We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book a room here”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 30 June 2013

It took about 90 seconds to realise that I had made a terrible mistake booking a room here. Shabby decor in the lobby, lifts that didn't work, a room that smelt of damp with sticky carpets underfoot, the view was of a building site that was being used as a rubbish tip. The room was barely bigger than the bed, and you'd be lucky to get to sleep with the the view of peeling wallpaper on the ceiling. The "professional" photos of the rooms on the hotels website bear no relationship to what I was offered. On complaining to reception, the answer was "nothing can be done" Thankfully, my third party booking service was on the case and no cancellation fee was charged.

Room Tip: Don't bother. There are lots of excellent alternatives in Oban. If your stuck, most of the B&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrewcrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on the Regent.
I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and I wish that during your stay we could have offered you an alternative but as you mentioned during the busy season we unfortunately we had no other rooms available.
I’m glad that you found some positives with regards to the cancellation charges
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The property is too old for stay. Bed also too old, can't sleep well. Breadfast was included but very poor bad pudding, haggie, bacon all cooked too dry, it seems cook it for a few time. Water for shower is fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on the Regent.
I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay or the breakfast, I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments to help them to improve on the issues mentioned
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We decided to have a few days away and stop wherever the mood took us.We went to Oban and saw the Regent Hotel in a perfect position overlooking the harbour and out over to Mull. We asked for a sea view and got one and it was wonderful.
The hotel is in need of refurbishment, but the room we had was clean and comfortable; the dining room was excellent and the food was good too. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, grapefruit and mandarin oranges, followed by a choice of cooked breakfasts. My husband asked for two eggs, bacon, black pudding, tomatoes.....he could also have had sausage, hash browns , haggis...you name it. I enjoyed scrambled eggs bacon and waffles. Toast and a variety of jams followed. With fruit juices and freshly made tea or coffee to drink, we were well happy.
The evening meal was 3 courses for 17.50GBP; although the choice was limited to 3 starters, 4 mains and 3 sweets I found something in each course to enjoy. My husband is Gluten Free, which can present problems, but GF bread was available, and the chef offered melon for a starter, as the one's on the menu all contained gluten, then instead of gravy with the lamb the chef made a red wine and cranberry jus.It was a joy to dine looking over the sea to Mull.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff. Every single person appeared to be happy in their work. To a man they were smiling and obliging, eager to help and willing to chat. We shall certainly return. Thank goodness I hadn't read some of the reviews before I went.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave to your kind comments on trip advisor.
I will as always pass all your kind words on to the Team ,I’m glad you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and found both breakfast and dinner very good and a joy to dine .
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent Hotel and to Oban.

Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I like this charming hotel. Thick rich carpets lined the corridors. My room, number 200, looked new and fresh with a spacious white themed toilet and a long bath to soak in. Loved the plentiful wall sockets provided-all the gadgets needing charging! This hotel reminded me of the colonial E & O Hotel in Penang but without the 6 star prices! Doesn't deserve the put downs it has been receiving. The huge breakfast dining hall blows your breath away with its all full front glass frontage view of the ocean. A slendid breakfast came with quick attentive service, your own pot of tea/coffee, a rack of hot toasts, full Scottish breakfast with eggs, black pudding, sausages and Haggis! This grand dame is well alive and kicking and I hope her prices continue to hark from days gone by. I wish her well!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88takeiteasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on trip advisor
It is always great to read reviews such as yours and then I get to pass these reviews on to the team which is the pat on the back that they so much deserve. I’m glad you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to see you again in the not to distant future

Thank you very much.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As we had a early ferry to catch the next morning, we decided to stay at the Regent as they allowed dogs in the rooms.
There is no parking at the hotel, but as it was Saturday night, we could park outside on the street. Friends meet us for a drink in the bar - I felt we were in a time warp - shabby chic.
We left the dogs in the van until late, as they love their van. Our room was on the 5th floor, which caused a few problems as the lift is very small - trying to get two dogs and another women who would not let us go on our own, meant that the lift would only go to the 3rd floor, so we gave up and walked up the rest of the stairs. The 12 year old took a little coaxing.
The bedroom was small, but clean and the bathroom was spotless. We all sleep well and even the singing from the street was funny. We did not stay for breakfast as we had to be a the ferry terminal for 7.30am.
We will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Beware of the small lift - especially if coach parties in - you may have to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynisphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on trip advisor
I was happy to read that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay at the Regent and found all the facilities’ spotless and had good nights sleep despite the Oban entertainment.
We hope to welcome you all back to the Regent in the near future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

stayed at regent hotel oban and whilst hotel is ideally placed on
seafront and next to town centre, the accomodation leaves a lot
to be desired. Hotel is in great need of upgrading, when we got
to our room, it was dark and dingey, wallpaper was faded and worn with
oose and cobwebs at tops of walls and on doors, bathroom was poor, bed
uncomfortable.

staff ok, breakfast ok but could have been better, if you want quiet location, dont stay
here as it is next to a bar and we were woken at 2.30 in the morning with people shouting
and bawling outside the bar.

I have stayed in Oban now five years running on business and have to say this is the
poorest hotel yet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments on the Regent Hotel.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope that this did not effect your overall trip too much .I wish I had the opportunity to resolve the issues you encounter during your stay as this is not the guest experience we hope to achieve .We will use the points raised to continue to improve our product and services .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This Hotel has so much potential it is not true, but it singularly fails to achieve this.
The Hotel has no parking facilities. I emailed the Hotel requesting advice as to the best place to park the car. Never had a response. Had no email send failures. The alarm bells started to ring.
Arrived and the Hotel is in a prime position. It was built a long time ago and the exterior needs some attention but its styling could be a major draw point..
Going into the Foyer you notice the entrance doors with draft excluder on the edges that are shall we say slightly falling off.
The foyer is a faded beauty. The carpets appear to have seen long service and the walls are wooden paneling giving a very Regency feel.
Got the key to the room but could not get in the room via the door knob lock. Turns out the lock is not in use & there is a Yale lock above.
Opened the door (or tried) could not get the door open very far. The wardrobe door was ajar & blocking the main door as the door latch was ineffective. Eventually got in and the room is sad.. Decorating is basic to put it nicely. A rewire has been attempted but only to the extent of putting conduit around the rooms to the various plugs etc..
The bathroom door could not be closed because the door latch did not work. Had to use the internal lock to secure the door. If anyone fell ill whilst in the bathroom, there would be no means of getting them out, apart from pulling the door down.
The shower tray had been replaced in the bathroom but the B&Q lino had not so the floorboards were visible. If any splashes come over thge shower tray, they would getinto the floorboards.
We had a back room which was over the kitchens so when you opened the metal casement windows (yes they still exist) you got the smells and the sounds of the kitchen. On the window cill was a phial of some fluid that had been opened. Wasn't sure what was in it so left well alone.
If you could get a front room, the views across the bay must be fabulous. The views from the dining room/bar do give this.
the breakfast was eatable, but to the extent of one bacon rasher, one sausage, one tomato and one egg. Not a meal to set you up for the day.
On the plus side, the sheets were clean.
There would have to be a special reason for me to frequent this one again but it could be so good and unique if some money was pumped into it.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room as high as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent hotel.
Since reading your review we have completed many of the issues you mentioned as part of our on-going refurbishment, this includes all entrance area windows have been refurbished, the entrance has been painted as have the doors you mentioned and the draught excluders have been replaced.
Within the bedroom you were allocated we have replaced the bathroom flooring for this issue I sincerely apologise.
With our breakfast we do have a standard breakfast of one tomato, egg, sausage bacon, potato scone and black pudding, we usually find that when this is served with toast and choices of five cereals, three choices of fruit segments and with the option of porridge and waffles, it is usually met with approval from most of our guests however on request we can increase the cooked breakfast quantity.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of all the staff at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £40 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing