We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stuff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed at the Regent recently and it was spot on, the rooms and the decor are all really fresh and well kept and the staff were all excellent, what more do you need! The food was also very good, we only ate there one night but there was plenty choice on the menu so we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveymacivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on The Regent Hotel.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be excellent and your room to be clean and fresh.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent Oban.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    319
    226
    139
    123
See reviews for
109
500
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

My wife and I spent two nights DBB at the Regent recently. The hotel is undergoing refurb which is making a huge improvement to the overall appearance and comfort of the place (we stayed here about 10 years ago and it was in desperate need of some TLC then). Without exception, all of the staff that we had contact with were extremely pleasant and efficient - they were faultless. Similarly, the food we had was excellent; everything was very well presented and delicious. The evening meals looked and tasted like they could have been prepared by a top London chef! On our previous visit they looked like school dinners! Our bedroom was fairly compact, but it had everything we could need, it had been nicely refurb'd, had a very comfy bed and best of all it looked over the beautiful Oban bay. Overall, we had an excellent stay here, and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
It is great to read that since your last visit you have found that the hotel has undertaken huge improvements.
I will as every pass on the very kind comments regarding the team at the Regent Hotel with special mentions for our Kitchen team.
We hope you will again find more improvements on your next visit to Oban .
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Been here several times over the past few years and can see a improvement every time I Visit. Hotel is Aged but is a charming venue and is situated ideally. Staff could not be more attentive and all area of the hotel are improving. There are fault but if missed by staff a simple phone to reception and all problems resolved quickly. Paid a reasonable price and could not expect more for the money we paid

Room Tip: Sea View is Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itainteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of The Regent Hotel.
It is great to read that all the work being done by our maintenance team and the extra efforts put in by the entire team are being noticed by our guests.
I was glad to read that you found your stay good value and the team very attentive, and we look forward to your return.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We just returned from Oban . I have to give big thumbs to all staff .They were very helpfull and friendly . We booked this hotel for our first visit to Oban and it was value for money more than I thought. We did't have sea view but we still enjoy the view by sitting in the lounge and had some drinks. Room was warm and clean . We had some faults in our room we notified reception and maintainacne solved issue very quickly. I have to say the lift could have been bigger ,but we managed it. Well can not complain about 2star hotel with we got everything we need . Thanks for all staff again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janjira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of the team and The Regent Hotel.
It is always fantastic to read a wonderful review as yours and I was very glad to read that you felt your stay was great value for money. I very much enjoyed reading your comments to our team at our weekly meeting ,which makes there hard work more worthwhile
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed for one night en route via the ferries to the Isles. A once-splendid Art Deco hotel, it badly needs a revamp.
However, our room was only £35 B&B for two. We slept well and the sheets were crisp and clean.
We had asked for, and were given, a room near the lift for disabled access.
Cooked Breakfast was OK, though presentation was basic with the items arranged around the plate as if on a conveyor belt. But all was tasty, plenty of juice, toast and reasonable coffee.
The decor is tired, public areas need a lick of paint, the nice clock needs attention, and everywhere the ceiling lights need replacing. Carpets not in keeping with the style.
Very central with plenty of eateries nearby. We went to Coast, a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on The Regent Hotel.
As you mentioned we are working through our maintenance program however the fact that you still enjoyed your stay and found the room clean and your stay value for money is a positive for the hotel . We hope to see you again at the Regent in the near future when our refurbishment program should be much further forward.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

from this dump.....literally. Located on the water in Oban (the only plus that I can see) this hotel does not meet even minimal standards. Overhead light doesn't work, toilet doesn't flush, barman is surly, front desk personnel absent more than present, wait staff in the breakfast room unfriendly, but the very worst is the dirty dishes at breakfast. Sat down at the table and my coffee cup had a dark ring around the inside. BAD! But worse was my table mate's cup that had lipstick on it. Went to trade my cup for another at a neighboring table and that had lipstick on it too. Made me wonder about the silverware.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Onthegogirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on The Regent Hotel.
I would like to firstly apologise for the problems you encountered at the hotel and sincerely hope that this did not spoil your entire trip.
I wish we had an opportunity to rectify the issues in your bedroom.
I’m sorry that you found our staff unfriendly and perhaps this is why you felt the need to rectify the unacceptable dirty cup situation yourself, all off our team should be approachable at all times as they would have been able to remove the offending item rather than it being placed at a table still to be occupied by fellow guests
We do normally find that most guests can not praise our staff enough ,however on this occasion I would like to apologise for the unfriendliness you felt in the dinning room
We hope to see you again at the Regent in the near future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights 6th and 7th may . Staff were excellent and the food was great. Breakfast was served fresh and the evening meal was excellent. Great value for money. Clean rooms although a bit dated but painters were there during our visit so they're on the case

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on The Regent Hotel .
It is great to receive such a nice review of the staff and the meals at the hotel , its very good to hear that you found your break at the Regent ‘Great value for money ‘
We hope to see you again at the Regent in the near future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing