We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
1,131 results
Traveller rating
149
339
267
180
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
339
267
180
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewa bit tiredtwin roomshort breakbed and breakfastoban baylovely viewtown centrefull scottish breakfasthaggistlcirenewee
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1,131 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Extremely disappointed in the accommodation.
The room was freezing cold. Neither of the 2 windows actually closed. 1 had a large crack in it. The view was the back of kababish, which had a huge extractor fan which was noisy and very smelly (unless you like the smell of chip fat!).
Bathroom had no heating and was freezing cold.
Only positive was that the lassie on reception was nice.
Rooms nothing like what you see on the pictures on line!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentHotel1, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hello, I'm sorry you felt this way. In the ufture plese see reception and we can try move the room. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Having stayed here before and it was reasonable, we choose to ignore recent poor reviews, first mistake.
We were fairly sure the booking included breakfast, it did not - 2nd mistake.
We were told our room was as requested and had a sea view so were excited to see room, mistake No.3
After we got the heaters on in the room and it was toasty, we unpacked and decided to run a bath before dinner, No.4.
Room & Service
The room was in dire need of an upgrade, the windows rattled in the wind and the bathroom was like a fridge. The electrical sockets were unique (double socket on headboard?) If your stay like ours is for more than 1 day, do not expect the room to be made up for your subsequent days. We had a knock on the door at 09:30 to ask "do you need anything for the room" after understanding what was happening I did take some towels.
The Bar
Whilst we appreciate Oban is expensive, we couldn't have been prepared for the astronomical price of their Malt Whisky, I defy anyone to enjoy more than 1 or 2 drams at those prices.
To summarise - The hotels only positive attribute is its location however the staff were curt but not rude, the hotel is very dated and we would not return to this hotel even if the Double Room with Sea View was "Free of charge".

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

To be frank, this hotel is tired inside and out.
Possibly a bit overpriced for what we paid.
However, it's a quick walk to town, the Reception staff were helpful, our room was very clean, the bathroom had been renovated at some stage and had plenty of hot water.
Has a lift up to the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegentHotel1, Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are currently renovating a lot of the rooms and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived at hotel in the afternoon check in was quick was told breakfast times and room was on 3rd floor take the lift,lift numbers backwards as in 3rd floor lift said 1st floor (lol),room was spacious but needs updating bathroom was large and cold as only heating was a towel rail.There was a shower over the bath but no rail or curtain so shower was no possible plenty of hot water but again looked tired and needs some work the window frame was cracked and paint flake's visible,on our 2nd day on returning to room it had no even been cleaned went and complained and when checked on pc had indeed been forgot however the headhouse keeper was still on duty and did come and do basics clean towels changed sheets bins etc but no hoovering.Breakfast is now self-service buffet last day we went down about 10 mins after opening 7am and bacon was almost cold by then .On check out it was a case of thank you "good bye" no did you enjoy everything ok with your stay etc .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Came here for 3 nights with my boyfriend, after reading the reviews I was put off but didn’t want to cancel and came to see it for ourselves, our room was clean and tidy yes it could be done up abit but we didn’t have any problems the heater in our room worked so the room was nice and hot the bed was comfy seen a lot of reviews about it being really uncomfortable it was good for us. No double glazing windows but with the heater on up full the room does get really warm. Breakfast was really nice actually got asked if we could like tea and toast and then we helped ourselves to the breakfast staff where friendly. Have to agree on the manager he doesn’t seem very friendly he didn’t say hi to us or anything but didn’t bother us. So overall we had a great stay don’t let the reviews put u off go and see it for yourselves.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews