attached to the hotel, its clean, friendly and reasonably priced for drinks.

We would visit the Regent again. Many thanks Stuart and Caroline.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline_wilson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on our hotel, I was glad to read that you enjoyed the meals at the hotel and that you found the staff helpful and friendly .It was nice to read that you found the room clean and cosy.
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent in the very near future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

Went on a weekend trip to Oban - very disappointed. On our arrival we found out that the hotel had no car park thus we had to park our car at the end of the street in a free unsecure car park. Once we entered the hotel we could see that it was really run down and outdated, paint chipping off window panes. The lounge area was 2 sofas which had seen better times. Our room was cramped to say the least, shower was mouldy, taps on sink were rusty, view overlooking a demolition site. single pane windows rattled with the slightest bit if wind. We had our dinner at the hotel that night and we wished to eat at 6:30pm but we were told they could not fit us in at that time so we have to dine at 7:30pm. On our arrival the dining hall was half empty and the staff left us standing at the entrance for nearly 10 mins before we were seen to. Once we got our table the staff were so rude, we felt we were an inconvenience. Food was ok, but very rushed. We could constanlty hear the staff arguing amongst themselves. On our departure we were looking for a cooked breakfast but because of severe under staffing we had to opt for ceral as the waiting time was sooooo long.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelle4kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor
I would like to apologise if you were not informed regarding our parking policy by our reception team ,In case your booking was made online ,I will be checking all our online partners to ensure our guests are aware as the vast majority detail our parking policy.
I was shocked to read the problems you encountered when using our dining room and I would like to assure you we will investigate these points to the full to ensure nothing like this happens again .
Sincere Apologies again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Went on a weekend trip with Bus tour - very disappointed - hotel was very run down, lounge cold, food cold and dried up - most of the rooms had a view with a rubbish tip. There was only one small lift that held 2 people so took an age - definitely would not recommend this hotel or return. The upside was that Oban is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you for your review on trip advisor
It was disappointing to hear that you encountered so many issues during your stay with us ,I wish we had managed to resolve these while you were staying ,I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for all of these problems and I’m glad this did not spoil your visit to the town .
Sincere apologies
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent a weekend in February in the Regent and for the price it was definitely good value. We had a room at the third floor corner of the old part of the hotel with a beautiful view of Oban bay, the ferries docking and Loch Linne. This is an old hotel so don't expect a travel lodge but certainly plenty of character a clean room and comfy bed. The lift is supposed to take 4 people but that seemed only on the way down as it always balked at taking more than 2 fat people on an upward flight. Probably best not to use it if you are of a nervous disposition. The staff were very pleasant and the meals were more than adequate so all in all a very good break. A lovely wee pub called the Tartan Tavern sits just behind the museum and is worth a visit if you are a drinking man.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent Hotel.
I was happy to read that you found your stay good value for money and that you found the room clean and the bed comfy. I’m glad our team were nice and pleasant during your stay .
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent and Oban in the near future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

stayed 2 nights on a dbb+ drinks package which was great value .room s clean food very good at dinner and standard breakfast . staff were very nice but breakfast on the sunday took over 1 hour simply due to lack of staff . that staff present worked very hard , but can only do so much . If managers read this surely there are students out there you could employ for a weekend breakfast shift or two .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I’ am glad you found your stay great value for money and that you enjoyed the breakfast and dinner ,since your stay we have employed two more team members and are actively recruiting more staff .
I am sorry you had to wait so long for service at breakfast time and I hope this did not spoil your break.
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent in the future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel needs to be closed and refurbished.The small lift for 82 bedrooms supposed to hold 4 only work with 2 scary. our bedroom overlooked a dirty allay way okay only there for one night. Room no heating on in Feburary on the sea front okay housekeeping fault told. Room beds okay TV Wifi heater was old and not working properly. Other guests asked for extra heaters we had no room. One night in bed long johns under pygamas socks jumper hottie scarf and blanket over downie.Comfortable. Communal areas were also cold. All not good enough. One nights stay too many.
Have read other reveiws . Pot luck as to what roon one gets.

Room Tip: SEA view would be nice don't know how one can insist room warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your break at the Regent. As you mentioned we do have a supply of extra heaters for such cold occasions, I’m sorry this was not told to you by our team or an alternative solution sought. I will use your points to work with our team to ensure a situation like this does not reoccur.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Thankfully we had been allocated a sea view room on the 4th floor, which had amazing views over Oban bay. The room was clean, warm, and an endless supply of hot water.

We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, and on both occasions, had no complaint. Food was warm, and enjoyable. Staff seemed a bit overworked, but done a great job in serving meals quickly. Reception staff were excellent.

Overall experience was good, but a little upgrading in the bedrooms, would make a more enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imacthisyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Thank you for your kind comments on trip advisor

It is always good to hear positive feedback. I am glad you had such a nice stay and enjoyed the views from your room, and that you enjoyed all the meals at the hotel
We look forward to seeing you back to the Regent hotel Oban in the future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £40 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing