We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EASTER BREAK”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel in August last year and sent you a poor review regardind it Went back again at Easter as i was told in August that it was due to be refurbished Well i must say it is now a lot better the lounge and receptiom area have new carpets and furniture fitted and is looking good some of the bedrooms have been refurbished and this is set to continue Still a long way to go but it was nice to see a big improvement The overnight rate for a double room with bed breakfast and evening meal was excellant

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigade02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found significant improvements since your last visit, we hope you will again notice further improvements if you return to visit us again.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

OK. this building is very tired and rooms need re-decorating. If your looking for a posh looking place then this is not for you.
BUT, the rooms are kept very clean, frequent fresh towels, hospitality tray with biscuits etc etc. Beds were comfortable and maid service excellent.
We had the table d' hote menue and the food was great both in quality and quantity (although one woman said her cream was off). The tables were set on proper linen table cloths and the napkins were also linen. A large carafe of water provided. Some guests, on company accounts, ate fantastic steaks with all the trimmings, some evenings. Good TV and Wi-Fi in room.
Considering what we were charged, it was excellent value for money.
In Oban, if you want somewhere fancy to stay, you will have to pay plenty for it.
This hotel has recently been taken over and it looks as if large scale improvements are imminent.

Room Tip: Get one facing the sea and watch the ferries depart and arrive, along with all the other interesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Regent Hotel
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we were on a 4 night stay to Oban this hotel was a bit tired and dated but staff were very friendly and the food was good our biggest problem with this hotel is not the run down state of the hotel but the parking.The hotel has no parking and the nearest free parking is 10 mins away and is partly uphill and you get no help with your cases or getting there rain or shine

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am sorry that you found issues with parking in the centre of Oban for free, unfortunately the majority of the car parks are run by the local council and are therefore pay and display until 6pm.
I am glad that despite these issues you enjoyed the meals at the hotel and found our team to be friendly.
Thank you again.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

On arrival bus could only park 20/30 yards from hotel. We were informed that a charge of £1-00 per case to be taken to room by porter. However no one/staff there to greet us, or to give us chat about hotel etc. We had to carry cases to hotel, up 16 concrete steps to entrance, two doors into lounge and reception. Just enough room in lift for two people and cases. Lucky for a room @ front of Hotel, this is a must. The room was extremely small, no room to pass, no draws for cloths, just two open ends. Ceilings,walls, drab colours painted over paper coverings, peeling away, damp patches and dirty marks. Wood work paint peeling away and dirty. Had to inform cleaner to clean, remove clumps of hair from bathroom floor. Decent T.V. Mirror, Tea making facs. & biscuits. Clean bed sheets. & towels every day. Very hot water for bath & shower. Decent carpet but don't think ever cleaned. Paper Packets and dust under bed.Fabulous views from windows, inc. brilliant sun sets etc.. Two false fire alarms early morns. Dinning room good, service & staff good & very friendly, food passable, not much of a choice. Paid £1-00 per case to be carried to bus, however cases had to be outside room @ 6am.
I wouldn't book myself again into this hotel, but wouldn't mind if I had no choice on a bus trip again to this hotel, only if I had a front room.

Room Tip: Front of hotel room is a must facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We appreciate all feed back, and we take all points on and use them to continually improve our guest experience , I am glad you found positives during your stay with us
Thank you again for your feedback.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In a nutshell, DON'T STAY HERE! Well, let me qualify this by saying don't stay here unless you simply cannot afford anything else.
Although the service was fine, everything else about this hotel is sub-standard. It is very run down, and the rooms themselves are tired and uninviting - they certainly couldn't be described as comfortable.
The parking is at least a ten minute walk from the hotel and, as we arrived in driving rain, this did not leave us with a good first impression.
Despite what the hotel advertises about Wi-Fi in rooms, there simply isn't any. You will need to sit in the foyer if you want to use the Internet. As we are traveling from Australia for 8 weeks, email contact with our friends and family back home is very important to us.
Another thing which is important after a long day driving and sightseeing is a hot shower. Unfortunately, there was not this luxury for us, as the boiler had broken down.
Some people on Tripadvisor described this hotel as quaint, but unless by quaint they mean run down and poor value, I cannot agree with them. The rate is reasonable, granted, but in our walks around this lovely seaside village we came across plenty of other guesthouses which looked far better for not much more money. My advice is spend a little more - in this case it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alis0n52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay in Oban .
As you mentioned there is free parking around 10 mins walk from the hotel however there is a pay and display car park less than 200 yard from the hotel front door.
We are in the process of repairing the strength of our wireless internet , I am sorry if this affected your stay but was glad to read that you managed to find adequate signal strength in our public areas .
Thank you again for your feedback.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel very satisfying. The staff were all very friendly. Breakfast was good and you did not need to wait long. The sea view from the bedroom was very nice. Close to harbour and train station.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Regent hotel and found the team friendly and the breakfast and views very nice.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you again
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After reading some of the reviews on this hotel I was a bit worried, however there was no need to be. We arrived at our hotel at around 6pm, were seen to immediately and given our room key.

We were a few floors up so we took the lift. I had specifically asked for a room facing the bay as I'd heard these were much better, and I wasn't disappointed. The room had plenty room, a decent tv and tea/coffee making facilities. The room was on a corner and had 3 windows facing out to the bay. The view was lovely.

My only complaint with the room (and it's a very small one) was that it took a huge amount of force to get the shower turned off! I couldn't do it myself. There is not a private car park belonging to the hotel, however there is one a stone's throw away from the hotel and also another just off the main street (where we parked, and for a small payment were covered up until 2pm the next day). I believe there is also a free car park nearby but we didn't find that one.

As for breakfast, we were greeted as soon as we entered the dining room and our orders taken. There was a choice of cereals, etc and you order from the menu.
Staff were pleasant and friendly.

Yes, some of the décor could do with updating, but I found this to be a great wee place to stay. Given that we only paid £39 for 2 people B&B I think it was excellent value for money and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suisaidh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you found our team were friendly and helpful and the food was of a high standard.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: £40 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing