We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first B&B stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanglin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanglin B&B
Ranked #83 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful first B&B stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B. My husband previously didn't even consider B&B's (said he wanted privacy which you do get in a regular hotel but no character). However, several friends rave about B&B's especially when traveling especially in more rural areas so after an endorsement by a guide for a well-known tour company, he decided to try it. And the lower prices helped convince him.! Jim at Tanglin B&B was sitting out front and welcomed us personally. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the whole experience--wonderful English (Scottish?) breakfast, cordial hosts, walking distance to everything in town, clean and comfortable room. So, we enjoyed our stay in Oban (visited Mull and Iona, ate wonderful seafood and even sampled Oban Whisky even though we don't drink!) 5 stars for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    6
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

My recent overnight stay with Jim and Liz at the Tanglin B&B in Oban, Scotland was a joy. Warm, friendly hosts and clean, comfortable, big rooms. Delicious breakfast and extra effort shown to us throughout our stay. I highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lawmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Jim and Liz were perfect in all manners. and very helpfull. My son Paul reccomended them. Thanks Jim and Liz. will be back again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australians81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We have twice stayed with Jim and Liz at Tanglin and cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Oban. They are friendly, fun, and extremely helpful about local information. The house is comfortable, the location great, food tasty, conversations lively - what else can we ask?! A man on a bus in Edinburgh first recommended Tanglin to us, and we'll always be grateful to him. From the first visit, we felt we'd made friends for life. When in Scotland, we travel with another couple who feel the same way about Jim and Liz and their warmly welcoming Tanglin.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Hay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

We arrived on a wet and miserable day; Jim was a ray of sunshine and made us feel very at home. The room was spacious and comfortable. Liz provided a great breakfast to set us up for the day.. would go again for sure, thanks JIM n LIZ.

Scott n Suzy ....glasgow and new zealand

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed in 2 of the rooms on the top floor and they were not clean. The sheets and the bathroom fixtures were clean but the walls and the carpet had obviously not been cleaned in a LONG time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusansmithCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Tanglin B&B. The owners, Jim and Liz, are both wonderful people. The rooms are clean, well-decorated, and while not large, are plenty spacious enough. The house is a 10 minute walk from the train station and very accessible. Jim was like the Scottish uncle you wish you had--he is friendly, funny, and an overall great guy with a lot of great stories. The Scottish breakfast was excellent. My wife and I were sad to leave and hope we get a chance to return again. We recommend it to absolutely anyone.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kma6k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#53 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#15 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandvilla Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Corriemar Guest House
0.2 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.4 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglin B&B

Property: Tanglin B&B
Address: 3 Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned and run by Jim and Liz Montgomery for 18 years. This B&B has a friendly informal atmosphere as recommended by Rick Steves, American Tour Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tanglin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglin Hotel Oban
Tanglin Bed And Breakfast
Tanglin B&B Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing