We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has nothing on Fawlty Towers”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place has nothing on Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In a nutshell, DON'T STAY HERE! Well, let me qualify this by saying don't stay here unless you simply cannot afford anything else.
Although the service was fine, everything else about this hotel is sub-standard. It is very run down, and the rooms themselves are tired and uninviting - they certainly couldn't be described as comfortable.
The parking is at least a ten minute walk from the hotel and, as we arrived in driving rain, this did not leave us with a good first impression.
Despite what the hotel advertises about Wi-Fi in rooms, there simply isn't any. You will need to sit in the foyer if you want to use the Internet. As we are traveling from Australia for 8 weeks, email contact with our friends and family back home is very important to us.
Another thing which is important after a long day driving and sightseeing is a hot shower. Unfortunately, there was not this luxury for us, as the boiler had broken down.
Some people on Tripadvisor described this hotel as quaint, but unless by quaint they mean run down and poor value, I cannot agree with them. The rate is reasonable, granted, but in our walks around this lovely seaside village we came across plenty of other guesthouses which looked far better for not much more money. My advice is spend a little more - in this case it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alis0n52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay in Oban .
As you mentioned there is free parking around 10 mins walk from the hotel however there is a pay and display car park less than 200 yard from the hotel front door.
We are in the process of repairing the strength of our wireless internet , I am sorry if this affected your stay but was glad to read that you managed to find adequate signal strength in our public areas .
Thank you again for your feedback.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    326
    241
    151
    138
See reviews for
115
523
55
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel very satisfying. The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was good and you did not need to wait long. The sea view from the bedroom was very nice. Close to harbour and train station.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Regent hotel and found the team friendly and the breakfast and views very nice.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After reading some of the reviews on this hotel I was a bit worried, however there was no need to be. We arrived at our hotel at around 6pm, were seen to immediately and given our room key.

We were a few floors up so we took the lift. I had specifically asked for a room facing the bay as I'd heard these were much better, and I wasn't disappointed. The room had plenty room, a decent tv and tea/coffee making facilities. The room was on a corner and had 3 windows facing out to the bay. The view was lovely.

My only complaint with the room (and it's a very small one) was that it took a huge amount of force to get the shower turned off! I couldn't do it myself. There is not a private car park belonging to the hotel, however there is one a stone's throw away from the hotel and also another just off the main street (where we parked, and for a small payment were covered up until 2pm the next day). I believe there is also a free car park nearby but we didn't find that one.

As for breakfast, we were greeted as soon as we entered the dining room and our orders taken. There was a choice of cereals, etc and you order from the menu.
Staff were pleasant and friendly.

Yes, some of the décor could do with updating, but I found this to be a great wee place to stay. Given that we only paid £39 for 2 people B&B I think it was excellent value for money and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suisaidh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you found our team were friendly and helpful and the food was of a high standard.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel does need some refurbishment but it was clean and food was lovely. We got this is on a groupon deal and it was great value for money. The staff are all friendly and helpful the only thing is the drink not that cheap but most hotels are the same. The beds were really comfortable, the shower very powerful and hot.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are facing sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor
We are happy that you had a nice break at the hotel and that our team were friendly and helpful
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed over Easter weekend and was looked after as soon as we arrived until we left , staff very pleasant and helpful and excellent value for money with great location, central and overlooking the bay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor
We enjoyed reading that you had a lovely Easter break at the hotel and that our team were friendly and helpful
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed with my daughter for a 3 night break as part of a coach trip. Staff were very pleasant and efficient. Although we had a room at the back, we enjoyed the view of the town and the tower. Walked round the bay with amazing views and gorgeous sunset. The only minus was that there was just one lift and although it said it held 6 people, we felt that was being rather optimistic. With 3 coaches arriving at the same time it made for quite a long wait.
A very nice touch was that the Manager(?) came on the coach to thank us for staying with them when we were leaving and he had also lined up the staff outside to wave us good-bye.
Not a grand hotel, and our room was quite small, but very clean and perfectly adequate.
Hope to stay again some time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have an amazing view of the bay and Oban Cathedral etc. Don't take room 315...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigitteA634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor
We are glad that your daughter and you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the team to be friendly and that you enjoyed the wonderful views of Oban and the isles .
We hope to welcome you back very soon
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have just returned from 3 night break, staff were very friendly and helpful, good location right on seafront, try and get a sea view room the view is great. Bedroom was spotless as were all the public rooms. Food was very good and was served very quickly by restaurant staff. Will come back again. Lots of deals available on this hotel, so good value. Nice wee extra touch was Easter egg on breakfast table.

Room Tip: Room 412 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired10Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Regent Hotel
We enjoy reading your review and were very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the hotel.
I will pass on your kind words regarding our team at the Regent.
We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing