We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel for a budget hotel”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here overnight - the decor is old and a bit tired but the bedroom was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. This hotel is great value for the very low cost that we paid. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunseeker227135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be value for money .
We hope to see you back in the future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I would just like to say we had our wedding reception in the regent hotel in oban. On friday 4/4/14. The tables were set up to perfection and the service was second to none. the management and staff were very attentive and saw to all our guest needs. The food was first class and all our guests had said they would come back for a meal.We had booked a room for 2 nights which were also first class and would highly recommend it to anyone.We had booked the mccaig room to have our dance at night which had a well stocked bar and excellent bar staff. We also had a buffet at night for all our guests which was also excellent.

Your teddy & evelyn

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddyflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We really enjoyed being part of your special day and you and your guests were great fun.
We hope to see you again soon
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Been to this hotel before and enjoyed our stay,Was here 7th 10th April and again enjoyed our visit.No complaints food good,room adequate,staff very friendly.Can say we will be back again at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandDave610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We were happy to read your review and would thank you for such nice comments.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

room was very small, drab and looked extremely tired, it badly needs a refurbishment for the rooms especially the on fourth floor, walls paper thin, no soundproofing whatsoever, mattresses were very worn out, the springs are barely staying in the mattress. sound quality on the tv is laughable as is the space on the desk.
reception, bar, and all the public areas are nice, just a shame it was let down by the rooms

Room Tip: even number rooms have view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug1tux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I’m very sorry that you found issues with your room and only wish we could have addressed these during your stay. I was glad that you found some positives during your break with us.
I do hope that if you visit us again you will see many improvements.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed at the Regent hotel for two nights on a groupon deal which included dinner on the first night, bottle of bubbly and breakfast both mornings. The hotel has a great location looking at the pier, yes as mentioned the parking situation is not great, we choose to pay the 80 pence per hour from 9 until 6 as although there is free parking a five minute walk away my partner wanted to be able to see his car. We were lucky enough to get a sea view which was great. The room was clean and a good size, the bathroom could have done with a bit of grouting but was clean with a good shower. The staff were all friendly and working really hard, especially at breakfast. On arriving we were given a voucher for our complimentary bottle of bubbly. Yes it was cheap from Lidyl but had bought it myself on a number of occasions and think its nice so It did not bother me.

The dinner on the first night was really good, the set menu was good, but there was also the option if you wanted to pay a supplement to mix and match between the set menu and the alacarte.

Breakfast was fine also although was busy and had to wait for a bit on arriving. There were cereals, fruit juice which was self service and then toast and coffee or tea was brought to your table. There was also the option of a full Scottish breakfast or porridge.

Oban itself was lovely, we went for a tour of the distillery which was good value and had a nice walk along the pier and a look in some of the shops.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Scottgirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed your break with us and enjoyed your meals.
I will also pass your kind comments to our team.
We hope to welcome you back to the Regent in the near future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here one night and found it to be very clean, comfy and so handy for the ferry to Mull.

Breakfast was fine, although the chef decided that morning that he/she would cremate the potato scones...otherwise everything else was fine...there is a restaurant for evening meals..but we ate at the bar, which was also bar prices. Good Value. Only downside was no parking although we were directed to a free car park 500yds along the esplanade. Would stay here again.
P.S. We actually stayed here on 23rd March 2014, but your web-site only allowed April 2014.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzablue39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us and I would like to apologise for the potato scones ,we have addressed this issue now .
We hope to welcome you back again in the not to distant future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I spent one night here for work. The hotel has nice views over the water although our room view was into a back yard. The hotel is tired looking and in need of a good refurb and paint. Lots of damp patches on wallls and ceilings. We were dinner bed and breakfast and the food was great. Served fresh to your table. Very reasonable price wise for this option. Staff were very nice and helpful. Okay for one night but I would be disappointed if I was a tourist and booked here.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room over looking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benidorm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I was happy to read that you found your stay to be reasonably priced, and although you did not have a sea view room you still enjoyed the wonderful views from the other parts of the hotel
We hope to welcome you back again in the not to distant future .
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the regent Hotel Oban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £40 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing