We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B”
Review of Tanglin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanglin B&B
Ranked #77 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night, arrived with the motorbike soaked through. Liz and Jim were kind enough to dry our biking gear for us in their garage. Really nice room and lovey breakfast. Would definitely recommend a stay at this lovely b and b.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    6
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Tanglin B&B was such a pleasant stay for us. We spent two nights there and wish it could have been more. Jim and Liz were such accommodating hosts. They helped us plan our time, gave us travel tips, and made sure we had everything we needed for the day. We loved Oban, in large part because we loved staying at Tanglin. We had a lovely, large room with a cuper large bathroom. Very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Jim and Liz are a team! It's sweet to see how they work together to make everything just right for their guests. Our room was cozy and clean, and we loved the view out across a slate roof to a tiny shop and alley.

Be advised, breakfast is VERY hearty! If you have a small appetite, best to let Liz and Jim know ahead of time.

Jim and Liz have some adventures of their own and are interesting to talk with. Jim especially enjoys chatting with guests and has a lovely, lilting Scottish accent.

We slept well, ate well, and always felt welcome in our comings and goings. Our place in Oban!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Our hosts were kind and accommodating. The breakfast room was lovely and they were happy to accommodate our request for a vegatarian diet...that is to say, oatmeal and toast and fruit. Our room was fine, large for a B&B. location was close to the downtown strip. It is not on the esplanade, but we didn't miss that.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblersOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Tanglin B&B was perfect for our stay in Oban. Great location, very clean, very wonderful host Jim and Liz. Loved talking with them about their travels and biking and our Scottish breakfast was delicious and they went out of our way to make our stay in Oban perfect. We highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langens64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Jim and Liz were absolutely wonderful! Jim was Very funny and Liz was very nice. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. It was the perfect location and we were able to walk everywhere. Breakfast was very good. Thank you Jim and Liz!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimijoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at Tanglin B&B last weekend , Jim and Liz were lovely and very friendly, the room was large and very comfy bed too ! Scottish breakfast was lovely. Tanglin was only a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants and the harbour , Oban is well worth another visit .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happydays013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#83 of 93 in Oban
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#53 of 93 in Oban
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sutherland Hotel
Sutherland Hotel
#32 of 93 in Oban
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.8 mi away
Dungallan Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglin B&B

Property: Tanglin B&B
Address: 3 Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned and run by Jim and Liz Montgomery for 18 years. This B&B has a friendly informal atmosphere as recommended by Rick Steves, American Tour Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tanglin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglin Hotel Oban
Tanglin Bed And Breakfast
Tanglin B&B Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing