We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & a Hassle”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #82 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Staten Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced & a Hassle”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This small hotel is centrally located, but for the price they charge breakfast should be included. it is an additional $15.00 extra per person. Go outside and find breakfast ..we did and paid $32.00 for 5 of us. Bathrooms need updating nearly took my leg off with the plexiglass partition that was hanging off the tub. Had nothing but aggravation with my credit card even though I had booked several other hotels for our stay without a bit of hassle. E-mails and promise of cancellation are not pleasant when you are on vacation and wifi is not always available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We are sorry that you stay was not as enjoyable as you would have wanted.

Unfortunately the card details you supplied did not work and you received an automated reply informing you of this from the booking agency. As you were worried about your trip and you promised that the card worked elsewhere we held the room until you arrived to take payment via chip and pin instead.

We offer a discount on rooms without breakfast and have both a set menu and individual items on the menu with items from as little as £ 1.50 per person. Our full breakfast includes several items and this can work out cheaper than buying individual items should you wish a larger breakfast.

There is a shower screen attached to the wall none are attached to the baths!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    29
    33
    15
    24
See reviews for
27
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and the Palace was a great little find. Fantastic location, could not have been more central or convenient, the only down side of this being we did get woken briefly each night by merry people on their way home, but it's a small price to pay. We had a sea view room- absolutely stunning lying in bed gazing out over the bay and the highlands- did not expect a view like this for the price we paid. The room was quite small but more than adequate for our needs, fit all our luggage in etc, and immaculate. Cleaned everyday and tea/coffee replenished. The hotel itself too was immaculate, quite quirky- this isn't a modern hotel but that's exactly where the charm of this place is- and I don't mean that in a patronising way, we were delighted to have found it, right up our street (married couple in our 30s). The owner was lovely- friendly and welcoming- happy to accommodate our request for an early breakfast one day (wanted to catch an early ferry to Mull). The dining room faces to bay, what a delight to enjoy breakfast overlooking such a stunning view. The breakfast (we had cooked) were delicious, a real treat in a morning. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiSalthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words.

Although a purpose built as a hotel over 100 years ago we hope that we have updated the building to modern needs whilst retaining the original features of the building.

With it being an older building every room is a slightly different shape and size which we think gives the place character.

If you are planning on staying with us again please let us know how we could make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbernauld
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

just back from a 2 day break at this hotel, and have to say we had a great stay. the breakfast was well cooked and tasty ,the main meal we had was delicious. our bedroom was fine and everything was spotless ,staff very friendly, managed to get parked ok, even the weather was good. would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Very good price considering it was a KGB deal. We had a free sea view room upgrade. Very friendly staff and owners.With a fussy 3 yr old feeder they were very accommodative with time spent in the dining room and giving us a choice for him to eat! Family friendly, we got to choose our rooms which is a nice gesture . Dinners were whole some and tasty, Anne's apple tart with custard is to die for ! Very conveniently located for ferry/ train station and the seaside at door step. Parking was great as always found a spot just opposite the entrance of the hotel and it's free 6 pm to 9am! There is no lift but every time I went up the stairs couldn't stop admiring the solid oak staircase !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

The room that you stayed in how has a new super kingsize bed with trundle bed for a child.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed here on a kgbdeal so got a brilliant price....hence very pleasantly suprised to get a sea view and a family size room upon arrival! Room was clean and airy. However, would suggest that putting some information in the room would be helpful....all info on check-in/out, wifi codes, breakfast times etc were outside the office, but nothing in the rooms....not even tourist bumpf...a small issue but would have made a big difference to have some info there.
Our deal included dinner and so we were down on two of the nights for this. We were the only people in the dining room, and when I asked about wine I was offered 'red or white'...I guess for three stars thats ok. the food was good scottish fair and a healthy helping, but I would not have paid the prices that were listed on the menu...far too expensive.
All in all, a lovely little b&b, but PLEASE get the windows at the front double glazed!! Three nights in a row being woken by revellers at 1:30am was not conducive to a relaxing break!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep get a room at the back of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfcaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you enjoyed the free upgrade from a rear facing twin to a sea view family room. As we are on the main street there can be quite a bit of noise especially at the weekends.

We normally provide room only or bed and breakfast and really appreciate your feed back regarding the meals. The meals are freshly prepared traditional meals with large portions and significantly cheaper than several nearby restaurants. We are more than happy to adjust the menu according to the guests tastes and budget if given advance notice.

Our selection of wine is small however we do have several types of red, white and rose along with sparkling perry and award wining champagne. We have large bottles on promotion currently £ 7.95 and our most popular are our vintage bottles at £ 15.

We also have over 20 whiskys, a large range of spirits and not have pints on draught from as little as £ 2.75.

We apologise if someone removed the tourist information folder from the room but we have checked and the hotel information folder is still there with useful information and instruction manuals for the in room appliances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

If you are looking for 5 star hotel and gourmet cuisine then this is not the hotel for you.

The staff in this family run hotel are perhaps the friendliest we have ever come across. The food is wholesome and plentiful. The views over Oban Bay to Kerrera and Mull are wonderful. All in all a very good 2 night break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the palace hotel with my wife, we came up for a short break and ended up spending a lot of it in the hotel, the views were breathtaking during the mornings and the evenings and the room was excellent for what we needed and at a very good price. Will definitely be coming back here. Staff were lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2015
Thank you for the time taken to write a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#64 of 93 in Oban
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing