We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed at the Regent on 23rd April for two nights. Best food I have eaten in ages. So well presented and staff very efficient and helpful. A very relaxed atmosphere. A bottle of wine was also included. Fantastic.. Stayed in a single room which had everything I required. Breakfast each morning was excellent. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    327
    242
    151
    138
See reviews for
115
523
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We enjoyed a three night db&b break at The Regent. The staff were truly excellent, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The restaurant too was first class, good meals nicely prepared, presented and served. No lengthy waits for meals or service. The room we had was on the fifth floor with beautiful views over Oban bay. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davykbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on The Regent Hotel and all the Team.
.It is great to know that our teams hard work is paying off and this is shown by your very kind comments.
This review brought a lot of smiles at our last team meeting.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Two nights dinner, bed and breakfast, bottle of wine included, around £25 pppn. Couldn't get better value. The service was warm, helpful and efficient. Room looked out over Oban bay to Kerera and Mull beyond. Just watched the light over the water and the boats coming and going. Other reviews detail the hotel ; it was built in the 1930's and has an art deco appearance, faded grandeur, I suppose. Small lift - if your room is on the 5th floor - but then you have the views. Dining room is spacious and again looks out over the water. Rooms are clean, comfortable and warm, beautifully serviced while we were away on a day trip to Iona on our second day. (This is worth doing). A good place to stay.

Room Tip: You really want to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review on The Regent Hotel.
It is great to hear that you found your stay great value and that our team make our guest holidays warm and friendly.
I’m glad you enjoyed the magnificent views from your room and also from the dining room.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just back from a three night break to celebrate my husband's birthday and stayed at this hotel. We both found all the staff, to be very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The hotel was built in the 1930's and is old and dated but there is a programme of renovation going on and I believed the two top floors of bedrooms have been updated. We thought the meals choices and quality to be good. The bedroom was warm, bed was okay, clean towels daily. The entertainment wasn't to our taste but others seemed to enjoy it. Our break was a late deal and we only paid £59 for 3 nights bed and breakfast Oban is looking a bit tired and quite a few of the shops have closed. There is very little free parking around the town and the parking meter's I used didn't give change. Weekend parking after 6.p.m. on Saturday is usually free till Monday in most towns but not in Oban,there is a charge for Sundays from 1p.m. till 6p.m. Put us off going into town and we travelled elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a fabulous view over the bay and it is great to watch the ferries and fishing boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishmazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review on trip advisor.
I was happy to read that you found the staff helpful and pleasant and enjoyed the art deco styling’s of the hotel.
We hope the regent helped to make your trip and birthday very enjoyable
We look forward to seeing you back in the near future
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

For a good many years now my wife and I have come across to Oban in the spring for a couple of nights break.
This year we got a great deal at the Regent Hotel , two nights DBB plus bottle of wine for £98, that is about as good as it gets.

Oban is a great little waterside town fronting on Oban bay, a bustling place with plenty going on, ferries leaving for Mull and the islands and a good selection for shops. Sadly, this year quite a few shops are empty with the current economic climate.

Our hotel of choice is the Regent, built in the 1930s in the Art Deco style it maybe looks a little dated.
Some visitors have described it as in need of some "TCC". However in the last few years refurb work has been in progress. Much of the carpeting has been replaced and the rooms are being freshened up.

This year we got room 422, this is the smallest room we have had. The lack of storage space, cupboards, drawers, shelves was more than made up for by the great view overlooking Oban Bay. There was good shelf space in the little bathroom (this is unusual as so many hotels have bathrooms with little space for your impedimentia and you end up balancing your stuff on the toilet cistern, where it is likely to fall in). Most of the rooms have great views over Oban bay but there are some rooms at the back. Check when booking to get a front facing room.

Staff at the Hotel are great, helpful and "smiley" The rooms are warm and well maintained. Food standards are high, though there are only three choices of main course on the the dinner menu. (this may not suit some). Good selection at breakfast, but we warned, breakfast ends at 9am so dont turn up at 9.30!

A problem with town centre Hotels can be car parking, not so at the Regent. Right across the road is a public car park, Charges 80p per hour. The chargeable period is from 9am to 6pm, credit left over at 6pm is carried over to the next day. When we arrive we stick a tenners worth of pound coins in the machine and that covers our stay. If you worry about your car, all you have to do is go to your room window and you can look across the road to see it.

Great place the Regent. Would not go anywhere else. Phil Joy snr

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor.
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at the regent and that the size of your room was overshadowed by the wonderful views that we have from the hotel, and that again our staff were very influential in your enjoyment of your break at the Regent.
It was good to read that you enjoyed your evening meals and also your breakfast and found them both to be of a high standard.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland,UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Got back today, this was a last minute 3 night break 20 - 23 April 2013 and we stayed dinner bed and breakfast. Everything was spotless, the beds seemed new as did the bedding and carpets, pillows were not thick enough for me so I used the spare blanket from the wardrobe under them and that made it fine. Bathroom newly tiled, quite small but with all that was needed. New flat screen tv with all the freeview channels, wi-fi available but I had my own mobile wi-fi so didn't need it. The meals were excellent and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Free papers to read in the reception area. We spent one day touring the area by car and another doing a boat/bus/boat trip to Mull and Iona - really very good and interesting. Minor drawback was the lack of hotel car parking but there are relatively cheap as well as free car parks in easy walking distance. The hotel is undergoing renovations, and it suffers from old-fashioned metal windows - part of the art deco look and very hard to upgrade, but everything else seems to be in the process of being upgraded and i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going to Oban who wanted a good clean hotel with good food at a budget price, We'll be back., and as it is so convenient for everything we'll probably travel by train!

Room Tip: We didn't ask for it but a sea view would be good to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for leaving such kind comments on The Regent Hotel .
It is very nice to receive an all round positive review of the hotel ,It lets us know that all our hard work is paying off and our guests not only enjoy staying with us but are also returning to visit the Regent.
We hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to the Regent Hotel, Oban.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

On arrival there was a warm welcome from the staff. I went to my room which was spotless, great view from the window overlooking the waterfront. Breakfast was a good selection of cereal, fruit, fruit juices and full Scottish breakfast, again my table was a window view.
The hotel was spotless but could do with an up grade in the general areas, and the bedrooms were fine, bedding and towels were clean, the bathroom was no frills, but to have an all frills everyone would be paying more.
All in all a good hotel right in the middle of Oban, I would recommend to anyone who wants a no frills but clean hotel at a fantastic price

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for leaving your very kind comments on trip advisor.
It is great to receive such a nice review of our Hotel and that once again our team has created a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are very grateful that you would recommend our Hotel to others and hope you too will return again if you find yourself in Oban again
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent very soon.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing