We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard work”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #81 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Hard work”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

There is nothing essentially wrong with this hotel, but you need to be aware of its limitations. It is an old narrow building and does not have many modern features. Our room was on the top (4th) floor and there is no lift. Believe me, even if you are fit the stairs will tire you after a couple of ascents.
The double room we had was unbelievably small and cramped. The bed was very uncomfortable. Overall the place is clean enough but has seen better days. It was one of the last hotel rooms left in town but the room rate seemed like gouging, given the room size and facilities.
Be aware that top floor rooms have skylights - as the sun rises about 4-5 am in summer, you'll probably be woken early by the light.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shedheadabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Thank you for the time taken to write a review.

We are a small family run hotel and each of the rooms in this 100 year old building are of different shapes and sizes.

We try and remain competitively priced for the area for peak season.

We have a couple of rooms that have had major refurbishments and more expensive. We also have larger rooms to the front but these are also more expensive.

If you would like to visit again we would suggest booking before or after the main season for the best prices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    29
    32
    14
    23
See reviews for
27
45
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here as part of my tour of Scotland.

The hotel is right on the harbour and has amazing views. The rooms are clean and not as noisy as expected being in the middle of town. The hotel needs some attention but nothing too drastic.

There is an interesting Lounge area that has TV and games consoles, although looked like someone's front room.

The breakfast was good and overlooks the harbour, there is a bar although I didn't see it open. I didn't see any other guests either.

The staff are very friendly and if you are looking for something simple but clean then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: get a room at the front for the view and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would say that you have hit the nail on the head as the owners live in the building and we have tried to create a guest lounge that feels more like a home from home for our visitors however with the wonderful scenery we find that it is mainly used on rainy days.

We try not to push drink sales onto customers and have only recently changed the licence so that non residents may join our residents to enjoy the surroundings.

We are continually doing repairs and improvements and have recently completed major refurbishments to a couple of rooms.

With guests coming and going at different times it can feel a little strange not meeting other people especially when we are full.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Palace Hotel is a very nice place to stay for a short trip to Oban. Nothing fancy. The room we stayed in was clean (and cleaned daily), a bit cramped but tucking luggage into corners is really no big deal. The bathroom was large, provided toiletries, and had a towel warmer. The water pressure wasn't the greatest but the water was hot and it was good enough for a quick shower. The beds were a bit on the hard side but not too uncomfortable. There was an adequate amount of outlets to charge a plethora of electronics.

The view from the window (front room) was great, a beautiful landscape to be sure. The hotel was close to both the ferry and the train station (3 minute walk), and to some local restaurants.

Service was fine. All we did was check in and check out. The check in gentlemen carried my daughter's and my luggage up the 3 flights of stairs, we carried them down - No elevator.

I would probably stay here again if ever in Oban.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rndbrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came into town late and needed a room for the night. We weren't looking for anything fancy and The Palace was good enough for us. Our room was on the top floor (four flights of stairs!) so we only went out once (for dinner) before retiring for the night. The room was small but clean. The bathroom was odd but the shower had hot water and the toilet flushed - we weren't looking for much more. It was quiet at night and the bed was comfortable.

The man who helped us with our room was very friendly and accommodating. We should have taken advantage of the breakfast, as there wasn't much to find once we left in the morning and what they listed sounded good.

Room Tip: No elevator and lots of stairs. Plan accordingly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DantesDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

We have rooms or varying shapes and size from a compact single to a luxury king size.

When ever possible we try and let our guests choose the room that is most suitable for their needs / budget.

We look forward to seeing you in the future and hope that you have time to sample our breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Palace by name but not nature. Booked on special voucher scheme in January and took up offer in May. Viewed their website and it was everything they advertised. Sea front views, excellent, Food of good wholesome quality. Rooms small but adequate. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Decor needing updated unless you like retro 50/60's. All in all you get what you pay for and we didn't pay much!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel, less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you point out we are an older style hotel and have tried to keep the Victorian feel of the building with older style decoration and are pleased to see that you note that it is as advertised.

We now have a more contemporary king size room that has recently been refurbished should someone wish a less Victorian style room and a little more floor space.

Due to the age of the building all of our rooms are of a different shape and size and generally the cheapest offers are on the smallest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had a three night stay from the 11th April. The hotel does need a refurbishment but our room was nice enough and the staff were very pleasant and our breakfast was freshly cooked and a great start to our days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your kind words.

A couple of bedrooms have been renovated since you have stayed and another couple are due to start renovations shortly.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Where do I start... ? Accommodation was booked by my agency so I had no say in the choice.

Arrived on Sunday evening for 5 nights.

First night I was tired after travelling so slept fitfully, woken by passing traffic as the room I was in looked onto the main road through the town. The bed was extremely firm and not very comfortable. Power points for my laptop were awkward to reach down below and behind the bed.

If I wanted breakfast then not only did I have to arrange it to be made early, but there was also a fee of £9.95 on top of the pre-paid room charge. Naturally I declined this extortionate rate.

On opening the curtains in the morning, expecting a nice view over Oban harbour, it was spoiled by the presence of a large "seagull splatter" on the window. Right in the middle so it was hard to avoid. As I was being picked up by my colleague who was staying elsewhere at 7.15 to catch a ferry over to the quarry site at Glensanda there wasn't much point in eating quickly. I had some snack stuff with me to keep me going. The site provided a free lunch so that was fine to keep us going till dinner time.

Returning to the room, the seagull splatter was still present, and as far as I know it's probably still there today. I ate out in different places every evening; all meals were lovely and Oban is spoiled for choice of great places to eat and drink.

The bathroom facilities were equally poor, the plumbing system was ancient and creaking; any time another toilet was flushed in the building the noise echoed in the other rooms. On 2 occasions when running a bath, the water was added to by some "brown gunge" coming out of the tap. I put this down to the bath taps not being cleaned recently and the gunge had built up.

Bathroom towels were totally inadequate; I have hand towels at home that are larger than the bath towels in use. Just as well I'm slim....

I hesitate to call this accommodation a hotel. The decor in general is old and tired. It's not even a B+B as the breakfast comes extra as mentioned above. So it's only a B.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weescotsman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOban, Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a review.

We are sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as we would have hoped for. This is one of our most popular rooms and is in almost constant use.

There are two sockets beside the desk in the room in addition to the four sockets beside the bed so there should have been no problem pluging appliances in there.

It is all too comon to have bird dropping on a window being so close to the sea and was infact cleaned by myself when the lady cleaning the room was unable to reach the affected area I appoligise that I was not available to do this earlier..

Not only can we provide breakfast with items starting from as little as £1.50 but we can also provide packed lunches and evening meals however his company decided to book the cheapest room only option.

We will look into the issues that you seem to have experienced with the plumbing and will take any appropriate action that maybe required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#66 of 93 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: 20 George Street, Oban PA34 5SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace Hotel is a small family run hotel with traditional decor.It is a purpose built hotel dating from around 1905. Where ever possible be have tried to retain the original features of the building.There is a feature staircase and unfortunately no lift. The bar/dining room and reception are on the first floor while most of the guest accommodation is on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors.located in the centre of Oban overlooking Oban Bay. We offer a choice of rooms from a small single to a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. The recently added lounge bar offers stunning views over Oban bay. Light meals are available and booking is required for dinner. Wifi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing