We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barriemore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon trip in August 2013. The room was clean, large and the staff very welcoming. The location is excellent, a beautiful walk along the sea front to get to the bars and restaurants.
We had a room at the front of the house, with a lovely view out to the sea.
Private parking is provided and spacious. The breakfast was good, and the service at breakfast was excellent.
They also left us a bottle of rose fizz and a note of congratulations on our marriage, a lovely touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise6732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    80
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
82
253
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We had one night in the large family suite at the Barriemore and for the price, well over £200, it was a bit of a let down. The furnishings were OK but the bathroom was shocking and the shower was awful. The hotel was just a little tired and certainly not worth the money. The location is great and with a little bit of effort the place could be lovely.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barriemore Gues... O, Owner at Barriemore Guest House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review. However I feel that you comments are unfair. The family apartment is reasonably priced at just over £200 for 4 people to have bed and breakfast, lovely décor, ensuite, 2 bedrooms and private sea view lounge, wifi and private parking.
The bathroom, whilst it is in line to be modernised is far from 'shocking'. Finally, you say a little bit of effort needed, this is unfair, as a massive effort is made all year to make sure our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Really enjoyed our one night at Barriemore Guesthouse - is in a good location with great view- rooms spacious and clean - breakfast good value and service overall excellent. Quick walk into town along the esplanade for restaurants etc.....recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A nice guest house with a very good location and views. The place is a little bit run down and needs some refurbishing but I guess that if you get one of the front rooms, the view would help overcome this feeling. We got a room overlooking the backyard and the views were awful.
Breakfast was very good and the service helpful and correct.
Located within walking distance to the city centre.
As the price is not expensive the quality/price ratio is very high, you really get a lot for what you pay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is on the edge of town but a reasonable walk to downtown and good restaurants. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. The breakfast which was included was nice and served in a bright, cheerful room. Our only complaint was that our mattress was very lumpy and in need of replacement. A bottle of sherry in our room was a nice touch and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: I would request a room overlooking the beautiful bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakayjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barriemore Gues... O, Owner at Barriemore Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
I wonder if you could email and let me know which room you were in, otherwise I don't know which mattress you are referring to. We take all comments on board and if this is something we can rectify then we would like to do so.
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We reviewed quite a few properties before settling on this one. We booked two rooms, a suite and a standard twin for our grown up sons. We splashed out a bit on the suite because it was the last leg of our holiday and we wanted to make it a nice finish. When we walked in to the suite, we knew we had made the right choice! On the ground floor with a lovely view out to Kerrera, the room was huge with an adjoining dressing room and a lovely big bathroom. A bowl of fruit and a decanter of sherry were nice touches. There was plenty of guest parking at the front, and it was quite a pleasant stroll to town. Three of us appreciated the hearty Scottish breakfasts made to order; my wife is not a big breakfast eater. Overall, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevensons2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paget, Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at the Barriemore Guest House in Oban this summer. Parking was a dream and our accommodation was lovely - the rooms were so spacious! We had a warm welcome from our host who happily gave us a plethora of suggestions for how to spend our evening in Oban and some restaurant suggestions. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysonTuxworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barriemore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barriemore Guest House

Property: Barriemore Guest House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barriemore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barriemore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barriemore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing