We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filthy hotel”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 30 March 2013

my friend and i stayed at this hotel this week,this hotel was a real let down ,the bedrooms were covered in dust ,the sheets were dirty ,the toilet took about five goes to flush the toilet holder was broken the toilet was filthy ,we were there for four nights and never once seen a chambermaid ,the breakfast was awful and cold ,also the staff were not friendly at all ,iwould not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy

Room Tip: read reviews on the hotels first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizcam186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our hotel , I would firstly like to apologise for the issues that lead to you not enjoying your stay. I must say that this is one of the most disappointing reviews we have received in a long time and does come as a surprise as we have been receiving very positive reviews on our staff and the cleanliness of linen and towels ,however on this occasion we have not provided the standards we try to achieve on a daily basis . I wish I had the chance to speak to you during your first day as most of the issues you mentioned could have been remedied immediately rather than you having to endure four full days and night with dirty sheets ,four cold breakfasts and have unfriendly staff during your entire stay ,and having to flush the toilet five times every use for four days .I therefore understand the low rating you gave to the hotel because of the issues you encountered as I’m sure most paying guest would have complained at the time or refused to stay with the amount of problems you encountered .
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at this Hotel last week,and found it to be top class in Cuisine,all compliments to the CHEF. Our rooms were clean and tidy,with all the amenities you would require ,rooms were very warm and cosy. Our Hotel was situated in a Centre position very handy for Shops,Restaurants,Ferries to all the Islands,and lovely views over the Bay nice to sit and watch ..You are also not far from Fort William to which we gave a visit and the Scenery was breath taking.
The lovely Village of Inveraray on Loch Fyne is so beautiful and only a 1 hour drive away.
Also the Island of Seil worth a trip their .We enjoyed this 4 day break very much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on trip advisor
I was glad to read that you enjoy all that Oban and the surrounding areas had to offer .
I will also pass on your compliments to our kitchen team and Head chef.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Me and my partner stayed at The Regent Hotel for a relaxing weekend away on 22.3.13, this was our first time in Oban and we were very happy with our choice of hotel, staff were very friendly and helpfull and the room was very clean/tidy and warm with a lovely view of the seafront, while the hotel does not have on site parking it was not a problem finding a parking spot in the big public car park which was 1 min walking distance from the hotel.

We had breakfast in the hotel in the morning which was lovely as well, the potato scones were a little small but they were the best potato scones i have ever tasted in my life and there was 2 of them as well so that well made up for the size of them, the breakfast menu was really good and you had the choice of a cooked breakfast or cereal or both.

We will be staying at The Regent Hotel for sure the next time we plan on visiting Oban, great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, rooms were very clean and tidy, Thanking you all very very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room if you like a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistysheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments on trip advisor.
It is always great to read very positive reviews especially from a first time visitor to the Regent and also to Oban .I glad you found all aspects of the hotel enjoyable and the team friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent in the near future.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a night booked in on sat so I was told ask for a sea view room which I did no problem the girl on the phone said arrived no sea view but she might be able to get me a twin room with a view
Apart from that its a tired hotel there is some upgrading being done but its halfhearted no care is taken just botched jobs

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I would like to apologise for the problems with your room on arrival but was glad to read that the team did manage to get you a sea view room albeit a twin room .
As you mentioned we do have a refurbishment program on-going but let me assure you that this is far from a half-hearted effort ,we have replaced all public area carpets and by the end of the year all rooms will be painted and have brand new furniture and most rooms already have new beds,linen and curtains
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I was recently in Oban on buisness, I stayed 2 nights, the room was poor with wallpaper loose at the edges, the shower cabinet was poor, in the resturant on the first night the menu was poor for a funny eater like me, it seemsed to be a problem to get something else, eventully the waitess got me frozen battered fish, the second night the menu suited me better and I enjoyed my dinner, I asked for a takeaway veggie breakfast, dont think they understand that ham is meat, on the second morning a stale cheese sandwich didnt tickle my fancy, wont be back in a hurry

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank algal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Regent. I would like to apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay . I am sorry that our team did not help you more to find to find a suitable alternative meal for you on the first night but glad they improved for the second night of your stay .With regards to your takeaway breakfast , I am very disappointed that this very basic error was made as is our Head chef ,He would like to join me once again to apologise for this and guarantee this mistake will not happen again.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have stayed many times at the Regent always enjoyed it. Just back from the Regent stayed for the weekend 15.3.12 and enjoyed it very much - it was excellent value for money - food was nice - we would like to say special thankyou to Irene in the restaurant - she was very attentive and friendly and did an excellent job.
Angela Vickers
Glasgow

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the Hotel - rooms were clean and very comfortable and great views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for leaving such a kind review of our hotel and staff.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed the food and found your break value for money .
I will as always pass this onto the team and the individuals mentioned and we hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Had a lovely weekend at the Regent, which is an Art Deco Hotel. A little bit frayed at the edges but rooms are clean and comfortable, food and waitress service was excellent, although they were kept busy at mealtimes. We had a room facing the front and a beautiful view of the harbour and gorgeous sunset. We did have a bit of a laugh on the Saturday evening when the fire alarm went off and everyone had to be evacuated onto the street in varying degrees of undress! We suspect someone was smoking in their room but we never found out if that was the case.
All in all, a great value for money weekend. No complaints whatsover and we would recommend this hotel. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a lovely view, especially if there is a sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babmacStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Regent Hotel
We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding the excellent food and service and the beautiful views . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent hotel in Oban very soon.

Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £39 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing