We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We loved Barriemore and Oban"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barriemore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We would recommend staying here for the location, views and great service, very clean. Our room was so spacious and included lounge chairs to relax in after returning from a busy day of exploring. Breakfast was very nice and staff friendly and happy to look after us. The Manager was very efficient and ensured all was running smoothly around the Guest House. Don't hesitate to book directly with Barriemore as they will look after you.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Margie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had beautiful views from here across the harbour in this very well kept place. It was a bit costly, but it was the last decent bank holiday weekend of the year so it was reasonable considering all that.

Lots on offer for breakfast and plenty of good advice on restaurants and things to do the next day. Very good bathroom layout, plenty of space with a full size bathroom for each of the rooms our party stayed in. It was a short walk into the centre of Oban along the promenade, mill pond stil in the evening and fresh and airy the next morning when we deiced to head over to Tobermory for the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our large party arrived at Oban Airport without accommodation arranged We were given the number of the Barriemore. Sue (the manager I believe) did a great job for us. She not only managed to fit some of our group into the last remaining rooms in her hotel, but she also arranged rooms for the rest of us in two other nearby hotels, ringing me back to confirm that I was happy. The rooms were clean and the cherry brandy in the rooms went down a treat. Breakfast was substantial. The hotel is at the northern end of the Corran Esplanade, a convenient 10 minute walk to the centre of Oban.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon7394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was a real treat: huge room, nicely decorated, great view and a bottle of cherry .
The owners of this family-run hotel were both kind and helpful.
As wedon't eat meat in the morning we asked for some fresh vegetables and they kindly prepared that for us.

Room Tip: Our first floor sea-view room was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB_Rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were traveling in Scotland and arrived in Oban without reservations for a place to stay for the night. Since there are many B & B's and hotels in this town, we consider ourselves very lucky to have stopped first at The Barriemore Guest House. We were warmly greeted by the owner, Jan, and offered a choice of rooms in which to stay. The location of this Guest House is at the end of town and directly across the street from the water so we chose the room on the ground floor on the front of the house with a beautiful view of the water. It was a lovely, spacious room which was very comfortable. The amenities in the room were very nice, including a decanter of sherry to enjoy as well as cookies. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of cereals and fruit as well as a choice of cooked breakfast items. Jan also gave us very good recommendations for dinner and we had a fabulous seafood meal at Ee usk, which is a close and enjoyable walk from the Barriemore.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor facing the water was wonderful.....very spacious and with a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chancey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

As a registered Tourist Guide and Tour Agent I am lucky enough to be able to stay in some of the best places in the country and The Barriemore ticks all the boxes and more. Firstly a warm welcome from the owners Mark and Jan or their manager Sue. You know you are going to be staying in quality accommodation from the moment you walk through the door, with the Black Watch tartan carpet under your feet is thick and very good quality. My room was on the first floor with outstanding views over the water.Two huge windows and there were two very comfortable chairs to relax and watch the boats coming and going and the ever changing evening skies. The room was very spacious and was the en-suite bathroom with its soft fluffy towels and lovely toiletries. I was amazed at the 'wooden' television- a very modern TV in a wooden surround which matched the rest of the furniture perfectly. A well stocked refreshment tray. Although it was great to have the TV, the views over the water were more worth watching from the comfort of the armchair or the bed.
The breakfast room is spacious with a well laid out buffet. Plenty of choice to suit anyone and a good selection of other dishes made to order including daily specials like scrambled egg and smoked salmon or pancakes and syrup with bacon and eggs, or kippers. An excellent start to the day.
Every room has a guaranteed parking space which is fantastic in a busy town like Oban. You are only a short stroll from a good selection of restaurants or try a delicious fish supper from one of the local fish and chip shops.
This guest house is a perfect place to explore the local area or venture over the water to visit the islands of Mull and Iona, as the ferry terminal is only a few minutes away.They also have ground floor rooms which are suitable for those with mobility difficulties.A stay at the Barriemore is very relaxing and enjoyable in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a great weekend in Oban and the Barrimore was a wonderful place to stay. A warm welcome for all and my parent both in their 80,s felt at home. Lovely breakfast i will return next year. I stayed in the suite and the views were stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iain h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barriemore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barriemore Guest House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £84 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barriemore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barriemore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barriemore Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing