We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down....one of the worst I've stayed in”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Oban is a small Scottish town and the only nice things I can say about this hotel is; great location on the water , an easy walk to town and great for a sunset view . In my opinion, this is a hotel waiting to close which is a shame because it could be very nice with a bit of work. There seems to be two parts to the hotel, a 50ish style part and the historic part. Our room was in the historic part...The elevator was not terribly reliable so we walked up to the third floor. The building creaked and cracked, the fire doors were made of wood and glass.The room was very small....there was mold around the window ,the light in the bathroom didn't work and the toilet didn't flush without a lot of effort. The bed was probably a queen but looked a lot smaller and the coverlet used on it barely covered the mattress so when one person rolled over; the other became uncovered. When we arrived the cold water faucet was frozen off but they were able to fix that and they did put a light in the bathroom.You would have thought the maid would have noticed these things?? There were no tissues in the room. The lobby was sparse and also served as the bar. The dining room was large and breakfast was bleak...the worst part was the lipstick on the cups...more than one. Made me wonder about the kitchen?? It was also a very noisy hotel because it lacked any soundproofing...every time someone opened or shut a door you were awakened. I can roll with a lot of things but mold, dirty dishes and a room with so many issues are truly inexcusable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your views on trip advisor.
I was very disappointed to read how poor an experience you had while visiting the Regent Hotel and I would like to firstly apologise for all the problems you faced with your bedroom and the dining room .I have rechecked all our elevator logs and have found no instances of any reported issues or breakdowns during this period. As you mentioned the fire doors through out the hotel are made of wood and glass which is a legal standard 30 minute fire door which is accepted by Strathclyde fire brigade .The bed as shown in your pictures is a standard uk double bed with a standard uk double duvet, we do offer extra duvets ,blankets and pillows all of which are available on request at the reception desk or from any off our team . I do agree that we do not have any additional soundproofing but I strongly believe this to be common amongst hotels of this age (1930 and 1896)However I am sorry that you did not have a relaxing break and I would like to assure you that we will use your comments to further improve The Regent Hotel .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Although this hotel is old it is clean and very quiet. The Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly, the service was great and we didn't have to wait long to be served our breakfast. The view if you are lucky to get a sea view is stunning. People who complain about this hotel should remember the price they are paying. Oban itself is a beautiful place and there are many places to visit and regular boat trips eg Mull.
The only downside is don't go on the lift if you are claustriphobic as the lifts are too small and take about four people at a push.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferguson1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your views on trip advisor.
It is great to read that yet again the Regent hotel team has made a great impression and that the food and overall service was great.
As I write this we have our lift engineer surveying our lift for major improvements and hopefully this will go someway to helping with the issues that you mentioned.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel is a bit old but clean. The room was spacious and clean and astonishingly quiet although it was on the street side, only the bathroom had it's own odour. Parking was not so comfortable because we had to park on the public parking lot and pay for it. Breakfast was very good and the service staff very friendly. The hotel is recommendable for a stay overnight but if you travel by car not necessarily for a longer time because of the parking situation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent hotel. .
I’m very glad to read that you found the room very spacious and clean and very quiet and that the breakfast was good and that our team in the dining were friendly during your stay.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel is an embarrassment to the Scottish Hotel Industry. From the battered and scratched front door to the lingering odour as we entered, to the rust stained window frames, the initial experience was challenging. Just because a place is relatively cheap that is no excuse for at best extremely poor property maintenance. We paid upgrades for a sea-view - Rooms 112 and 114, our sea-view included looking out at all the cigarette buts on the roof. Both rooms were equally bad with fungal covered wall tiles, walls, and ceilings dirty with damp patches and grime, ingrained dirt on skirting boards and doors. We looked at two other rooms on different floors and the standards were the same. The bed linen was very clean, and the food reasonable though the cups were dirty on 3 occasions. The staff responses varied from very helpful to dis-interested. Having paid in full before arriving we felt some what trapped. It spoiled what should have been a happy and stress free birthday celebration.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djr155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just back from a 2day break at the Regent and we had a great time everything was just right staff made you very welcome and the food was lovely we look forward to going back very soon .we were on top floor and the view was superb

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monamona133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent Hotel.
I am very happy to know that our staff were not only friendly but they made you feel very welcome and that you found the food to be lovely.
We hope to see you back to the regent in the future.

Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Will I go back a big resounding yes...showers that work..clean..friendly and food good ..to the one moaner on our coach I ask what do you expect for what we paid, get a life. I put my views where my purse is I am saving to go back ..think that about says it all

Room Tip: ask for double room if travelling as a couple as twin bed rooms rather small , that said you only us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moogieenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments on trip advisor.
It is always great to read such nice comments regarding our hotel, I will pass on the positive comments on the friendliness of the staff and that the food was good.
We hope to welcome you back to the regent in the near future.

Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A had a very enjoyable stay at the Regent, the staff were without exception very helpful and friendly, my room was simple, comfortable and great value for money.

The hotel has the perfect seafront location and the views from the bedroom of the sea and the islands beyond was spectacular.

In particular I'd like to thank Mary for fantastic service at dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor.
I will pass on your kind comments regarding our team being helpful and friendly at the Regent .
I’m glad that you found the room and meals great value for money and I will also pass on your individual praise for Mary.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £42 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing