We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dirty hotel close to ferry”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #84 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We needed one night in Oban before catching the first morning ferry to Mull and proximity to the ferry is really the only reason to put up with this hotel. The staff serviced our needs, but without the usual friendliness that we encountered elsewhere in Scotland. Road noise even on a Sunday night made it hard to sleep, as did anxiety about picking up bed bugs or encountering vermin. We had to move one of the beds to fit our infant crib in the room and in so doing uncovered some sort of pest trap. For what we paid for this we would have done better to upgrade to a nicer hotel on the harbor. Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review.

The hotel is over 100 years hold however it is cleaned on a daily basis. We are more that happy to try and rectify a problem should one occur.

I would hope that most good hotels would have pest detectors especially if like you say you brought in a crib yourself rather than using one provided by the hotel as you are likely to increase the risk of bringing something in.

We hope that you find something more to your liking in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for The Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

A bad experience.
1 - The double room was barely larger than the bed.
2 - The television had no instructions and we got no help to get it going.
3 - The room was on the front of the hotel so we did have a great view, however, the high wind and the old, loose fitting windows meant that more than a draught made it inside - a cold room!!
4 - The wall heater would not turn on for more than a very few minutes at a time.
Recommendation - DON'T GO THERE.

Room Tip: Check out room before paying!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

We are sorry that you were unable to work the heating or television. We have instructions in every room on how to use them. Most of our heaters are virtually new and we have spare heating should weather be colder normal. We are not aware or any televisions or heaters that are not working and we would have replaced them as soon as possible should a fault occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Firstly the only positive notes of this alledged hotel, cleaness in the room in the standard and for room with a view a wonderful sight of the harbour, that's all folks! At the entrance no reception but a deep smell of dog coming out from the moquette. First floor finally the ring bell, be prepared to wait for assistance. No help for luggages. Room really little (7sq. m.?) with orrible furnitures that seems to come from a garage sale of a grandma!! Ridiculous bathroom old fashioned with the tent of the bath reminding you pshyco... Unbelievable enormous television covering the mirror with no pay channels (you could enjoy sky in the loudic room at first floor with some beer drunk customers viewing football matches if u love the genre). Breakfast not included in the incredibly expensive (125 pounds for this pension) tariff. We tried first day to order something but everything was so bad that we had food outside! We were forced to choose this "hotel" in booking just because there were no vacancy in Oban these two days and we decided a longer stay at the last minute. Of course I strongly suggest to avoid this hotel if you could, also because a wonderful real and famous hotel (just three star but four may apply) in town has tariffs only 20 pound more!!! No comparison is possible....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KunderaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review.

Assistance was offered with your luggage and I do not know why you would say it was not!

When we are assisting other guests it will take longer to get to someone else.

We advertise as a 100 year old small hotel that tries to retain as many original features as possible. We do have compact rooms but none as small as you have suggested.

The furniture was purchased new and yes the owners are grandparents.

The lounge is more commonly used by older guest to read in or to play the piano. We do serve drinks in the dining room but do not have sky in this room as we try and create a more relaxed atmosphere.

We were turning numerous guests away looking for rooms at the time of this guests stay as we were fully booked and the price that he stated was not for one person but for 3 people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A victim of the great Oban Eartquake which up untill now I must admit I had never heard of Must have been off the scale though cracked windows ,cracked ceilings ,cracked door frame even the lino had a huge crack in it .
C'mon Oban sort these rogues out! .I'm a scots guy and this place is a downright disgrace and does a total disservice to one of my favourite places and must be judged a total rip off by any visitors to our country staying here .
Apart from the shell shocked decor the breakfast deserves a special mention in a word don't !Wife asked for scrambled egg she got aplate of white glutinous goo instead I opted for the kippers Never tastedanything so rank in my life This in the seafood capital of Scotland

"Seefood and Don't eat " should be the motto here

Seriously avoid this place at all costs ,like some of the other reviewers we got caught out with other places being booked , there are plenty of good Hotels in Oban try and get somewhere else

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stewmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Are you sure that you stayed with us as we do not know of a room that we have that could be described like this as we spend a significant amount of money annually on repairs.

We try where ever possible to let guests see the rooms so that they can choose which they prefer before signing in.

We would have been more than happy to offer alternative food if yours was not to your liking. We even have guests staying in different hotels and guest houses that come to eat with us due to the quality of food that is on offer and apologize if you did not find this to be the case

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The only plus is the location; wharf side, central. Other than that, 110 pounds for a lumpy bed, wallpaper coming off the walls, and tired, old furnishings. It could have been passable at half the price, in a pinch. Unfortunately, it was all we could find in downtown Oban at the last minute. Decided not to have breakfast there after the night's stay. Won't be back.....

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jrheineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a review.

We are sorry that you stay was not as you would have hoped for. We advertise that we are an older traditional style hotel. we spend a significant amount of money every year on repairs and improvements and have a almost 100% occupancy rate during the main season.

You were able to view the room before deciding to stay and there was more accommodation available in town however they were more expensive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This small hotel is centrally located, but for the price they charge breakfast should be included. it is an additional $15.00 extra per person. Go outside and find breakfast ..we did and paid $32.00 for 5 of us. Bathrooms need updating nearly took my leg off with the plexiglass partition that was hanging off the tub. Had nothing but aggravation with my credit card even though I had booked several other hotels for our stay without a bit of hassle. E-mails and promise of cancellation are not pleasant when you are on vacation and wifi is not always available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are sorry that you stay was not as enjoyable as you would have wanted.

Unfortunately the card details you supplied did not work and you received an automated reply informing you of this from the booking agency. As you were worried about your trip and you promised that the card worked elsewhere we held the room until you arrived to take payment via chip and pin instead.

We offer a discount on rooms without breakfast and have both a set menu and individual items on the menu with items from as little as £ 1.50 per person. Our full breakfast includes several items and this can work out cheaper than buying individual items should you wish a larger breakfast.

There is a shower screen attached to the wall none are attached to the baths!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and the Palace was a great little find. Fantastic location, could not have been more central or convenient, the only down side of this being we did get woken briefly each night by merry people on their way home, but it's a small price to pay. We had a sea view room- absolutely stunning lying in bed gazing out over the bay and the highlands- did not expect a view like this for the price we paid. The room was quite small but more than adequate for our needs, fit all our luggage in etc, and immaculate. Cleaned everyday and tea/coffee replenished. The hotel itself too was immaculate, quite quirky- this isn't a modern hotel but that's exactly where the charm of this place is- and I don't mean that in a patronising way, we were delighted to have found it, right up our street (married couple in our 30s). The owner was lovely- friendly and welcoming- happy to accommodate our request for an early breakfast one day (wanted to catch an early ferry to Mull). The dining room faces to bay, what a delight to enjoy breakfast overlooking such a stunning view. The breakfast (we had cooked) were delicious, a real treat in a morning. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiSalthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words.

Although a purpose built as a hotel over 100 years ago we hope that we have updated the building to modern needs whilst retaining the original features of the building.

With it being an older building every room is a slightly different shape and size which we think gives the place character.

If you are planning on staying with us again please let us know how we could make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £76 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing