We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited hotel as member of a bus party and as bus tour hotels go it was average but food was excellent with good choice on menu.
The reception was fine but oh dear the lift - it was minute claiming it could carry 6 people but we found 4 average size people were squashed. With luggage only 2 people max would be possible with an average case each.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable although rather tired. The en suite was in need of an overhaul and re-grouted.
Dining room was very pleasant and the food excellent with a good choice at both breakfast and dinner time. The servive was very good and slick and the food was served hot.
Wonderful panoramic views from both bedroom and dining room.
All in all a pleasant stay and would consider using it again if in the area again on my own.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I was happy to read that although you found some issues with your room you still enjoyed the beautiful views from the hotel and found the meals to be excellent as was the team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Regent Hotel and Oban.


Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    322
    230
    142
    125
See reviews for
110
509
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We decided to take a 3 night break to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and my wife's 70th birthday at the end of May this year, we chose the Regent Hotel, Oban, Scotland, that was our first mistake. We drove up and had reached a point 2 miles from Oban at 3pm and found a traffic jam caused by a fatal accident closing the road for most of the day, we had to take an 85 mile detour to reach the hotel in Oban an reached the hotel at 7pm. The worst was still to come as we were given a very small dark room overlooking a lane separating the old part of the hotel and the newest part, there were pigeons roosting on the window sills opposite about 10 feet away from our window. We then presented ourselves at the dining room for the 8pm for our booked meal, the soup was very nice, but I then had a pork chop covered in the most disgusting sauce I have tasted, my wife had Salmon fillet covered in Hollandaise sauce and again the sauce was disgusting, the rest of the meal was passable. In the morning the breakfast was not much better than the evening meal, and after that we decided to have coffee toast and fruit for breakfast and eat out in the evening costing us another £80 over and above the cost of the hotel break.
The only good thing about the hotel was the bed which was very comfortable. We have been on a few Easy-Breaks over the last few years and found this one to be the worst hotel we have been in, we will not be returning to the Regent Hotel, Oban and will advise our friends to do likewise. It seems Easy- Breaks keep their best rooms with the best views for the Coach Parties and Bespoke customers and put the Easy- Breakers in the old part of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cammyp06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I’m sorry that you feel this is the worst hotel in Scotland , I wish we had the opportunity to rectify the issues you encountered during your 3 day stay with us .
Our head chef has asked me to apologise to you on his behalf as your review has come as a shock to him and his team as we overall receive favourable reviews on our food .

To be clear this hotel has no official connection/ownership with easybreaks other than being a booking agent and at the hotel make no preference with regards to room allocation based on booking method /style or agent.



Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here because it was one of only a few that accepted dogs in the area (for one night only before we caught the ferry to Tiree).
The room was perfectly adequate; clean, presentable, what you pay for.
The night's sleep was not very good, the room was far too hot and whenever we opened the window all we could hear was a very loud mechanical sound coming for the kitchen (or laundry?) below us. So we had to choose between being not being able to sleep because of the heat or the noise.
We had requested a packed lunch for the ferry. Wish we hadn't; it was horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.

I am sorry that you had noise issues outside your room and that you did not enjoy your packed lunch.
It was good to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable.


Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while on a business trip.
This hotel has a rather striking exterior, build in the Art Deco style. It would have been grand in its day but now looks tired and is in need of a good tidy up.
I entered the hotel into a lounge/reception area where a one-man-band was playing to a coach party. The reception area was clean but, again, would benefit from being decorated. Check in was quick and the receptionist was pleasant. He explained the facilities and directed to my 4th floor room.
I'm not sure how many lifts are in the hotel but the one I found, and the one closest to reception, was tiny. It was only big enough for one adult with luggage. I've no idea how long it would take for a coach tour to get to their rooms.
My double room, although clean, was tired and in need of decoration. The room wasn't big but was fine for single occupancy. The ensuite was also small.
I couldn't log onto the hotel wifi, but wasn't too bothered as I has arrived late and would be leaving early.
The hotel looks over Oban harbour and the bay area, the view from the 4th floor room was beautiful with ferries going back and fore.
My room was warm, in fact, too warm. One of the two handles on the window was broken which meant that it could not be opened.
I had arrived too late for an evening meal so ate elsewhere. Although breakfast offered a large selection of cooked food, I chose only corn flakes.
I guess you get what you pay for. This place is cheap and is fine for one night stay, but doesn't offer the environment I'd like for a weekend family break.


Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am sorry you had issues with the size and décor of your room but happy that you enjoyed the views from your bedroom and the friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you back some time in the future.


Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has definitely seen better days, but the staff, the price and the location more than make up for it. We got a great deal for a family room, and were allowed to bring our dog at no extra cost (this is a first for us!). Dinner and breakfast were excellent and the service was fantastic. The main area of the hotel is fine (and there is a great little display with items from the second world war which my children found really interesting). However the bedrooms really let this place down. They are desperately in need of updating (although when they do get round to this, the price will no doubt shoot up), with wallpaper peeling off the walls in places and the shower so stiff I found it hard to turn off. So for a one night stay this is fine and a real bargain, but if you like your luxuries this is not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
I am sorry you had issues with your room but glad that you found so many positives with the other aspects of the hotel.

We hope you will notice significant changes if you choose to stay with us in the future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We popped in for a drink just because the outside looked so interesting. Inside the theme continues, it is an Art-Deco gem....sadly however I do think it looks a little down at heel, but I would love to stay there for a night and check out the rest of the hotel. If you like Art-Deco it should be seen

Room Tip: I did not stay, just a drink so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watfordpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We are glad that even though it was just a short visit you still enjoyed the hotel and the art deco theme.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and perhaps to stay the night.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Myself and my husband came here for a weekend from friday 30th may until sunday 1st june. We booked it through groupon for £99 for 2 nights bed and brekfast with 3 course meal and bottle of bubbly on first night. Hotel was lovely staff very pleasant our room didnt have a good view and it smelt musty/mouldy when we went in but just opened the window and it was fine room (300) Yes the rooms are small but you dont need a lot of room unless you have a big family. The view from the hotel is fantasic watching the boats and ferrys coming and going and we had fantastic weather which made it even better. Meal on first night was fantastic had melon then pasta and a chocolate cake which was ace the bubbly was good too. This was my first time to oban and this hotel but i would definatly be back again. The hotel could do with a good lick of paint and refurb but you are on holiday so wont or shouldnt be in hotel that much to complain about it anyway.
It is rated a 2 star hotel but i would say it is a 3 star and as the saying goes dont knowck in until you have tried it x

Room Tip: try and ask for a sea view if possible we forgot to ask and looked out on to houses but this didnt s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor.
We appreciate lovely honest reviews such as yours and are glad that you enjoyed your stay, meals and the wonderful views from the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again.

Regent Hotel management and on behalf of the entire team at the Regent Hotel Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing