We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palace Hotel Oban” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #87 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Ayrshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Palace Hotel Oban”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed at the Palace Hotel Hotel as i was attending a wedding in Oban the hotel was lovely and clean and the view from the bedroom window was amazing it looked out over the water.The breakfast and tea was great i would recommend the Palace Hotel to stay at the owners are very welcoming and friendly .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2015
Thank you for your kind words.

We are pleased to let you know that most of our sea view bedrooms have new double glazing.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    29
    31
    14
    23
See reviews for
27
45
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stayed at the palace hotel with my girlfriend for a week away. When we arrived we were greeted with a very friendly manner and shown to our room. The hotel staff were always willing to put themselves out for us. We had a clean double room with a beautiful view over the bay. The breakfast was excellent and there was also a lovely little bar with a coal fire which my girlfriend and I were able to have a few quiet drinks at. I would definately recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

The location of this hotel overlooks the waterfront and the sunsets are magnificent. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and very helpful although the office was on the 1st floor and we had to go looking for it. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the waterfront. The hotel is slightly dated, however for the price we paid we couldn't complain. Breakfast was superb. We would stay here again when next in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hetlughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

When we booked the hotel we did not realise we had to climb a lot of stairs. Reception is on 1st floor, rooms on 2nd-4th floor. Help was offered with lugging our cases to the 3rd floor. The room was a bit tight for us, it had a double and a single bed in it, not leaving much floorspace. The views are great in room 12, overlooking the harbour, but being at the front does mean the traffic noise will wake you up at 7 am. Breakfast was good. We had a nice big telly in our room.
The only negative thing is that the fittings in our bathroom needed changing: the tap of the sink leaked, there was mould around the bath, the bath/shower link was dodgy (get shooting back to shower) and the toilet flush was a bit wonky. I would give this hotel 2 star, as it is a bit tired looking, but it was clean, and we found the lady in reception and the one serving at breakfast very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have views over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookworm48London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We are constantly carrying our repairs and apologize that the issues that you had were not rectified sooner.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My daughter and I arrived at the hotel without booking, after leaving a grotty hostel. There were plenty rooms available and we chose one looking out to the harbour. The hotel was a bit dated but the room was clean and comfortable. There was a lot of street noise but we managed to get some sleep. As we were leaving early to catch the ferry the owner prepared us breakfast earlier than advertised, which was very much appreciated.
Thank you for being able to accommodate us at very short notice.

Room Tip: If you are fit and healthy this hotel is fine for you as a lot of stairs to climb. Friendly hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sensible123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have made a number of improvements to the hotel such as in room mini bars, telephone and data in room at cost price and an extended range of drinks at the bar.

There is also a recently refurbished rear facing double room with double glazing for people looking for a quieter night.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed for one night on a saturday, price was £40, im ok with that price. The owner was helpful and polite and helped with his knowledge of the local area. Be warned, the rooms are up many flights of stairs but we were aware of this and nothing hotel can do. The place had an overall odd feeling which i cant quite put my finger on, the communal areas felt fusty. The room was ok and my bed/sheets clean and comfy, unfortunately there are building works going on next door which interrupted my sleep, nothing hotel can do about this.

There was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom but there was a heater and fan in the bedroom, a feature i wouldnt normally expect. The location is good and if you get a room on the front you can see the harbour and isle of mull.

I cant score this more than a 2 but i reckon owners are doing a fairly decent job with what they have. A positive, the owner takes the time to look on here and actually see what people think, not all do that.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the review we are always interested in how we can improve our services to our guests.

Most of our guest bedrooms and from the second floor and upwards. We also have one lower level double room with shower that we try and keep for people who are unable to manage as many stairs which there is approximately 100 in the main part of the building.

I guess due to having only 14 guest bedrooms were can sometimes feel more like a guest house than a hotel.

The air flow is restricted through the building due to fire regulations however we have now added automatic door holders/closers to the lounge and lounge bar to improve air quality.

We are sorry we were unaware of any smell in the bathroom had we known we would have arranged another room if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel doesn't have a proper receptiondesk so you have to ring a bell to get help. When we arrived we got two rooms, one three bed and one two bed. So far so good. The rooms are a bit ruggish but one of them had a great view of the bay, the other had a view of back alley, not that nice. In the morning we had almost no hot water, and we told the man working in the "reception" that. All he did was have a look at the central water heater and said that it was hot water. The feeling was that he thought we told him cause we wanted a discount on the room, which wasn't our purpose. We booked our room for three ADULTS thru a bookingsite with a fixed price. That amount was drawn from the bankaccount the same day. 2 or 3 days later another amount was drawn. How strange we thought. We got in touch with the hotel and asked why they had drawn another amount, as we were sure that it must been som kind of mistake. They then told us that we had slept three adults in i room for two adults and one child. They did not say anything about his when we stayed there, just draw another 60 pounds a couple of days later. Altough it says clearly on our booking vouchers that we were three ADULTS he did this. I have never felt so fooled before. And why didn't he say something when we were there? We have been in contact with the hotel several times during the last months but he won't pay us back.

The location is prime in the center of Oban but nothing can compensate for this.

Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgoban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
According to the paperwork we received from the booking agent the guests had only booked for 4 adults as there is a maximum of 2 adults permitted per room. We informed the booking agent and the person responsible for making the booking at time of arrival that there would be a charge for the extra adult.

The hotel was full at the time in question so we were unable to offer an alternative room for the extra guest.

We were surprised to here the guest say that there was no hot water in the room and in fact the room next them said to them and to us that she had plenty. On checking the rooms as a precaution the water was found to be around 60 centigrade within a couple of minutes of letting the tap run.

We were also surprised with the fact that the guests had left several bottles of beer stuck to the new furniture none of which were bought from the hotel for which a corkage surcharge should have applied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#81 of 99 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.4 mi away
Maridon Guest House
Maridon Guest House
#44 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing